Book Reviews of 11/22/63

11/22/63
11/22/63
Author: Stephen King
The Market's bargain prices are even better for Paperbackswap club members!
Retail Price: $19.99
Buy New (Paperback): $14.79 (save 26%) or
Become a PBS member and pay $10.89+1 PBS book credit (save 45%)
ISBN-13: 9781451627299
ISBN-10: 1451627297
Publication Date: 7/24/2012
Pages: 880
Rating:
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 73

4.1 stars, based on 73 ratings
Publisher: Gallery Books
Book Type: Paperback
Reviews: Amazon | Write a Review

15 Book Reviews submitted by our Members...sorted by voted most helpful

reviewed 11/22/63 on + 28 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 3
This book was well worth the read. I had never read a Stephen King book, but loved the writing style and the unique storyline. Don't let the size of the book scare you, it is a fast read.
reviewed 11/22/63 on + 7 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 3
This is not your ordinary Stephen King book! Although it's 800+ pages, it seemed like a quick read because the story drew me in immediately and kept me going back for more! It has suspense, drama, a little bit of a love story and the intensity that keeps you wondering if the hero will accomplish what he set out to do. I'd highly recommend it!
reviewed 11/22/63 on + 37 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 2
Although I read a few of his books when I was a teenager, I've never been much of a King fan, mostly because I don't like horror much. But with a title like 11/22/63 to catch my eye I couldn't resist giving it a go.
The story grabbed my attention from page one and continued throughout the story. But how could it not... I enjoy love stories, time travel and the premise of stopping the Kennedy assassination! It didn't disappoint. As a slow reader I was surprised that I read 880 pages in less than a month. Highly recommend.
reviewed 11/22/63 on + 342 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 1
I have thought and thought about this...yes, it was a good listen while I cooked, cleaned, did crafty stuff in the house. It kept me company. I was listening to the lives of some friends, chuckling as they brought up a few memories from our far past. I got to know these people, inside and out, in a way that only King can accomplish. I've said many times, no one does characterization like Stephen King. That is usually why I love his loooong books. But even a character-driven story needs something to happen now and again, and in reality, except for meeting new people and a couple of beatings, nothing ever happened. Nothing.

The denoument of Kennedy/Oswald was so glossed over, so minor, that it shocked me that a whole 30 plus hour book was written about it. Not to spoil anything for others, but you who have read it will know who I mean....when there was the death of a major character, I didn't give a crap. I didn't much care how George/Jacob grieved. The only time I felt sad about it was when Deke, the old man, talked about it. And, if you must know, I am a total wimp when it comes to deaths and other griefs in books or movies. I will cry and think about these things for weeks.

Anyone who's taken writing courses or attended writing conferences knows the any author or editor will tell you, you can save a book with that hit them between the eyes beginning that will grab the reader, then you will make the reader always recall your book fondly if you give them an ending that is heartwrenching, in a good way or bad. Tender, sweet...memorable. And that is my very point about 11-22-63.

This book started off so well, a terrific premise. That last scene...it made the listen almost worth it. It was tender, so beautifully written, and in my case, so lovingly read, that I thought about it long after the story ended. I loved loved loved the ending.

Thus...this book seems far far better than it actually was for me. Like I said earlier...if it hadn't been Stephen King, I doubt it would have gotten past the first reader to an actual editor's desk for consideration.
reviewed 11/22/63 on + 5 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 1
I never read Stephen King books, because I don't like scary books, but this is not scary. it is a time travel book. It is so well written and so interesting, that I have been recommending it to all my friends. It has been a while since I was reading a book that I "couldn't wait to get back to".
reviewed 11/22/63 on + 9 more book reviews
My reviews are very brief. I either like a book or I don't. I bought this one because I love Stephen King. But I have to say, I did not like this book at all. He took a very national tragedy and while the potential was there to create a very interesting twist, he didn't. Instead, he chose to weave a cheap love story between the main character and narrator and his beloved "Sadie". Boring. Couldn't wait for it to end. sorry, this one was a true bust for me. Stephen - don't do love stories, do twisted. That is what I (maybe not all) expect of you.
reviewed 11/22/63 on + 16 more book reviews
I am a very big Stephen King fan and also a follower of the Kennedy assassination event, so I was super excited to read this book. It DID NOT disappoint!! I read this book every chance I got and wouldn't mind sitting down and reading it again.
reviewed 11/22/63 on + 475 more book reviews
Well written and interesting although if you think about it too closely it all falls apart. Plus, as usual, King pads the story with tons of extraneous crap that doesn't move the story along. Probably more interesting if you are old enough to have experienced 11/22/63 itself.
reviewed 11/22/63 on + 181 more book reviews
Schoolteacher Jake Epping is about to learn to most stunning secret ever. After being summoned to Al Diner he is told of a portal aka the rabbit hole that will take him back to 1958. Als lifetime obsession is to prevent that assassination of John F. Kennedy and he has compiled a book full of Lee Harvey Oswalds movements up but he is missing the keydid he act alone or not. Now cancer has taken the opportunity for Al to find out and he must confide in one man who is young enough, smart enough and doesnt have many ties to go back thru the portal and hang around until 1963 to find out and possibly stop Oswald from committing the assassination. Als time is short and he needs Jake to believe him so he sends him thru to test the waters. Jake does have one thing he would like to change about what happened to one of his adult students, coincidentally, in 1958, and decides to test the rabbit hole. Even after somewhat successfully achieving his goal and coming back, Jake is hesitant but Al does something to force his hand and Jake has no choice but to head back under his fake identity that Al created for him, George.

Having to wait around until 1963, Jake/George starts to become bored and wants to teach again and begins to form attachments to some very interesting characters all of which he was warned not to do. Each new character ends up playing an intricate part in what he came to do. 11/22/63 wouldnt be the novel it is without all the trials that Jake/George endures during his time in the past. The reader becomes deeply invested and wish for a happy outcome even though fate has another idea on what is to become of those that meddle with the future. History does not like change and even though Al warned Jake/George about this, it still takes all of us by surprise.

I loved every page of this 842 page novel. King had me quickly flipping pages to find out what happens next and then he left me raw and broken at the end. The time travel aspect is real basic. The portal takes the person to the same day every time and each time you enter it will reset all that was changed that last time someone went through. Though you may be gone for months or years, in your future time you are only gone 2 minutes. The blending of fact and fiction is one of Kings strengths and it is showcased brilliantly in this remarkable read. If you enjoyed Under to Dome you will love what King has in store for you in 11/22/63.
reviewed 11/22/63 on + 2 more book reviews
Couldn't make it passed page 200. Couldn't justify spending the time to finish the 900 page book since I didn't feel like ANYTHING was happening by that point. Maybe I'll try to read it again at some point but for right now, I was not impressed.
reviewed 11/22/63 on + 329 more book reviews
I really liked this book. I could relate to so many things in those 50's days. Great love story and loved the way King pulled it all together. Great Stephen king book...
reviewed 11/22/63 on + 10 more book reviews
My first ever Stephen King novel and can't believe how much I enjoyed this story. Cleverly written, a page turner. Carried it everywhere despite its size in case the opportunity presented itself as a reading moment!
reviewed 11/22/63 on + 76 more book reviews
long, but goes fast. my husband and i were hooked!
reviewed 11/22/63 on + 2 more book reviews
I am glad that I have finished this book. I don't feel like I am time traveling. It is now 2015 and I am back. It doesn't end how I thought it would.
reviewed 11/22/63 on
This book is no longer available by poster.