Discussion Forums - Historical Fiction

Topic: About Cornwall's "Sharpe" series...

Club rule - Please, if you cannot be courteous and respectful, do not post in this forum.
  Unlock Forum posting with Annual Membership.
Subject: About Cornwall's "Sharpe" series...
Date Posted: 2/9/2011 10:56 AM ET
Member Since: 2/25/2007
Posts: 13,991
Back To Top

   DH has discovered this and loves it, but we could not figure out the order of books. I found on Cornwell's web site that he did not write them in chronological order. For example, the first book he wrote is set in 1850, and the second book he wrote is in 1820.

So how is the best way to read them?????

Date Posted: 2/9/2011 12:06 PM ET
Member Since: 5/27/2005
Posts: 2,438
Back To Top

Read them in historical chronological order, not the order in which they written. I found this list on Cornwell's site: http://www.bernardcornwell.net/index2.cfm?page=1&seriesid=1. The first one is Sharpe's Tiger. The list below is from our reading list ... hope it helps ... Kelly 


  1. Sharpe’s Tiger (Siege of Seringapatam, 1799)
  2. Sharpe’s Triumph (Battle of Assaye, 1803)
  3. Sharpe’s Fortress (Siege of Gawilghur, 1803)
  4. Sharpe’s Trafalgar (Battle of Trafalgar, 1805)
  5. Sharpe’s Prey (Expedition, Copenhagen, 1807)
  6. Sharpe’s Rifles (Fr. Invasion of Galicia, 1809)
  7. Sharpe’s Havoc (Northern Portugal, 1809)
  8. Sharpe’s Eagle (Talavera Campaign, 1809)
  9. Sharpe’s Gold (Almeida, 1810)
  10. Sharpe’s Escape (Bussaco, 1810)
  11. Sharpe’s Fury (Barrosa, 1811)
  12. Sharpe’s Battle (Fuentes de Onoro, 1811)
  13. Sharpe’s Company (Badajoz, 1812)
  14. Sharpe’s Sword (Salamanca Campaign, 1812)
  15. Sharpe’s Enemy (Defense of Portugal, 1812)
  16. Sharpe’s Honor (Vitoria Campaign, 1813)
  17. Sharpe’s Regiment (Invasion of France)
  18. Sharpe’s Siege (Winter Campaign, 1814)
  19. Sharpe’s Revenge (Peace of 1814)
  20. Sharpe’s Waterloo (Waterloo Campaign, 1815)
  21. Sharpe’s Devil (Emperor 1820 – 21)