Book Reviews of Alice I Have Been

Alice I Have Been
Alice I Have Been
Author: Melanie Benjamin
ISBN-13: 9780385344135
ISBN-10: 0385344139
Publication Date: 12/29/2009
Pages: 304
Rating:
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 42

3.8 stars, based on 42 ratings
Publisher: Delacorte Press
Book Type: Hardcover
Reviews: Amazon | Write a Review

11 Book Reviews submitted by our Members...sorted by voted most helpful

reviewed Alice I Have Been on + 369 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 8
Once I saw that this book was about the real woman who inspired the character Alice from Alice In Wonderland, I had to read it. There were many things I did not know. For example, Lewis Carroll is a pen name for Charles Dodgson, who took pictures of children that even in his time was considered scandalous.

I know this book is going to be one of my top ten for 2010. I know, I know the year just started, but this book is good. It just captured Alice's world, heartaches, love and relationship with her family so well that I didn't want to put it down.
reviewed Alice I Have Been on + 36 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 6
I was quite surprised on how good this book is. It is the story of Alice Liddell, who was the inspiration for Alice in Wonderland. The novel takes you from her childhood, as a young woman, and as a mother, and how the story changed her life.

It didn't take me long to read and the novel progresses nicely. The characters are entertaining, and there is a bit of a mystery that isn't really revealed until the end.

I would definitely recommend this book.
reviewed Alice I Have Been on + 721 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 6
I thought this was a very well written, fictionalized account of Alice Liddell's relationship with Charles Dodgson. Because it is fiction, there is plenty of speculation about what actually happened in the course of their relationship, but I found this book more palatable than Katie Roiphe's "Still She Haunts Me" which tackles the same subject but in which Dodgson comes off as a much more tortured soul. I thought this was a well-balanced, thoughtful portrayal of Dodgson within the cultural boundaries of the Victorian age. Dodgson was a genius, a pioneer of photography and a man awkward in the society of his peers, but comfortable with the unthreatening presence of little girls. Alice was one of his first muses and it seems as though she was never able to move beyond the role she was ultimately cast in -- that of the little girl who inspired "Alice in Wonderland". Insightful and fascinating read!

Unlike a previous reviewer, I did not find any indication that Charles Dodgson was a pedophile...there was nothing sexual about his relationships with little girls that I could discern. But that is for each reader to make up his or her own mind about.
reviewed Alice I Have Been on + 291 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 5
This is a haunting love story about the life of Alice Liddell, the girl who inspired the man we know as Lewis Carroll to write "Alice's Adventures in Wonderland". It is apparently quite historically accurate and involves a bit of a mystery and a bit of a love triangle. This book isn't the sort of genre that I usually find myself reading, but I was nonetheless quite absorbed in Alice's story. An exceptionally good read for fans of Alice in Wonderland, Lewis Carroll, or anyone who likes reading about the Victorian era.
reviewed Alice I Have Been on + 30 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 1
This is a historical fiction novel based on actual people & events. Benjamin does a great job weaving a tale around the circumstances surrounding Alice Liddell Hargreaves, the "real" Alice in Wonderland & her relationship with Mr. Dodgson (Lewis Carroll). A seven year old muse to the famous storyteller, she must cope with the complexities that arise from being the girl from the wildly successful story. As she ages from a child to an old woman, she is stuck in a perpetual vortex of conflicting emotions due to her involvement with Mr. Dodgson when she was a child.
While the author does include a reader's guide at the back of the story explaining Victorian sensibilities regarding children, I was still repulsed by the blatant pedophilic nature of Dodgson, who wrote under the pen name we all know as Lewis Carroll. If pedophiles existed today, they existed back then & Dodgson was certainly one of them. He was a creepy man who liked spending time with & photographing little girls. Alice Liddell was most certainly a victim despite the fact that she became forever immortalized as Alice in Wonderland.
reviewed Alice I Have Been on + 2 more book reviews
Very creative, and very well written.
reviewed Alice I Have Been on + 1390 more book reviews
Wow, ah not sure what I want to say about this book. I am sure you have read other reviews as I have so here is my take on the book.
Story is very interesting in learning the details of the writing of AIW, while reading I was prompted to learn more about CL and checked out the internet for his pictures etc.
I think the relationship between them is odd and it would have appeared the same to others in that timeframe also, men who are "more comfortable" around children especially little girls is always going to raise a red flag. Photographing them and other little girls was just creepy.
I was abit annoyed at Alice and how she came across as very self serving, high handed and abit bitchy. Sorry for the language.
The story is a bit slower than I liked but was very engrossing in detail and development of characters and history of the making of AIW.
I was constantly reminding myself that this was fiction but the details of most of the story were fact. This book will stay with you and will make you think long after you have finished the last page.
reviewed Alice I Have Been on + 2 more book reviews
This is a historical novel about Alice Liddell Hargreaves, who was the real Alice of Alice in Wonderland. It follows her life from the time she is seven years old until she nears her 81st birthday. It's a well-written, interesting story that I thoroughly enjoyed.
reviewed Alice I Have Been on + 153 more book reviews
Had a hard time getting into this book, almost quit reading a few times but based on reviews I kept at it. Am so glad I did as the story finally became interesting and believable. It is, of course, historical fiction so while most of the info is factual, there is a bit of fiction involved. Very well written. And I appreciated Melanie Benjamin's explanation of how she structured the story and filled in the blanks.
reviewed Alice I Have Been on
Had a hard time putting this book down! Well written and moved along nicely.
reviewed Alice I Have Been on + 100 more book reviews
This book was ridiculous. Alice comes off as bratty and sexually precocious. Dodgeson as a pedophile. Both would be insulted by this book.