Discussion Forums - Questions about PaperBackSwap Questions about PaperBackSwap

Topic: Anyone else having problems with the site lately?

Club rule - Please, if you cannot be courteous and respectful, do not post in this forum.
Page:   Unlock Forum posting with Annual Membership.
Subject: Anyone else having problems with the site lately?
Date Posted: 5/20/2009 12:53 AM ET
Member Since: 10/8/2008
Posts: 4
Back To Top

Hi!

In the past 1-2 weeks I've been having a lot of problems with the PBS site lately. It ceases up on me after about 3 screens, I have to exit out, and open up a totally new page altogether (login again, etc). Is anyone else experiencing this?

Also, I have a problem on the Home page on the books listed for me row and the new books listed row. When I advance to the next line of choices I get the blank books with the little spinny things in the middle and nothing ever comes up.

It's very annoying and I've noticed my use of the site has decreased considerably since this has started. It doesn't happen with any other sites I visit. Would love to hear others' thoughts.

Thanks!

 

Date Posted: 5/20/2009 12:56 AM ET
Member Since: 1/28/2007
Posts: 765
Back To Top

I haven't had any problems like that.  Maybe try clearing your temporary Internet files if you are using Internet Explorer as a browser?

Cali (Cali) -
Date Posted: 5/20/2009 1:28 AM ET
Member Since: 8/14/2005
Posts: 552
Back To Top

Pamela if you happen to be on a MAC make sure you use "Firefox" for your browser. While "Safari" is the preferred MAC browser it's not the case using PBS.

The only other thing I could think of, if you happen to be a night owl like me, and since you specifically mentioned 'that spinny thing,' I can tell you PBS usually does their system work in the late night wee morning hours as well. Like a few minutes ago I tried to add a book to my TBR pile, it kept spinning and spinning, until it finally timed out and said "PBS is taking to long to respond. Please try again...etc." So, yeah I figured just wait a few minutes then try again. I did and it was fine.

I hope that helps! =)
Cheers!
Cali

Date Posted: 5/20/2009 7:17 AM ET
Member Since: 8/10/2005
Posts: 4,601
Back To Top

No problems here.

Cheryl

Date Posted: 5/20/2009 8:15 AM ET
Member Since: 8/23/2007
Posts: 26,510
Back To Top

I'm not a nite owl and I've been having similar problems. I've started copying my posts because it frequently freezes up on me and then I lose what I typed.  It only happpens with the PBS site and it doesn't matter if I used Firefox or Explorer.  I also frequently get a message that PBS is taking too long to respond and the request has timed out. THen I have to another website before I can bring PBS up again. 

Date Posted: 5/20/2009 8:37 AM ET
Member Since: 1/31/2006
Posts: 1,404
Back To Top

I was just coming to ask about this.  It started about a week ago with the freeze up / time out thing and now I don't have any of the little books on the 2 rows on my homepage or on the book info pages where there are those "other books like this one" rows.  I only use IE, so it can't be a Firefox issue.  I even put my TG duties on hold b/c I just can't be here for LH questions with this happening...

Date Posted: 5/20/2009 1:53 PM ET
Member Since: 1/28/2007
Posts: 765
Back To Top

Doesn't sound like a problem specific to anyone's PC/Browser.  Maybe PBS is getting slow enough to timeout for some of us and not for others.  You might try running the Trace Route command.  It won't fix anything but it might give you some clues.  Well mostly it's fun to see where your data travels.  :)

To run trace route on a PC:

Go to your "Start" button in the lower left hand corner of your screen, then choose the "Run" option.

Type "cmd" in the Run dialog box and click the OK button

You will see the black DOS screen with the DOS prompt. At the prompt type in:
tracert paperbackswap.com

For a comparison run Trace Route to other domains that work okay, for example:
tracert yahoo.com

Date Posted: 5/20/2009 2:01 PM ET
Member Since: 1/28/2007
Posts: 765
Back To Top

Also you might try Ping and look at the amount of time it takes:

To run Ping on a PC:

Go to your "Start" button in the lower left hand corner of your screen, then choose the "Run" option.

Type "cmd" in the Run dialog box and click the OK button

You will see the black DOS screen with the DOS prompt. At the prompt type in:

ping paperbackswap.com

For a comparison ping other domains that work okay, for example:
 ping yahoo.com

Date Posted: 5/20/2009 2:05 PM ET
Member Since: 1/28/2007
Posts: 765
Back To Top

I average around 80ms to ping paperbackswap and 16ms to ping yahoo.  I don't timeout with paperbackswap.  At least not very often.

Dan (for Marilyn)

Date Posted: 5/20/2009 2:11 PM ET
Member Since: 12/9/2007
Posts: 9,601
Back To Top

So far so good for me.

Ruth

Date Posted: 5/20/2009 11:45 PM ET
Member Since: 4/7/2007
Posts: 663
Back To Top

In the past 1-2 weeks I've been having a lot of problems with the PBS site lately. It ceases up on me after about 3 screens, I have to exit out, and open up a totally new page altogether (login again, etc). Is anyone else experiencing this?

Yes, it's been happening to me, too, recently. The screen will freeze or time out, but if I close IE and reopen, the site works fine - until the next time it freezes.  My other IE tabs work fine. The problem is only with PBS.

Pam

vic8 -
Date Posted: 5/20/2009 11:58 PM ET
Member Since: 2/16/2009
Posts: 71
Back To Top

what's ping?

Date Posted: 5/21/2009 1:08 AM ET
Member Since: 1/28/2007
Posts: 765
Back To Top

ping is/can-be  a speed test:  http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ping

It sends 4 packets of data to/from the destination and then tracks the time for that exercise.

Some of us have problems.  Some of us don't.  So I'm wondering if those having time-out/freeze problems might have longer response times (a lower tolerance for timeouts so to speak)?

My time averages 80ms (milliseconds) and I don't have problems.  Question?  What is the ping time for Ppl having problems?

Dan (for Marilyn)

 

Date Posted: 5/21/2009 1:23 AM ET
Member Since: 8/17/2005
Posts: 1,586
Back To Top

YES and its only here...not my browser...........I CANT GET INTO CMT but can do everything else

Date Posted: 5/21/2009 1:54 AM ET
Member Since: 12/9/2007
Posts: 9,601
Back To Top

Periodically, I can have a little trouble with the screen not opening and timing out, but since I usually don't come here during peak hours it doesn't happen that often.  PBS might be having growing pains and being too crowded on the servers.  I hope it doesn't get any worse.

Ruth

Date Posted: 5/21/2009 11:11 AM ET
Member Since: 2/3/2009
Posts: 1,732
Back To Top

I have been having problems for about a week now.  It's usually when I'm searching though, then it freezes.  I thougt it was my user and was planning on calling them today, but I guess I'll try what Marilyn says, see if that works first. 

Date Posted: 5/21/2009 11:43 AM ET
Member Since: 1/28/2007
Posts: 765
Back To Top

Woah, it took a long, long time for my login to be accomplished this morning.  But I didn't timeout.

Also today my "ping paperbackswap.com" is timing out. Things are getting worse.

Dan (for Marilyn)

Date Posted: 5/21/2009 11:48 AM ET
Member Since: 1/28/2007
Posts: 765
Back To Top

I sent feedback to TPTB and pointed to this topic.

dan (for Marilyn)

Date Posted: 5/21/2009 12:07 PM ET
Member Since: 1/28/2007
Posts: 765
Back To Top

my Ping is no longer timing out.  Though it is slower than yesterday at 80ms.  Now it was 145ms and this last one was 93ms  http://i701.photobucket.com/albums/ww19/pvc_photos/Capture-10.jpg

Date Posted: 5/21/2009 12:13 PM ET
Member Since: 12/28/2005
Posts: 1,732
Back To Top

It's happening to me too.

Date Posted: 5/21/2009 12:14 PM ET
Member Since: 1/28/2007
Posts: 765
Back To Top

Back to normal (for me) with a ping time of 79ms.

Date Posted: 5/21/2009 12:53 PM ET
Member Since: 2/24/2009
Posts: 1,564
Back To Top

My ping to pbs was 28ms.  I rarely have any problems with the site.

Date Posted: 5/21/2009 12:55 PM ET
Member Since: 1/4/2006
Posts: 1,464
Back To Top

This kind a behavior is using indicative of a change they are working on....

Date Posted: 5/21/2009 1:04 PM ET
Member Since: 1/28/2007
Posts: 765
Back To Top

The PTB replied to my feedback saying:

Dear Dan,

We are making some changes to the network to try to improve performance and handle the ever-increasing load on our servers and data center. You may notice some inconsistent behavior for the next few weeks as we continue to experiment with changes to find out what works and what doesn't.  We're very sorry for the inconvenience. 

If any members are experiencing unusually long pageload times while using the Firefox browser, they should contact us directly so we can pinpoint what is causing this.

Thanks for writing in!

Date Posted: 5/21/2009 1:27 PM ET
Member Since: 6/20/2007
Posts: 4,979
Back To Top

Late to the topic, but I sometimes have that problem too, where the page locks up and nothing happens no matter what I click on.  I exit out and log back in, and have found that it'll be super slow for a while after that.

Page: