Book Reviews of Atlantis Awakening (Warriors of Poseidon, Bk 2)

Atlantis Awakening (Warriors of Poseidon, Bk 2)
Atlantis Awakening - Warriors of Poseidon, Bk 2
Author: Alyssa Day
PBS Market Price: $8.09 or $4.19+1 credit
ISBN-13: 9780425217962
ISBN-10: 0425217965
Publication Date: 2007
Pages: 304
Rating:
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 268

4 stars, based on 268 ratings
Publisher: Berkley
Book Type: Paperback
Reviews: Amazon | Write a Review

21 Book Reviews submitted by our Members...sorted by voted most helpful

reviewed Atlantis Awakening (Warriors of Poseidon, Bk 2) on
Helpful Score: 3
I found the characters flat. Could not get into this one.
reviewed Atlantis Awakening (Warriors of Poseidon, Bk 2) on + 53 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 2
If you are (like me) a fan of anime, this novel will totally stoke you.
It reads like one of those weird anime yarns with people sprouting powers literally out of the blue, 500-yr-old bodylicious and lustful warrior dudes that look like Brad Pitt, witch ladies in love (and in peril), villians that are evil evil evil -vampires too-, witch covens gone bad, shape-shifters in love, nereids singing, all wrapped up into 284 pages. Add to that an enormously ancient and powerful artifact that HAS to be retreived by the heroine and hero.
Dang, where is Superman when you need him? (or better yet, Zechs Marquise on board the TallGeese!)
I certainly loved the funny repartee, and the references to modern times that bring a touch of the mundane to an otherwise too alien background.
About the structure of the novel itself, I HATE disconstructed sentences! And Ms. Day has this particular bad habit. And it annoys me. And it distracts me. Sends the suspension of disbelief crashing down. And it annoys me.
So, if you are all for twisting plots that barely make sense, battles that need a military consultant, and elements-wielding 6-pack-rock-abs warrior dudes in desperate need of Dr. Ruth, this book is certainly your cup of tea.
reviewed Atlantis Awakening (Warriors of Poseidon, Bk 2) on + 140 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 1
Day has constructed a really great fantasy world. Lots of likable characters that you want to find out more about, a truly evil villain and an interesting mythology. This installment did not disappoint. Looking forward to reading more. Recommended for fans of Kresley Cole and Jacquelyn Frank.
reviewed Atlantis Awakening (Warriors of Poseidon, Bk 2) on + 61 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 1
Erin (witch, gem singer) meets Ven (Atlantean warrior) and plan to take down Caligula (master vampire). I liked this story (series) because even for the multiple storylines and character cutaways you still have a rich feeling of storytelling and can't wait to get finished and continue with the next book in the series. Atlantis Unleashed is Justice's story. His long blue braid always had me a little bit curious about "is he for real?" So I think we learn more about his background in the next book. I also have yet to read the 2 novellas connected to this series. I hate that Alyssa Day does not have more books out there to catch up on. I like the whole Atlantis hero based storyline.
reviewed Atlantis Awakening (Warriors of Poseidon, Bk 2) on + 29 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 1
Enjoyed reading. Great story once past first chapter. Hard to set down. Leaves you wanting to know about the rest of the Atlanteans.
reviewed Atlantis Awakening (Warriors of Poseidon, Bk 2) on + 85 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 1
Very good read. A very impactful cliffhanger. A wonderful next step to the series. Cannot wait to read the next installment. As always, I love the hot guys and the strong women throughout the tale.
reviewed Atlantis Awakening (Warriors of Poseidon, Bk 2) on + 56 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 1
I thought this book was great. Steamy love scenes, and it's actually well written! I will be looking for more books from Alyssa Day!
reviewed Atlantis Awakening (Warriors of Poseidon, Bk 2) on + 1105 more book reviews
Excellent!!!
reviewed Atlantis Awakening (Warriors of Poseidon, Bk 2) on + 361 more book reviews
great read. bringing in historical characters and references is relaly neat.
reviewed Atlantis Awakening (Warriors of Poseidon, Bk 2) on + 273 more book reviews
Ven is a furious warrior and protector of his brother Prince Conlan. He's always joking and teasing with his brother warriors and using derogatory humor against the enemy. Funny guy and the best fighter to have at your back in a dangerous situation.      
Good book.
reviewed Atlantis Awakening (Warriors of Poseidon, Bk 2) on + 2 more book reviews
Once again good story
reviewed Atlantis Awakening (Warriors of Poseidon, Bk 2) on + 929 more book reviews
I think it helps if you read the series in order because Day doesn't give good background information for you to gain appreciation for the storyline or characters.

Ven is one of my favorite characters. You really have to tolerate eye-rolling puns and silliness to like this series though. Erin was good but for someone who wants to stop a big baddie, I wished her magic was more offense than defense.

The plot is the same throughout the series with different characters. There are some areas that were a bit choppy but overall it was a fun read. It won't change your life but good enough to spend a few hours in the midst of alpha males, clever humans, witches, vampires, goddesses, etc....
reviewed Atlantis Awakening (Warriors of Poseidon, Bk 2) on + 53 more book reviews
I really enjoyed this book. Love this whole series and ones like it. I like the continous run of linking characters these type of series give. Am reading her newest edition to the series and hope she will continue with it. Highly recommend this series to all paranormal romance fans.
reviewed Atlantis Awakening (Warriors of Poseidon, Bk 2) on + 2 more book reviews
LOVED Vengeance. Nice plot thickening. What will happen with Lord Justice???
reviewed Atlantis Awakening (Warriors of Poseidon, Bk 2) on + 550 more book reviews
This book has been set down and hard to pick up because the author doesn't really care about her characters.
reviewed Atlantis Awakening (Warriors of Poseidon, Bk 2) on + 330 more book reviews
Very good book!
reviewed Atlantis Awakening (Warriors of Poseidon, Bk 2) on + 39 more book reviews
This book wasn't quite as good as the first in the series. I found it dragged at times.
reviewed Atlantis Awakening (Warriors of Poseidon, Bk 2) on + 20 more book reviews
I liked this book & will start looking for the others in the series.
reviewed Atlantis Awakening (Warriors of Poseidon, Bk 2) on + 5 more book reviews
LOVED it. Can't beat Alesia's atlanteans!!
reviewed Atlantis Awakening (Warriors of Poseidon, Bk 2) on + 53 more book reviews
If you are (like me) a fan of anime, this novel will totally stoke you. It reads like one of those weird anime yarns with people sprouting powers literally out of the blue, 500-yr-old bodylicious and lustful warrior dudes that look like Brad Pitt, lady in love (and in peril), villians that are evil evil evil -vampires too-, witch covens, shape-shifters in love, nereids singing, all wrapped up into 284 pages. Add to that an enormously ancient and powerful artifact that HAS to be retreived by the heroine and hero.
Dang, where is Superman when you need him? (or better yet, Zechs Marquise on board the TallGeese!)
I certainly loved the funny repartee, and the references to modern times that bring a touch of the mundane to an otherwise too alien background.
About the structure of the novel itself, I HATE disconstructed sentences! And Ms. Day has this particular bad habit. And it annoys me. And it distracts me. Sends the suspension of disbelief crashing down. And it annoys me.
So, if you are all for twisting plots that barely make sense, battles that need a military consultant, and elemental-wielding 6-pack-rock-abs warrior dudes in desperate need of Dr. Ruth, this book is certainly your cup of tea.
reviewed Atlantis Awakening (Warriors of Poseidon, Bk 2) on + 763 more book reviews
love it- i wish i kept it in my keeper bin-but let's share! love all her books!
glenna