Search - Bad Dogs Have More Fun: Selected Writings on Animals, Family and Life by John Grogan for The Philadelphia Inquirer

Bad Dogs Have More Fun: Selected Writings on Animals, Family and Life by John Grogan for The Philadelphia Inquirer
Bad Dogs Have More Fun Selected Writings on Animals Family and Life by John Grogan for The Philadelphia Inquirer
Author: John Grogan
Bad Dogs Have More Fun is an unforgettable collection of more than seventy-five newspaper articles from The Philadelphia Inquirer written by former columnist John Grogan. Combining humor, wit, poignancy, and affection, these columns provide insight into the intriguing and wonderful world we live in. Whether it be writing about anim...  more »
ISBN-13: 9781593154684
ISBN-10: 1593154682
Publication Date: 9/24/2007
Pages: 256
Rating:
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 59

3.3 stars, based on 59 ratings
Publisher: Vanguard Press
Book Type: Hardcover
Reviews: Member | Amazon | Write a Review

Top Member Book Reviews

reviewed Bad Dogs Have More Fun: Selected Writings on Animals, Family and Life by John Grogan for The Philadelphia Inquirer on + 595 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 7
This book is clearly intended to appeal to fans of Marley and Me (aka every literate person in America who has ever owned a dog), but those expecting more of the same may be disappointed. The "animals" section is brief, though it does contain an enjoyable essay about how the author's life changes after Marley and Me became a best seller. Most of the book is short essays on news happenings, people (mostly old or sick), or rants on smoking, smoking bans, (?) and littering.
As another PBS reviewer said, this is a waiting room read. I can see how Grogan's column would be enjoyable as a periodic newspaper feature, but as a collection I don't think the essays hold up as well.
The other strange thing is that the book clearly states that John Grogan had nothing to do with the publication. Although they are giving some of the proceeds to charity, the whole thing just smacks of someone else trying to profit from Grogan's success.
reviewed Bad Dogs Have More Fun: Selected Writings on Animals, Family and Life by John Grogan for The Philadelphia Inquirer on + 7 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 4
Although it is no Marley, this was a very entertaining and quick read. Perfect for waiting rooms and commutes.
reviewed Bad Dogs Have More Fun: Selected Writings on Animals, Family and Life by John Grogan for The Philadelphia Inquirer on + 7 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 2
I loved Marley and me and was a little dissapointed with this book. It had some cute stories, but was no where near as good as Marley and Me.
reviewed Bad Dogs Have More Fun: Selected Writings on Animals, Family and Life by John Grogan for The Philadelphia Inquirer on
Helpful Score: 1
Easy quick read, very enjoyable book from Grogan.Views on many subjects and interesting people
reviewed Bad Dogs Have More Fun: Selected Writings on Animals, Family and Life by John Grogan for The Philadelphia Inquirer on + 54 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 1
Don't let the cute title fool you that this is a book full of adorable dog stories. About 1/3 is animal stories - the rest are rants and raves about Mr Grogan's pet peeves. I would not recommend this book. Period.
Read All 10 Book Reviews of "Bad Dogs Have More Fun Selected Writings on Animals Family and Life by John Grogan for The Philadelphia Inquirer"

Please Log in to Rate these Book Reviews

reviewed Bad Dogs Have More Fun: Selected Writings on Animals, Family and Life by John Grogan for The Philadelphia Inquirer on + 2 more book reviews
Excellent author and delightful book.
reviewed Bad Dogs Have More Fun: Selected Writings on Animals, Family and Life by John Grogan for The Philadelphia Inquirer on + 20 more book reviews
A must read! Grogan excels, wonderful read!
reviewed Bad Dogs Have More Fun: Selected Writings on Animals, Family and Life by John Grogan for The Philadelphia Inquirer on + 8 more book reviews
I read this after reading Marley. It wasn't what I expected, but a good read nonetheless.


Genres:

TagsDogs