Book Reviews of Bad Kitty

Bad Kitty
Bad Kitty
Author: Michele Jaffe
ISBN-13: 9780060781101
ISBN-10: 0060781106
Publication Date: 6/1/2007
Pages: 304
Reading Level: Young Adult
Rating:
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 11

4.1 stars, based on 11 ratings
Publisher: HarperTeen
Book Type: Paperback
Reviews: Amazon | Write a Review

7 Book Reviews submitted by our Members...sorted by voted most helpful

reviewed Bad Kitty on + 15 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 4
BAD KITTY is the story of Jasmine Callihan, amateur super sleuth and trouble magnet extraordinaire. While on vacation with her family in Las Vegas, all she wants to do is lounge around by the pool, check out the cute guy she saw at the snack hut, and, most of all, be a Model Daughter and prove to her dad that she can stay out of trouble. This lasts for all of about five minutes, until a little boy and his three-legged cat entangle her, "literally," in a murder mystery.

Add in a famous fashion model (who happens to be the little boy's mother), an intimidating bodyguard, an insane killer, threatening messages, limo rides, the Evil Hench Twins (Jas' cousin Alyson and her best friend, Veronique), and even jail time, and you have one crazy adventure. Not to mention that Jack, the cute snack hut guy that Jas can't seem to stop thinking about, may be more than he appears. Pretty soon Jas' best friends Roxy, Tom, and Polly also crash the vacation, bringing with them a handy Bedazzler and tons of hilarious ideas to aid (and hinder) Jas in her investigation.

BAD KITTY is a fantastic read, and one you might not want to read in public if you tend to laugh while reading. Footnotes sprinkled throughout every chapter act as conversations between Jas and her friends, correcting and adding to the story, and by the end of the book, Jas has come up with sixty hilarious "Little Life Lessons" that everyone should know. For example, "Little Life Lesson 12: If you have your cousin and her friend stand out the sunroof of your limo to give you navigational instructions, be sure that they aren't facing backward to wave at the cute guys in the Porsche behind you when they tell you to go left or right."

The characters are fun and entertaining, the plot hysterical, and you can't help but be swept along with Jas and her friends for the ride. This will definitely appeal to fans of authors like Meg Cabot and Louise Rennison, and for readers who are already fans of the book, Michele Jaffe is hard at work on the sequel.

So hurry to your nearest bookstore and pick up a copy of BAD KITTY. Believe me, it's totally Visa! (Oh, go read the book and you'll understand!)
reviewed Bad Kitty on
Helpful Score: 1
Teen characters, but a great story for adults too. If you like chick lit, you'll like this.
reviewed Bad Kitty on + 68 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 1
Fun read! It only took me a day to read it. I thinks it great!

Bad Kitty
36% Las Vegas mystery
49% unstoppable crush
15% Fashion emergency
100% The cat's fault
reviewed Bad Kitty on + 7145 more book reviews
Reviewed by Andie Z. for TeensReadToo.com

BAD KITTY is the story of Jasmine Callihan, amateur super sleuth and trouble magnet extraordinaire. While on vacation with her family in Las Vegas, all she wants to do is lounge around by the pool, check out the cute guy she saw at the snack hut, and, most of all, be a Model Daughter and prove to her dad that she can stay out of trouble. This lasts for all of about five minutes, until a little boy and his three-legged cat entangle her, "literally," in a murder mystery.

Add in a famous fashion model (who happens to be the little boy's mother), an intimidating bodyguard, an insane killer, threatening messages, limo rides, the Evil Hench Twins (Jas' cousin Alyson and her best friend, Veronique), and even jail time, and you have one crazy adventure. Not to mention that Jack, the cute snack hut guy that Jas can't seem to stop thinking about, may be more than he appears. Pretty soon Jas' best friends Roxy, Tom, and Polly also crash the vacation, bringing with them a handy Bedazzler and tons of hilarious ideas to aid (and hinder) Jas in her investigation.

BAD KITTY is a fantastic read, and one you might not want to read in public if you tend to laugh while reading. Footnotes sprinkled throughout every chapter act as conversations between Jas and her friends, correcting and adding to the story, and by the end of the book, Jas has come up with sixty hilarious "Little Life Lessons" that everyone should know. For example, "Little Life Lesson 12: If you have your cousin and her friend stand out the sunroof of your limo to give you navigational instructions, be sure that they aren't facing backward to wave at the cute guys in the Porsche behind you when they tell you to go left or right."

The characters are fun and entertaining, the plot hysterical, and you can't help but be swept along with Jas and her friends for the ride. This will definitely appeal to fans of authors like Meg Cabot and Louise Rennison, and for readers who are already fans of the book, Michele Jaffe is hard at work on the sequel.

So hurry to your nearest bookstore and pick up a copy of BAD KITTY. Believe me, it's totally Visa! (Oh, go read the book and you'll understand!)
reviewed Bad Kitty on + 962 more book reviews
Enter a new talent into the YA world: Michele Jaffe, queen of comedy! If BAD KITTY doesn't make you laugh until your sides split, then I don't know what will.

Six-foot-tall Jasmine Callihan is obsessed with superpowers. Her best friends all have one. Heck, even people she doesn't like have one. But what's her superpower? Only the unfortunately troubling one of attracting cats. Which is exactly what happens to her on her family vacation in Las Vegas.

The cat that jumps on her in Vegas belongs to the Fred, the young son of the famous Fiona Bristol, who is currently embroiled in a murderous love triangle between her lover and her ex-husband Red Early. With her eager but amateur detective skills, Jas detects a sinister plot designed to hurt Fiona and Fred...a plot that involves the underhanded involvement of a gorgeous (and tall!) Jack, whom Jas wishes desperately is her soulmate--you know, except for the he's-trying-to-kill-her part.

But things are not always what they seem. Sometimes, the truth is not what you want it to be--it is much, much more dangerous.

BAD KITTY is completely hilarious. I honestly haven't read a book this funny in a long time. Jaffe's characters are quirky but well-developed, and I absolutely adored her constant play on the format of the novel (hint: footnotes). Pick this up if you're a fan of Meg Cabot and the like, and you won't regret it!
reviewed Bad Kitty on + 684 more book reviews
A good read even for a teenager book. The mystery keeps you guessing and the story line is great! A bit childish at times, but it fits in rather well.
reviewed Bad Kitty on + 7145 more book reviews
Reviewed by Andie Z. for TeensReadToo.com

BAD KITTY is the story of Jasmine Callihan, amateur super sleuth and trouble magnet extraordinaire. While on vacation with her family in Las Vegas, all she wants to do is lounge around by the pool, check out the cute guy she saw at the snack hut, and, most of all, be a Model Daughter and prove to her dad that she can stay out of trouble. This lasts for all of about five minutes, until a little boy and his three-legged cat entangle her, "literally," in a murder mystery.

Add in a famous fashion model (who happens to be the little boy's mother), an intimidating bodyguard, an insane killer, threatening messages, limo rides, the Evil Hench Twins (Jas' cousin Alyson and her best friend, Veronique), and even jail time, and you have one crazy adventure. Not to mention that Jack, the cute snack hut guy that Jas can't seem to stop thinking about, may be more than he appears. Pretty soon Jas' best friends Roxy, Tom, and Polly also crash the vacation, bringing with them a handy Bedazzler and tons of hilarious ideas to aid (and hinder) Jas in her investigation.

BAD KITTY is a fantastic read, and one you might not want to read in public if you tend to laugh while reading. Footnotes sprinkled throughout every chapter act as conversations between Jas and her friends, correcting and adding to the story, and by the end of the book, Jas has come up with sixty hilarious "Little Life Lessons" that everyone should know. For example, "Little Life Lesson 12: If you have your cousin and her friend stand out the sunroof of your limo to give you navigational instructions, be sure that they aren't facing backward to wave at the cute guys in the Porsche behind you when they tell you to go left or right."

The characters are fun and entertaining, the plot hysterical, and you can't help but be swept along with Jas and her friends for the ride. This will definitely appeal to fans of authors like Meg Cabot and Louise Rennison, and for readers who are already fans of the book, Michele Jaffe is hard at work on the sequel.

So hurry to your nearest bookstore and pick up a copy of BAD KITTY. Believe me, it's totally Visa! (Oh, go read the book and you'll understand!)