Search - Bitch Factor (Dixie Flannigan, Bk 1)

Bitch Factor (Dixie Flannigan, Bk 1)
Bitch Factor - Dixie Flannigan, Bk 1
Author: Chris Rogers
Houston bounty hunter Dixie Flannigan is a legend in the jails and courtrooms for her combination of brains, cunning, and macho style. But she's about to learn that there are limits to even her toughness. — Parker Dann, accused of killing a child in a drunk-driving accident, is a bail jumper, fleeing the prospect of a long prison term. Dixie ...  more »
ISBN-13: 9780553580013
ISBN-10: 0553580019
Publication Date: 10/6/1998
Pages: 319
Rating:
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 54

3.9 stars, based on 54 ratings
Publisher: Bantam
Book Type: Paperback
Other Versions: Hardcover, Audio Cassette, Audio CD
Reviews: Member | Amazon | Write a Review
Similar books to this author and title:
Members who requested this book also requested:

Top Member Book Reviews

  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
reviewed Bitch Factor (Dixie Flannigan, Bk 1) on + 109 more book reviews
2 member(s) found this review helpful.
this was a very entertaining read...has both humour and suspense.I have already ordered the next one..Chill factor
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
reviewed Bitch Factor (Dixie Flannigan, Bk 1) on + 85 more book reviews
1 member(s) found this review helpful.
Dixie Flannigan is an ex lawyer turned bounty hunter. She is one tough cookie.
When her friend asks her to trace down a guy that got scared about his chances in a case he is being prosecuted for, she gets involved with more than she bargained for.
Parker Dann is being prosecuted for killing a child with his car while driving drunk. He doesn't beleive he did it. Problem is he doesn't remember. You see he WAS blind drunk that night.
This is a fun read as a no nonsense Dixie takes us on an exciting cross country trip to find this horrible lowlife. Or is he ?!
  • Currently 0/5 Stars.
reviewed Bitch Factor (Dixie Flannigan, Bk 1) on
1 member(s) found this review helpful.
I was pleasantly surprised by this first book in a three book series. I found myself really liking the main character, who is a female bounty hunter. I have already started reading the second book and hope it's as good as this one.

Please Log in to Rate these Book Reviews

  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
reviewed Bitch Factor (Dixie Flannigan, Bk 1) on + 563 more book reviews
This is the opening salvo of a feisty new bounty-hunter operating out of Houston, Texas. If this is an example of the other three books in this series -- WOW! Buckle up your seat belt and get ready to ride!

Dixie Flanagan is an almost 40 year-old lawyer who got tired of aiding-and-abetting scumbags avoid jail-time for their crimes. So she decided to do something that would help the accused stay in jail – find them and escort them to the non-luxury accommodations of the Houston jail.

This first case is a doozy: Her best friend, also a lawyer, tells her that a case is going badly for a man accused of running over a child. Now that the court is closed for the Christmas holidays, the lawyer KNOWS the accused (Parker Dunn) has skipped town. She wants Dixie to find the man and haul him back to Houston before his case resumes. Dixie must do it on the quiet because if the law or courts get wind of Parker’s error in judgment, he would automatically lose the case – and get a one-way ticket to jail.

This author can write action scenes with the best of them. Much of the book is an adrenalin rush; the plot moves quickly, the characters are well-rounded and the clock is ticking. Dixie is a likeable heroine with skills and smarts aplenty. She is a legend among the inmates because of her clever and sometimes outrageous tricks to catch skips.

Of course, one is drawn to compare Janet Evanovich’s bounty hunter with this one. For my dime, they don’t operate on the same planet. Evanovich’s Stephanie Plum is a cartoon: she jokes, has lusty thoughts (and acts on those thoughts) and watches as her cars are blown up by the bad guys. Lest you think I haven’t read enough Evanovich to make this sweeping statement, I’ve read them all plus most of the other books by this author.

Roger’s Dixie is a driven woman; her back story plays an important part in this particular story. Dixie bleeds and makes mistakes – she’s real. The only thing I thought was tacky was the title; the coarsening of American English is a pet concern of mine. But as a new author, I presume she wanted to make a splash at the book stores; certainly the title gets one’s attention. 4.5 to 5 stars

Dixie Flanagan
1. Bitch Factor (1998)
2. Rage Factor (1999)
3. Chill Factor (2000)
4. Slice of Life (2012)
  • Currently 0/5 Stars.
reviewed Bitch Factor (Dixie Flannigan, Bk 1) on + 52 more book reviews
Very good book
  • Currently 0/5 Stars.
reviewed Bitch Factor (Dixie Flannigan, Bk 1) on + 38 more book reviews
Fun series. For fans of Janet Evanovich or Sue Grafton. Not Stephanie Plum, but still worthwhile.

Book Wiki

Series
Dixie Flannigan  1 of 3
Original Publication Date (YYYY-MM-DD)

Genres: