Book Reviews of The Bloody Crown of Conan (Conan of Cimmeria, Book 2)

The Bloody Crown of Conan (Conan of Cimmeria, Book 2)
The Bloody Crown of Conan - Conan of Cimmeria, Book 2
Author: Robert E. Howard
The Market's bargain prices are even better for Paperbackswap club members!
Retail Price: $18.00
Buy New (Paperback): $13.79 (save 23%) or
Become a PBS member and pay $9.89+1 PBS book credit (save 45%)
ISBN-13: 9780345461520
ISBN-10: 0345461525
Publication Date: 11/23/2004
Pages: 384
Rating:
  • Currently 4.6/5 Stars.
 11

4.6 stars, based on 11 ratings
Publisher: Del Rey
Book Type: Paperback
Reviews: Amazon | Write a Review

2 Book Reviews submitted by our Members...sorted by voted most helpful

reviewed The Bloody Crown of Conan (Conan of Cimmeria, Book 2) on + 57 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 1
Excellent! No one writes Conan stories quite like the original! Robert E. Howard's tales are action packed, full of evil villains and fair helpless maidens. The best story in the volume is "The Hour of The Dragon". This is the best Conan story I have yet to read! 5 Stars!
reviewed The Bloody Crown of Conan (Conan of Cimmeria, Book 2) on + 170 more book reviews
Fans of Robert E. Howard and Conan...Take notice!!! This collection brings together three stories from the middle era of Howard's writing...and they're excellent!!! People of the Black Circle is a tale of Conan fighting wizards for the sake of a Vendyhan princess. It's a page turner and excellently paced! The second story was Howard's lone true Conan novel, The Hour of the Dragon. A novel-length adventure that takes Conan on one of his wildest adventures ever...Trying to get back his crown that is stolen through the machinations of a wizard and his nobleman cronies. And finally, we have A Witch Shall Be Born, which features one of the most iconic Conan images ever...Conan crucified and still fighting. These are some of the longer Conan stories...and they still hold up today. The writing style is more polished than some of his previous efforts and the tales make for exciting, spell-binding reading. The time periods of Conan's life are all over the place, but they're printed by the order they were written in, not the order they take place in the Cimmerian's life. So, if you are a Conan buff, or just want to give this barbarian a shot for the first time, you will not be disappointed!!