Book Reviews of The Book of Names

The Book of Names
The Book of Names
Author: Jill Gregory, Karen Tintori
ISBN-13: 9780312366322
ISBN-10: 0312366329
Publication Date: 1/9/2007
Pages: 320
Rating:
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 12

4 stars, based on 12 ratings
Publisher: St. Martin's Press
Book Type: Hardcover
Reviews: Amazon | Write a Review

7 Book Reviews submitted by our Members...sorted by voted most helpful

reviewed The Book of Names on + 87 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 3
I read this one almost in a sitting, I think in part because I'm a junkie for this genre - that is, religion-themed thrillers in the vein of Dan Brown, Steve Berry, etc.

The novel is about a man who sustained a head injury as a child and over his lifetime, has had random names he can't forget pop into his mind. Despite not knowing who the names belong to or what it means, he meticulously writes them in a notebook. He discovers later that he has inadvertently re-created the Book of Names - that is, the book Adam wrote in Eden listing the names of the righteous over the entire future history of the world. Kabbalists believe that there are thirty-six righteous souls per generation, and that world disasters are triggered when the righteous are killed. The protagonist must stop the other possessor of the Book of Names, who is systematically murdering the righteous in order to bring about the end of days. His task is further complicated when he discovers his daughter's name on the list...
reviewed The Book of Names on + 408 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 2
Wonderful story that moves along at a break-neck pace. Reminiscent of "Davinci Code." Characters well developed. Recommended for a really good read.
reviewed The Book of Names on + 4 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 1
Very fast-paced & engaging, like The Davinci Code only the mystical part is based on Kaballah.
reviewed The Book of Names on + 9 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 1
In ancient Jewish mystical thought, every generation possesses thirty-six righteous souls whose existence keep the universe from falling apart into chaos and destruction. In this page turner, Gregory & Tintori create a present-day scenario in which a powerful Gnostic organization has procured the names of these individuals and begins to systematically kill them off, with increasingly frightening results world wide. The protagonist meets a rabbi and through their interaction, the reader is given fascinating information about Jewish Kabbalistic thought as well as Gnosticism. This is a very fine, fast paced thriller that will keep you up way past your bedtime. Highly recommended.
reviewed The Book of Names on + 4 more book reviews
Excellent book. Will keep you in suspense right until the end and will make you wish it would not end.
reviewed The Book of Names on
I thought the book was very good. It shows only three stars but I would give it 4 full stars. If you like Dan Brown I think you would like this book.
reviewed The Book of Names on + 39 more book reviews
Very entertaining!