Book Reviews of The Boy's Tale (Sister Frevisse Medieval Mysteries, Bk 5)

The Boy's Tale (Sister Frevisse Medieval Mysteries, Bk 5)
The Boy's Tale - Sister Frevisse Medieval Mysteries, Bk 5
Author: Margaret Frazer
ISBN-13: 9780425148990
ISBN-10: 0425148998
Publication Date: 8/1/1995
Pages: 232
Rating:
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 50

3.9 stars, based on 50 ratings
Publisher: Berkley
Book Type: Paperback
Reviews: Amazon | Write a Review

11 Book Reviews submitted by our Members...sorted by voted most helpful

reviewed The Boy's Tale (Sister Frevisse Medieval Mysteries, Bk 5) on + 71 more book reviews
If you like historical fiction set in early England, this series set in a priory will appeal to you. All books are great mysteries, well written and historically accurate. Dame Frevisse is a sharp sleuth and very likeable.
reviewed The Boy's Tale (Sister Frevisse Medieval Mysteries, Bk 5) on
A particularly good Sister Frevisse mystery.
reviewed The Boy's Tale (Sister Frevisse Medieval Mysteries, Bk 5) on + 618 more book reviews
This is the 7th book in the Sister Frevisse Medieval Mystery series.

Who could ever want to harm two young boys, ages five and six? When the boys are half brothers to Henry VI, King of England, the list is long and distinguished. A lady in their mother's household flees with the boys to St. Frideswide's and asks Sister Frevisse to offer them sanctuary. Inable to refuse children, she takes them in and conceals them. But as attempts are made on the boys' lives inside St. Frideswide's walls, Sister Frevisse realizes that from the ambitious and the wicked, there is no sanctuary...

In the tradition of Ellis Peters's Brother Cadfael novels, Sister Frevisse is sinfully good at discerning the mysteries of the soul...and solving the crimes of the human heart.
reviewed The Boy's Tale (Sister Frevisse Medieval Mysteries, Bk 5) on + 76 more book reviews
Female Brother Cadfael
reviewed The Boy's Tale (Sister Frevisse Medieval Mysteries, Bk 5) on + 62 more book reviews
A fantastic mystery set in England long ago. This book is an enthralling and amazing read!
reviewed The Boy's Tale (Sister Frevisse Medieval Mysteries, Bk 5) on + 471 more book reviews
Suffer the little children...Who could ever want to harm two young boys, ages five and six? When the boys are half brothers to Henry VI, King of England, the list is long and distinguished. A lady in their mother's household flees with the boys to St. Frideswide's and asks Sister Frevisse to offer them sanctuary. Unable to refuse children, she takes them in and conceals them. But as attempts are made on the boys' lives inside St. Frideswide's walls, Sister Frevisse realizes that from the ambitious and the wicked there is no sanctuary...
In the tradition of Ellis Peter's Brother Cadfael novels, Sister Frevisse is sinfully good at discerning the mysteries of the soul...and solving the crimes of the human heart.
reviewed The Boy's Tale (Sister Frevisse Medieval Mysteries, Bk 5) on + 136 more book reviews
The Sister Frevisse series is wholly entertaining. Fascinating falls short of a description.
reviewed The Boy's Tale (Sister Frevisse Medieval Mysteries, Bk 5) on + 334 more book reviews
Here's another good one from Margaret Frazer about Sister Frevisse. A small party with two small boys asks to take sanctuary at the priory after being attacked on the road, but it becomes apparent they have not escaped danger when two more of their party are killed in the days that follow. It's obvious to Frevisse that dangerous politics is involved and she must find the murderer quickly. As always, Frazer is adept at characterization, and the impending death of their beloved prioress from old age adds poignancy to this story.
reviewed The Boy's Tale (Sister Frevisse Medieval Mysteries, Bk 5) on + 12 more book reviews
Well researched series comparable to the Brother Cadfael books. Appealing characters and nicely plotted.
reviewed The Boy's Tale (Sister Frevisse Medieval Mysteries, Bk 5) on + 21 more book reviews
The Dame Frevisse books are most enjoyable - and this one held true to this reputation. The story is well-paced, intriguing and the ending is unexpected but satisfying. A good read - any time of the year.
reviewed The Boy's Tale (Sister Frevisse Medieval Mysteries, Bk 5) on + 49 more book reviews
Good medivial mystery. Surprise ending.