Discussion Forums - Questions about PaperBackSwap Questions about PaperBackSwap

Topic: Breaks in lines of a post?

Club rule - Please, if you cannot be courteous and respectful, do not post in this forum.
  Unlock Forum posting with Annual Membership.
Subject: Breaks in lines of a post?
Date Posted: 12/7/2008 3:02 PM ET
Member Since: 12/6/2008
Posts: 245
Back To Top
Ok, this may be a stupid question, but how do you get the breaks in your posts? Like separating one paragraph to another. My post and my sig seem to squish together and makes it harder to read. Maybe it is just me? :) Thanks for the listen.
Date Posted: 12/7/2008 3:15 PM ET
Member Since: 7/23/2006
Posts: 15,930
Back To Top

I just type a paragraph and then hit return to start a new one.  I use Firefox though, and I think sometimes it's different if you're using Internet Explorer

Date Posted: 12/7/2008 3:16 PM ET
Member Since: 10/21/2007
Posts: 3,430
Back To Top

Melissa, Most members have an automatic break before and after the sig line, but for some reason a few members posts look like yours with no break before or after the sig line.  Might be a question for the PBS team. 

Date Posted: 12/7/2008 3:52 PM ET
Member Since: 12/6/2008
Posts: 245
Back To Top
I do the return button. Perhaps it is because I'm using Safari. Hm.... Do I submit it to the PBS team or will they see it here? Thanks to both of you for answering my question.
Date Posted: 12/7/2008 4:30 PM ET
Member Since: 10/23/2005
Posts: 7,719
Back To Top

Melissa,

This Help Center Doc may give you some insight: http://www.paperbackswap.com/help/search.php?terms=safari

edited since I cant speell spell!

 



Last Edited on: 12/7/08 9:56 PM ET - Total times edited: 1
Date Posted: 12/7/2008 4:58 PM ET
Member Since: 8/26/2006
Posts: 9,327
Back To Top

Melissa, you may want to download Firefox  --  it works quite well, here and elsewhere, and it's nice to have 2 working browsers.  Be sure to click on the link Cheryl posted up above.

Date Posted: 12/7/2008 6:04 PM ET
Member Since: 12/6/2008
Posts: 245
Back To Top

I had Firefox and decided to use it. As you can tell by my sig, it works!

 

So for anyone else... if you are in Safari, your post will be squished. :)

 

Thanks for the help everyone!

Date Posted: 12/7/2008 11:30 PM ET
Member Since: 10/13/2008
Posts: 150
Back To Top

Melissa the books that you listed as unpostable because the isbn's didn't match can be put back in the system with the right isbn number and you can get credit for them; unless of course there was  another reason they were unpostable.

Also your sig is too long so the last line is cut off.

Date Posted: 12/7/2008 11:53 PM ET
Member Since: 12/6/2008
Posts: 245
Back To Top
No that was the only reason. They look great. I remember reading that if the ISBN came up as hardback, but wasn't... it was another form and was not postable. Perhaps I misunderstood. I'll look more into it later this week when I have a bit more time. Thanks.
Date Posted: 12/8/2008 4:46 AM ET
Member Since: 10/13/2008
Posts: 150
Back To Top

Melissa I should clarify. Do NOT post those books AS hardbacks if they are paperbacks! That would not be acceptable.

What I meant was, You can put them into the system properly (listed as paperbacks) and that way, they are postable.

Date Posted: 12/8/2008 1:06 PM ET
Member Since: 12/6/2008
Posts: 245
Back To Top
No, I did understand that. I wouldn't do that at all. I thought I had read somewhere that you could not post those books that the ISBN came up as hardback when it was a paperback. I'm trying to find that again... perhaps it was my tired brain. I might have to post them without ISBN? I'm not sure. Thanks for the help, tho.
Date Posted: 12/8/2008 6:08 PM ET
Member Since: 10/13/2008
Posts: 150
Back To Top

Hmmm. this is interesting. I am curious why they come up wrong. I would think the hardback and the soft cover should have different isbn's. Guess not though. Such a strange system. 

I will see if I can find anything too.

Date Posted: 12/8/2008 7:13 PM ET
Member Since: 2/1/2008
Posts: 3,439
Back To Top

Sometimes the HC and PB do have the same ISBN because publishers reuse the numbers.  PBS assigns the ISBN in their data base to the first version posted.  Any other versions of the book with that ISBN will need to be posted like you would post any book without an ISBN.  HTH to clarify the issue.



Last Edited on: 12/8/08 7:14 PM ET - Total times edited: 1
Date Posted: 12/9/2008 6:10 PM ET
Member Since: 12/6/2008
Posts: 245
Back To Top
Thanks everyone. :-)
Subject: Breaks in lines of a post?
Date Posted: 12/9/2008 9:43 PM ET
Member Since: 11/29/2008
Posts: 28
Back To Top
but how do you get the breaks in your posts . . . I have been wondering why my posts have no line breaks, even when I use html to try to force a break. I guess it's because I use Safari. I was wondering how y'all managed to get it to work while I couldn't.
Date Posted: 12/9/2008 11:17 PM ET
Member Since: 4/22/2007
Posts: 270
Back To Top

Laura, I used a different browser for a while and the only way I could get line breaks was by using the HTML tags( <p> first paragraph </p>  <p> second paragrah </p> )  Of course, that was with Opera on Windows, but I doubt it would make too much of a difference.

Date Posted: 12/10/2008 12:26 PM ET
Member Since: 12/6/2008
Posts: 245
Back To Top
Actually, you don't need the /p. Just the first paragraph one. I found that out recently.

If you do go for Firefox, I recommend the theme foxeh (I think that is what it is called). You get a little fox in the right hand corner that runs when a page loads. Too cute!!