Search - A Bride's Portrait of Dodge City, Kansas

A Bride's Portrait of Dodge City, Kansas
A Bride's Portrait of Dodge City Kansas
Author: Erica Vetsch
Quench your craving for good fiction with this wonderfully written Old West adventure. Hoping to leave the shadows of her shady yesteryears behind, Adeline Reed is focusing on her photography career. But when her ex-boyfriend?s compatriot in crime shows up in Dodge City her entire past is threatened by exposure. Can Addie keep her secrets while ...  more »
ISBN-13: 9781616265069
ISBN-10: 161626506X
Publication Date: 9/1/2011
Pages: 320
Rating:
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 10

4.1 stars, based on 10 ratings
Publisher: Barbour Books
Book Type: Paperback
Reviews: Member | Amazon | Write a Review

Top Member Book Reviews

reviewed A Bride's Portrait of Dodge City, Kansas on + 151 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 1
What do you get when you have a talented female photographer, a newly-minted town deputy, and a scoundrel of the worst sort who has come back to haunt you? You get this book--A Bride's Portrait of Dodge City, Kansas--and it's a good'un, too.

I was so impressed with the detail of Addie's trade as a photographer. From the darkroom, to her studio, and to the portraits taken at the Arden Palace, it felt like I was looking through the camera lens and capturing all the subtle nuances that only a portrait can show. I could smell the chemicals that were used to develop the pictures, and I caught myself mentally counting the seconds along with Addie to get the right exposure. Now, in real life, I don't have a clue about photography, but just for a few moments in this book, I felt like I knew a thing or two...and that brought a smile to my face.

Miles was an enjoyable character, too. At first, it seemed like he was going to be green as the day is long at being a deputy, but he quickly settled into his role. His reluctance to share his past was believable, especially how it related to Addie.

Then, there was the drama associated with Vin Rutter. He came to Dodge City for a particular reason, and caused nothing but trouble for Addie, Miles, and Fran while he was there. I felt sure the I had him pegged correctly the entire time, but leave it to this talented author to have a surprise or two up her sleeve. :o)

Nothing gives me more pleasure than discovering an author that I've not been privileged to read before. Erica Vetsch has created a delightful Midwestern tale that is sure to have me returning to read her future novels. Fans of Mary Connealy, Kelly Eileen Hake, and Susan Page Davis are destined to enjoy this charming story!
Read All 4 Book Reviews of "A Brides Portrait of Dodge City Kansas"

Please Log in to Rate these Book Reviews

reviewed A Bride's Portrait of Dodge City, Kansas on + 138 more book reviews
Great book! I loved all of the history and reading about the techniques involved in photography during the late 1800's. Very interesting! Also, I love when an author includes actual people from history like having Bat Masterson as the newly elected sheriff of Ford County, Kansas. I loved the mystery of the murdered shopkeeper! I got so caught up in trying to solve the mystery myself that I didn't want to put this book down. 1st novel that I've read by Erica Vetsch and I loved it!

Book Wiki

Common Title
Original Publication Date (YYYY-MM-DD)
People/Characters
Adeline Reid (Primary Character)
Miles Carr (Major Character)
Fictional Places

Genres: