Discussion Forums - Questions about PaperBackSwap Questions about PaperBackSwap

Topic: Are CMT and account page under matinence for you too?

Club rule - Please, if you cannot be courteous and respectful, do not post in this forum.
  Unlock Forum posting with Annual Membership.
Subject: Are CMT and account page under matinence for you too?
Date Posted: 8/21/2007 12:29 AM ET
Member Since: 8/9/2005
Posts: 20,024
Back To Top

I cant get to my account page but if I go to my emails and click on a pm email I can get to the pm page. I can get into all the other forums but I cant get into Club Members Thoughts. I get a matinence page. Its strange that some parts are working but some arent.

Date Posted: 8/21/2007 12:45 AM ET
Member Since: 1/17/2007
Posts: 1,051
Back To Top

Me too! All night, boo!!! :(

Date Posted: 8/21/2007 12:53 AM ET
Member Since: 8/9/2005
Posts: 20,024
Back To Top

Its driving me nuts! It started out as going slow and then in the middle of me trying to post a reply it just stopped working.

Date Posted: 8/21/2007 12:58 AM ET
Member Since: 1/17/2007
Posts: 1,051
Back To Top

I have seven books to mark recieved. I want those members to get their credits and it's driving me batty that I can't. Derg.

Date Posted: 8/21/2007 1:12 AM ET
Member Since: 11/10/2006
Posts: 3,002
Back To Top

No, but I was having trouble accessing the site at all. Click on & it was just hanging there forever. All other sites, no problem. Seems okay now.

Date Posted: 8/21/2007 1:39 AM ET
Member Since: 5/18/2007
Posts: 13,205
Back To Top

I can access everything (so far) but the newly posted books. I like to peruse the new books late at night because I've grabbed some that I know will go quickly if let out there too long. I guess I'll have to forgo this nightly activity for tonight! lol

Date Posted: 8/21/2007 5:21 AM ET
Member Since: 8/9/2005
Posts: 20,024
Back To Top

I figured out that I could check them by doing a clean refresh. Hold down ctrl when you refresh (if your having the issue) and it will show up.

Date Posted: 8/21/2007 10:48 AM ET
Member Since: 5/6/2007
Posts: 208
Back To Top

I have trouble getting on the site and have to paste in url for daily digest to access. Then I can get into anything except my messages. Whats up with that?

Date Posted: 8/21/2007 10:52 AM ET
Member Since: 2/5/2007
Posts: 30,800
Back To Top

I can't get to my watched topics.   That seems to be the only part I'm having trouble with this AM.   When I click on watched topics I still get the doing maintence page. 



Last Edited on: 8/21/07 10:52 AM ET - Total times edited: 1
Date Posted: 8/21/2007 11:33 AM ET
Member Since: 5/29/2007
Posts: 13,347
Back To Top

yes, but some of the special forums are off limits right now for me as well, like science fiction and fantasy.  I posted a question/request there last night and can't get back to see if anyone answered. 

Getting onto my account page has been hit and miss. 

Date Posted: 8/21/2007 11:49 AM ET
Member Since: 1/18/2006
Posts: 24
Back To Top

I cannot get into my Daily Digest  for the day to see the newly listed books in the catagories I like

Date Posted: 8/21/2007 11:49 AM ET
Member Since: 9/2/2006
Posts: 4,110
Back To Top

Up until a few minutes ago I couldn't get on the site at all, I got into my account main page didn't try anything else yet like WL or transactions.  Forums I can get into so far except my watched topics, I get the list of them but when I click on one I get "we;re doing maintance, try back later"  

The angst!  It's just awful!

lol

Seriously, I am glad they are working to keep PBS running smooth, but I get a bit edgy when I can't access pages.

 

Date Posted: 8/21/2007 12:06 PM ET
Member Since: 1/14/2007
Posts: 16,828
Back To Top

PBS on the whole, has been hit and miss for me also.  Sometimes when I click to get a PM, it takes ages to get there, and other times, I can't get to the Main page.  Everything is running very slow.

BTW Chris, How do you do a "refresh" and when do you do it?

 

 

Date Posted: 8/21/2007 12:20 PM ET
Member Since: 6/18/2007
Posts: 2,416
Back To Top


Last Edited on: 1/22/09 9:03 AM ET - Total times edited: 1
Date Posted: 8/21/2007 12:34 PM ET
Member Since: 10/6/2005
Posts: 10,718
Back To Top

June, your internet browser should have a refresh button at the top of the screen. Internet Explorer has a page with green arrows between the house and the red X, Firefox has two blue arrows next to the gray X. You generally hit the refresh button when you want to reload a page to see if there have been updates.

Date Posted: 8/21/2007 1:06 PM ET
Member Since: 1/24/2006
Posts: 4,994
Back To Top

I can't get into the site at all today unless I go to SwapaCD and click on the link from there.  It's the long way around, but it works, so I can't complain too much!

Date Posted: 8/21/2007 1:22 PM ET
Member Since: 12/23/2005
Posts: 1,157
Back To Top

I can't get on through my main server. I have to use Internet Explorer. On the main server, it keeps bringing up a maintenance page.

Date Posted: 8/21/2007 1:29 PM ET
Member Since: 12/23/2005
Posts: 1,157
Back To Top

Thanks to the member that mentioned to refresh. I tried it on my main server and now could get in.

Date Posted: 8/21/2007 2:32 PM ET
Member Since: 1/14/2007
Posts: 16,828
Back To Top

Thanks Bren; I know about that refresh;  what's with using Control with another key?? Does that do something else?

 

 

Date Posted: 8/21/2007 4:28 PM ET
Member Since: 2/13/2007
Posts: 2,272
Back To Top
Thanks for the invaluable tip about switching servers...after 5 hours of banging my head against the screen, trying to get to my account page (We're sorry, we are doing maintenance, please check back later), I switched my internet application from Firefox to Safari to get online and VOILA!!! I was finally able to do everything! Wish I had thought of checking out this forum earlier! But better late than never!
Cathy A. (Cathy) - ,
Date Posted: 8/21/2007 9:17 PM ET
Member Since: 12/27/2005
Posts: 4,145
Back To Top

The problem seems to be that the Maintenance Page is cached. This is probably a bug, this page should not be cacheable because then users will continue to see it even after the site is back up ....

the work around for the users is to clear your cache.

Date Posted: 8/22/2007 12:37 AM ET
Member Since: 8/9/2005
Posts: 20,024
Back To Top

The F5 button will refresh the page also so holding crtl and F5 is a hard refresh.