Search - The Cabinet of Curiosities (Pendergast, Bk 3)

The Cabinet of Curiosities (Pendergast, Bk 3)
The Cabinet of Curiosities - Pendergast, Bk 3
Author: Douglas Preston, Lincoln Child
In downtown Manhattan, a gruesome discovery has just been made-an underground charnel house containing the bones of dozens of murder victims. Research reveals that a serial killer was at work in New York's notorious Five Points neighborhood in the 1880s, bent on prolonging his lifespan by any means. When a newspaper story on the old murders ...  more »
ISBN-13: 9780446611237
ISBN-10: 0446611239
Publication Date: 6/1/2003
Pages: 656
Rating:
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 468

4.2 stars, based on 468 ratings
Publisher: Warner Books
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
Other Versions: Hardcover, Audio Cassette, Audio CD
Reviews: Member | Amazon | Write a Review

Top Member Book Reviews

reviewed The Cabinet of Curiosities (Pendergast, Bk 3) on + 1151 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 7
Preston & Child write solid mystery/thrillers, thoughtfully plotted (and often not for the squeamish) and with memorable characters. The intriguing presence of Agent Pendergast is an added treat. He's a fascinating and shadowy character, whose past is revealed via tantalizing clues that obscure as much as they reveal. I started this series out of order, and plan to re-read to get all the details straight.
reviewed The Cabinet of Curiosities (Pendergast, Bk 3) on + 2 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 6
This book was amazing,
it grabbed you from the very start,
the ending was awesome,
the whole book in general was very unusual which made it more loveable,
and its definitely a book you can re-read.
reviewed The Cabinet of Curiosities (Pendergast, Bk 3) on + 20 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 5
In seven bestselling novels (from Relic to The Ice Limit), Preston and Child have delivered a body of science-based thrillers that for high excitement and robust scientific imaginings rival those of Michael Crichton. Their eighth outing is another richly entertaining tale, about the hunt for a seemingly immortal serial killer at work in New York City. Preston and Child revive characters and settings from earlier novels, often a red flag that authorial imagination is tiring; but in this case, all comes together with zing. There's FBI Special Agent Pendergast (from Relic), pale, refined and possessed of a Holmes-like brain; dogged New York Times reporter William Smithback Jr. and his fiery erstwhile girlfriend, Nora Kelly of the New York (read American, where Preston used to work) Museum of Natural History (both characters from Thunderhead with the museum the setting for Relic). The action begins when groundbreaking for an apartment tower in downtown Manhattan reveals a charnel house of murder victims from the late 19th century. Enter Pendergast, who for unexplained reasons taps Kelly to study the remains before the site is stripped by the building's developer, a Donald Trump-type who, with the mayor's backing, will accept no construction delays. As Kelly calls on Smithback for investigative help, the city is struck by killings that duplicate the earlier murders, with the victims' spinal cords ripped away and clues pointing to a 19th-century scientist who sought the secret of immortality. Featuring fabulous locales, colorful characters, pointed riffs on city and museum politics, cool forensic and paleontological speculation and several gripping set pieces including an extended white-knuckle climax, this a great beach novel, at times gruesome, always fun: Preston-Child at the top of their game.

Adult/High School-FBI Special Agent Pendergast needs the talents of Nora Kelly, an archaeologist, and William Smithback, Jr., a researcher and reporter, to track down a serial killer whom he is sure has been stalking his prey since the late-19th century. When a real-estate developer demolishes a building and finds victims of a murderer who killed by tearing out their spinal columns, the three team up to pursue the evil behind the acts. Along the way, they nearly lose their lives as they relentlessly track the killer who, indeed, is still alive at the beginning of the 21st century. Pendergast stands out as a unique character, mysterious in his own right, with almost superhuman strength and endurance, and encyclopedic knowledge, and the human emotions and abilities of his two assistants intensifies interest in them. The authors again weave facts from New York City history with a thriller plot to produce an adventure filled with fast-moving events, gruesome scenes, and enough scary moments to keep the pages turning quickly. Fans of Preston and Child's Relic (Tor, 1996) or Reliquary (Forge, 1997) will enjoy this title as well.
reviewed The Cabinet of Curiosities (Pendergast, Bk 3) on + 173 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 5
Wow....this is the best I've read of Preston and Child. It is fast-paced, full of red herrings and creepy. Great read for any mystery fan.
reviewed The Cabinet of Curiosities (Pendergast, Bk 3) on + 30 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 2
FBI Special Agent Pendergast needs the talents of Nora Kelly, an archaeologist, and William Smithback, Jr., a researcher and reporter, to track down a serial killer whom he is sure has been stalking his prey since the late-19th century. When a real-estate developer demolishes a building and finds victims of a murderer who killed by tearing out their spinal columns, the three team up to pursue the evil behind the acts. Along the way, they nearly lose their lives as they relentlessly track the killer who, indeed, is still alive at the beginning of the 21st century. Fans of Preston and Child's Relic or Reliquary will enjoy this title as well.
Read All 97 Book Reviews of "The Cabinet of Curiosities Pendergast Bk 3"

Please Log in to Rate these Book Reviews

reviewed The Cabinet of Curiosities (Pendergast, Bk 3) on
enjoyable, good plot, sub plot, good character development
reviewed The Cabinet of Curiosities (Pendergast, Bk 3) on
A really good book, lots of twists and turns. There is a very slight "science fiction" element but it is melded neatly into the overall story and doesn't ring untrue.
reviewed The Cabinet of Curiosities (Pendergast, Bk 3) on + 64 more book reviews
Wow another great Preston-Child book.I just cannot stop reading their books.

Book Wiki

Series
Pendergast  3 of 10
People/Characters
William Smithback (Major Character)
Nora Kelly (Major Character)
Anthony Fairhaven (Minor Character)
(Show all 6 People/Characters)

Genres: