Discussion Forums - eBook readers eBook readers

Topic: Couldn't get Calibre to work

Club rule - Please, if you cannot be courteous and respectful, do not post in this forum.
  Unlock Forum posting with Annual Membership.
Subject: Couldn't get Calibre to work
Date Posted: 10/16/2012 11:52 PM ET
Member Since: 2/12/2008
Posts: 4,470
Back To Top

I accidentally downloaded a public library book in the wrong format. So I finally downloaded Calibre and all the DRM tools. I think I installed all the ePub tools to Calibre. But, it wouldn't open the book or convert it to PDF which is what I want.

I then went and downloaded some Python program & the corresponding tools. I couldn't even get that to work at all. I finally uninstalled both programs and did a System Restore in case there was any left over hanging system files on my system.

This is a book on a long reserve list, so if I put myself on the reserve lis again, to try to get the right format, it may be several months before I get to borrow it from the library again.

,At this point, I'm not even sure I want to try to re-install Calibre to try again. Anyone have any idea what went wrong?

 



Last Edited on: 10/17/12 4:20 AM ET - Total times edited: 1
Date Posted: 10/16/2012 11:59 PM ET
Member Since: 7/19/2008
Posts: 15,424
Back To Top

Okay.  Was it an Adobe format?  If so, then you will need to load it into a registered Adobe Reader to unlock it.  Then Calibre can convert the format. 

Many library books come in Adobe formats, as that is one of the ways to have the book expire on it's due date.  (The other way is the Kindle format.)



Last Edited on: 10/17/12 12:03 AM ET - Total times edited: 2
Date Posted: 10/17/2012 4:19 AM ET
Member Since: 2/12/2008
Posts: 4,470
Back To Top

Yes, it was Adobe format. It loaded & opened automatically to my Adobe Digital Reader. That's how I realized I accidentally downloaded the wrong format. The Adobe Reader isn't very intuitive with ePUBs.  They always scroll kind of glitchy, take too long to change a page. Meanwhile PDFs scroll like a breeze. I always think that's how TV teleprompters work. I can read something in half the time if it's in PDF than if it's in ePUB.

I thought maybe as it automatically loaded that that was what made it not able to be converted in Calibre? Also, the eBook file was in the "My Digital Editions" folder. Is that the right place it would be downloaded to?

Date Posted: 10/17/2012 8:41 AM ET
Member Since: 4/25/2007
Posts: 11,496
Back To Top

Yes, if it was a secure Adobe file, it would have downloaded into the My Digital Editons folder.  You have to open it first in Adobe Digital Editions.  Then, if you have Calibre and the Plugins installed correctly, you can import it into Calibre and it'll strip the DRM so you can convert the file.  You do have to make sure you have the latest tools Plugin and them configured correctly in order for it to work.

When I purchase from Kobo, I find most of their files are secure EPUBS so I have to get them into ADE first before getting them into Calibre so I can put them on my Sony reader.

Date Posted: 10/17/2012 10:46 AM ET
Member Since: 2/24/2006
Posts: 5,498
Back To Top

Personally once you transfer the PDF to an ereader, it's HARDER for me to read them.  I think once you get the hang of the conversion - and yes ADE is a pain - it will go much smoother.

Date Posted: 10/17/2012 1:27 PM ET
Member Since: 7/19/2008
Posts: 15,424
Back To Top

I put the book in ADE, then open Calibre and use the Add Book button to move it.  Mine is set up with the plug-ins to strip the ADE DRM when the book gets added.  

Date Posted: 10/17/2012 6:40 PM ET
Member Since: 2/12/2008
Posts: 4,470
Back To Top

Maybe I didn't have the right plugins? According to one blog, there didn't seem to be that many or much I had to do once I installed them. I also have Kindle for PC, so that I could have converted the eBook to Mobi or Kindle format. But, I don't know how to get my serial number or whatever it is called for my Kindle account. Converting to PDF seemed easier.

Can someone tell me WHICH plugins I'm supposed to install to get the eBook to convert? I kept getting a window that says the book still has DRM. sad  There was a LONG list of plugins after I downloaded the  latest tools: v5.3.1.zip and went to the Preference page and clicked on the Plugins icon. I followed the directions at this site: http://apprenticealf.wordpress.com/2012/09/10/drm-removal-tools-for-ebooks/  But, then there was such a long list of plugins. I only downloaded anything that said ePUB or PDF. Maybe, I was still missing right one??? (I don't want to do any Kindle plugins, just to convert the ePub to PDF.)

 

 

Date Posted: 10/17/2012 8:57 PM ET
Member Since: 5/23/2008
Posts: 12,776
Back To Top

You need to download the tools.

 

The latest tools_v5.3.1.zip can be downloaded from
http://www.datafilehost.com/download-9c5f9950.html

Date Posted: 10/17/2012 10:12 PM ET
Member Since: 2/12/2008
Posts: 4,470
Back To Top

I did download the tools from there. But once you go to Calibre to click on the Preferences and add the Plugins, how do I know which ones to add? I don't have enough MBs on my PC to needlessly download every single tool, if I don't need them all. Thanks for any help. I need a "Calibre for Dummies" set of instructions. sad

Date Posted: 10/18/2012 5:08 AM ET
Member Since: 1/19/2008
Posts: 14,769
Back To Top

here's the step-by-step instructions for adding the needed Calibre plugins:

http://apprenticealf.wordpress.com/2012/09/10/calibre-plugins-the-simplest-option-for-removing-most-ebook-drm/

to me it sounds like when you clicked on Plugins you started adding plugins from the calibre list, not from the file you downloaded. (see step 5)

of the five tools included in that file, it sounds like you probably only need ineptepub for this task but as long as you're setting them up i'd probably grab the ineptpdf too.  the ignobleepub is specifically for Barnes & Noble epubs so you may not need that one.

Date Posted: 10/18/2012 6:17 PM ET
Member Since: 2/12/2008
Posts: 4,470
Back To Top

"to me it sounds like when you clicked on Plugins you started adding plugins from the calibre list, not from the file you downloaded."  

Yes! That is exactly what I did. Your link to instructions are way different than the ones I had looked at - even though they are from the same blogger. Yours look to be a more recent post and a lot clearer to follow. I'll try installing again later. Thanks!  yes

 

Date Posted: 10/19/2012 12:59 AM ET
Member Since: 2/12/2008
Posts: 4,470
Back To Top

Ellen, Thank YOU!!!!  :flower3:  Your link & instructions on which plugins to load worked beautifully.  :love2:

Woohoo!  http://i98.photobucket.com/albums/l267/Imzadi102/hapydancsmil.gif  I have it in PDF now. Scrolling through the book works fabulously. And I have to take a train tomorrow. I still have no portable eReader as I read on my laptop. But, I can now print out several pages to take with me to read. (It will all get shredded when the eBook gets 'returned' to the library.)

 

Date Posted: 10/19/2012 2:39 AM ET
Member Since: 1/19/2008
Posts: 14,769
Back To Top

you're welcome!  glad i could help.  :)