Book Reviews of Change Me into Zeus's Daughter: A Memoir

Change Me into Zeus's Daughter: A Memoir
Change Me into Zeus's Daughter A Memoir
Author: Barbara Robinette Moss
The Market's bargain prices are even better for Paperbackswap club members!
Retail Price: $19.99
Buy New (Paperback): $14.79 (save 26%) or
Become a PBS member and pay $10.89+1 PBS book credit (save 45%)
ISBN-13: 9780743202190
ISBN-10: 0743202198
Publication Date: 7/31/2001
Pages: 320
Rating:
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 84

4 stars, based on 84 ratings
Publisher: Scribner
Book Type: Paperback
Reviews: Amazon | Write a Review

24 Book Reviews submitted by our Members...sorted by voted most helpful

reviewed Change Me into Zeus's Daughter: A Memoir on + 367 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 7
In the tradition of Bastard Out of Carolina and Angela's Ashes, Change Me into Zeus's Daughter chronicles a child's coming of age in an abusive and dirt-poor environment. With the gripping narrative drive of both of those bestselling books, Barbara Robinette Moss's candid yet lyrical account takes hold of our hearts and doesn't let go until the final page. Her story juxtaposes heart-rending adversity with the playful chaos of eight siblings growing up in the 1960s South, with its creeping kudzu and soybean fields, its forthright and sometimes peculiar inhabitants, and its boiling racial tensions.

The hardships related here are both familiar and unique: the Christmas presents exchanged for drink money, the failed businesses, the decrepit shacks that served as temporary homes, the disturbing early-morning discipline. Under the tyrannical rule of a father who "inflicted pain recreationally, both physical and emotional," the only bright spot in Moss's childhood was her mother, Dorris. Slavishly devoted to her husband ("she seemed to crave him as much as he craved alcohol"), Dorris held the family together by absorbing most of the abuse. But in the end she lacked the courage to leave him, and her children had to act as their own protectors. As if poverty and her father's mistreatment weren't enough of a burden, Moss also had to contend with a face disfigured by malnutrition. As a result, she sought refuge in whatever elusive beauty she could find: the poetry her mother taught as a substitute for material things; the fertile, red Alabama soil; the love of her baby sister Janet. Her urge to create beauty and her longing to embody it culminate in surgery that transforms her face but brings with it a crisis of identity.

In her outpouring of memories, Moss occasionally gets lost in her tale, embedding flashback within flashback. More problematic is the portrayal of her father: he's relentlessly cruel until a near-fatal beating, after which he begins to briefly connect with his children. For us, it's too late, and we can only react to his death with a sigh of relief. But these minor quibbles are just that. Moss's extraordinary memoir enthralls us from its alarming introduction--in which Dorris feeds her starving children a meal of potentially poisonous seeds--to its poignant conclusion.
reviewed Change Me into Zeus's Daughter: A Memoir on + 159 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 5
I thought this was an excellent memoir up to page 264. At that point she went from being in high school to being married, getting divorced, with a child on the way. I can't help but wonder what happened between these chapters.Felt like a large chunk was left out.
reviewed Change Me into Zeus's Daughter: A Memoir on
Helpful Score: 3
Quite horrifying memoir of a miserable childhood. Well-written, but it seems to rush and get quite skimpy toward the end. Very interesting though.
reviewed Change Me into Zeus's Daughter: A Memoir on + 33 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 1
A heartbreaking memoir of a little girl overcoming a brutal childhood
reviewed Change Me into Zeus's Daughter: A Memoir on + 7 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 1
I just finished this book it was great I would compare it to Angelas Ashes and Before Women Had Wings....Awsome book think I will keep it and read it again.....
reviewed Change Me into Zeus's Daughter: A Memoir on + 48 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 1
This book is Barbara Moss's memoir of growing up dirt poor, with an abusive alcoholic father and a co-dependent enabler mother in rural Alabama in the 60s and 70s.
reviewed Change Me into Zeus's Daughter: A Memoir on + 19 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 1
Great read! Gives you an insight on a poor family with lots of children. Makes you wonder what were people back then thinking putting their children thru situations that no one should experience?
reviewed Change Me into Zeus's Daughter: A Memoir on + 51 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 1
It is considered a memoir of the south but to me it was one of triumph of any abusive, disfunctional rural family and how a young woman comes to understand the beauty she holds within despite what her world around her shows and tells her.
reviewed Change Me into Zeus's Daughter: A Memoir on
Its a good book. Memoir type of book about a family of poor children who are abused by their father. Its slow reading and isnt a page turner but I like it ok. Not finished with it yet.
reviewed Change Me into Zeus's Daughter: A Memoir on
Very good. An interesting read all the way around.
reviewed Change Me into Zeus's Daughter: A Memoir on
I really enjoyed this story of overcoming obstacles in our lives. This taught me how lucky I am and that I should enjoy what I have and be greatful.
reviewed Change Me into Zeus's Daughter: A Memoir on + 3 more book reviews
I loved this book. It was written with such open honesty and without self pity. Full of emotion, shock and even humor.
reviewed Change Me into Zeus's Daughter: A Memoir on + 33 more book reviews
A heartbreaking but touching poverty stricken story.
reviewed Change Me into Zeus's Daughter: A Memoir on + 10 more book reviews
Loved the book.
reviewed Change Me into Zeus's Daughter: A Memoir on + 36 more book reviews
Excellant reading. You can really believe that you are there with the author.
reviewed Change Me into Zeus's Daughter: A Memoir on + 34 more book reviews
A wonderful read: a memoir of a girl who grew up in the South with incredible obstacles (alcoholic father, poverty, abuse) yet told her story in a way that made you relate to her ... and her determination to change her life makes it all worth it. I read this cover-to-cover one night...couldn't put it down.
reviewed Change Me into Zeus's Daughter: A Memoir on
This book broke my heart and made me laugh, all at the same time... was sad to see it end.
reviewed Change Me into Zeus's Daughter: A Memoir on + 19 more book reviews
If you enjoyed "The Glass Castle," this book has a similar feel to it.
reviewed Change Me into Zeus's Daughter: A Memoir on + 40 more book reviews
A wonderful book about a girl's childhood--growing up poor, with an abusive alcoholic father. I would liken it to The Glass Castle. An absolutely great read!
reviewed Change Me into Zeus's Daughter: A Memoir on + 102 more book reviews
Great memoir. Very absorbing and well written.
reviewed Change Me into Zeus's Daughter: A Memoir on
What an eye opener this would be for teens today to read this memoir. They only think life is hard now.
reviewed Change Me into Zeus's Daughter: A Memoir on + 22 more book reviews
Loved the book!!!
reviewed Change Me into Zeus's Daughter: A Memoir on + 530 more book reviews
Great Book.............really realistic!
reviewed Change Me into Zeus's Daughter: A Memoir on + 107 more book reviews
A sad, but funny, story of growing up poor and ugly in the South, in a disfunctional family. How she finally beat the odds and found real change in her life. A story you will enjoy reading.