Discussion Forums - eBook readers eBook readers

Topic: Changing Calibre Location

Club rule - Please, if you cannot be courteous and respectful, do not post in this forum.
  Unlock Forum posting with Annual Membership.
Subject: Changing Calibre Location
Date Posted: 1/14/2014 10:23 AM ET
Member Since: 4/22/2005
Posts: 5,550
Back To Top

I'm fairly new at using Calibre and need to update from XP to Win 7 ( I know, still behind, but don't want Win 8). How do I move all my book info in Calibre from drive C to Drive D without redoing everything?

Do I download another copy of the program and somehow copy the files onto a CD and load them onto the other drive? I can't make heads nor tails of the five Save options and which one to use. And where exactly in the program would I copy the files to?

Sorry to be so dense. Thanks for any help.



Last Edited on: 1/14/14 10:30 AM ET - Total times edited: 1
Date Posted: 1/14/2014 12:05 PM ET
Member Since: 8/18/2005
Posts: 7,977
Back To Top

Calibre keeps all it's libraries under a file called "Calibre Libraries", usually on C: drive. Copying the whole folder to a DVD or CD will depend on how many files you have and how large the whole thing is. You can left-click on the name of the file and select 'properties' and it will calculate the size. You may want to use a Flash drive with a larger size than a CD or DVD.

What I've done in the past, (and how I keep backups) is just copy the whole library folder to something off the hard drive. (Even two copies off the computer on two different media formats wouldn't be over doing it.)

Do your OS upgrade, then load Calbre again, then copy the library to the drive you want. Open Calibre and it should be empty. Then go to the 'Libraries' button and chose "Switch/Create Library". Browse to the new location and select the library and check "Use the Previously existing library at the new location" and click 'okay'. That will tell calibre where to look for the library and the settings you had before. You'll have to do this for each library you have. I have 14 different ones so have to do this 14 times.

Or---

What you can do is select all your books while inside Calibre, make sure you 'reconvert' the books to the format you use regularly (to make sure all the metadata is saved in each book file) and select 'Save to Disk'. You can chose to save all the formats or just one. It may take a while, but will write all your books to the location you select. Once written, (to a location not on your computer, such as a flash drive or SD card) then do the update, reload calibre and then 'drag and drop' all the books back into calibre and let it reload them. I don't know that all your custom columns will come back, but the book info from the metadata should all be there.

Don't forget if you reload Calibre from scratch you'll need to re-load all your plug-ins as well. 

Or-- you can do both ways just to make sure everything works okay for you. 

Date Posted: 1/14/2014 4:03 PM ET
Member Since: 4/22/2005
Posts: 5,550
Back To Top

Thanks so much, Cindy. You are always so helpful and  knowledgeable. I'm going to try copying the library as I have custom columns I don't want to do again.

Date Posted: 1/14/2014 5:05 PM ET
Member Since: 8/18/2005
Posts: 7,977
Back To Top

You're welcome!

I hope it all goes well. I'm a sissy about changing OS's so don't do it until I have to and DH is pushing me to do it. smiley I keep tons of backups just in case.