Skip to main content
PBS logo

Discussion Forums - Chick Lit Chick Lit

Topic: Need some chick lit guidance...

Club rule - Please, if you cannot be courteous and respectful, do not post in this forum.
  Unlock Forum posting with Annual Membership.
pjs2780 avatar
Subject: Need some chick lit guidance...
Date Posted: 8/13/2009 9:31 PM ET

Last Edited on: 8/13/09 11:37 PM ET - Total times edited: 3
beatccr avatar
Date Posted: 8/13/2009 9:56 PM ET

and how so?

pjs2780 avatar
Date Posted: 8/13/2009 11:33 PM ET

Hello all!
I'm kind of new to chick lit and was hoping you could help guide me a little.  I feel like I'm just poking around in the dark right now, kind of hit or miss.  I've sort of figured out that I don't care if there's a boy at the end.  I just want smart female characters who are part of an interesting story.

I just finished Getting Warmer (by Carol Snow) and I just could not put it down.  I thought Natalie was adorable, loved her relationship with her friends, thought the non-romantic storyline with her students was really touching and real and kind of the highlight for me...and the romance was nice too, but not really the focus of the novel.

SImilarly, I also really enjoyed How to Sleep with a Movie Star.  I thought Claire's character was extremely likable, her friendship with Wendy was awesome, her conflict with Sidra made my blood boil...and, yes, Cole Brannon was a nice touch also.  On the flip side, Accidental It Girl was not at all the same kind of enjoyment.  I think there wasn't enough "other" stuff going on.

And, I just started Cockails for Three.  Not sure if there's going to be a romance in here or not, and I don't care!  I am loving the friendship between Candice, Roxanne, and Maggie, their different stories.  Just got to a part where I'm feeling like walloping Heather on the head.