Search - The Color of Magic (Discworld, Bk 1)

The Color of Magic (Discworld, Bk 1)
The Color of Magic - Discworld, Bk 1
Author: Terry Pratchett
Terry Pratchett has invented a phantasmagorical universe in which a blissfully naive interplanetary tourist called Two-flower joins up with a drop-out wizard whose spells only seem to work half of the time. — Together they undertake a chaotic voyage through a crazy world filled with monsters and dragons, heroes and knaves. Pratchett has taken the...  more »
ISBN-13: 9780061020711
ISBN-10: 0061020710
Publication Date: 3/1/2000
Pages: 240
Rating:
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 427

3.8 stars, based on 427 ratings
Publisher: HarperTorch
Book Type: Paperback
Other Versions: Hardcover, Audio Cassette, Audio CD
Members Wishing: 3
Reviews: Member | Amazon | Write a Review

Top Member Book Reviews

reviewed The Color of Magic (Discworld, Bk 1) on + 389 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 10
What an introduction to DiscWorld! This was a fun book and great introduction to the DiscWorld series. While at times the story is a bit disjointed, overall it was a fun read. I enjoyed meeting the main characters. Loved Rincewind and TwoFlower as well as Death. They are very likeable characters and you want to read more about their exploits. The ending was quite a 'cliff hanger' LOL!!! Now I just have decided where in the DiscWorld series to go next!!
reviewed The Color of Magic (Discworld, Bk 1) on + 260 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 8
At long last I finally got around to reading the first discworld book.
And it was worth it.
The introduction of Ankh Morpokh (sp?) was amusing, especially with the unintended havok Twoflower left in his wake. The bits with the barbarian were worth it and thoroughly amused me.
Well worth the read.
reviewed The Color of Magic (Discworld, Bk 1) on + 83 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 7
First in the DiscWorld series. Awesome characters...Death, Rincewind, The Luggage...just to name a few. Hilarious writing - I love dry, British wit. If you don't explore DiscWorld, you're missing out!
reviewed The Color of Magic (Discworld, Bk 1) on + 11 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 6
Very funny science fiction/fantasy novel. First in the Discworld series. Should appeal to fans of Monty Python and The Hitchhiker's Guide books.
reviewed The Color of Magic (Discworld, Bk 1) on + 157 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 6
My first Terry Pratchett book but definitely not my last. Inventive, imaginative scifantasy full of plays on words and plenty of humor. The closest thing to Jasper Fforde's Thursday Next books that I have come across.
Read All 47 Book Reviews of "The Color of Magic Discworld Bk 1"

Please Log in to Rate these Book Reviews

reviewed The Color of Magic (Discworld, Bk 1) on + 107 more book reviews
A strange tourist sets off on an adventure to see new things and experience adventure. He has lots of gold but he doesn't have to pay anyone to carry his luggage since it has its own feet. He becomes acquainted with a wizard, a lousy wizard but he's not a bad guide. Together they see some amazing sights and may or may not live to tell about it.
reviewed The Color of Magic (Discworld, Bk 1) on + 203 more book reviews
I liked it. It was entertaining enough, but it didn't quite feel like the later Discworld books feel. Like, this was a childhood photo version of what the Discworld novels would one day grow up to be.

However, I think the Luggage is now one of my all-time favorite fictional characters.
reviewed The Color of Magic (Discworld, Bk 1) on
This is an incredibly fantastic book. What HHGTG is to sci-fi Discworld is to fantasy.

Book Wiki

Common Title
Series
Discworld  1
People/Characters
Rincewind (Primary Character)
Twoflowers (Major Character)
The Luggage (Average Character)
Fictional Places

Genres: