Discussion Forums - Questions about PaperBackSwap Questions about PaperBackSwap

Topic: The connection was reset

Club rule - Please, if you cannot be courteous and respectful, do not post in this forum.
Page:   Unlock Forum posting with Annual Membership.
Subject: The connection was reset
Date Posted: 10/21/2015 12:45 PM ET
Member Since: 2/26/2009
Posts: 36,028
Back To Top

I keep getting this message....  I hit my friends tab and got this message twice before if finally connected. then hit my personal message tab and got the same message....  is there work being done on the site?

Date Posted: 10/21/2015 1:26 PM ET
Member Since: 6/2/2014
Posts: 9,412
Back To Top

I don't know Adrienne but for the past 2 days I've been having a devil of a time on here with not vonnecting, error messages, etc

Marion (mlk56) - ,
Date Posted: 10/21/2015 2:43 PM ET
Member Since: 11/27/2007
Posts: 2,600
Back To Top

I have the same problem.  Very annoying!

Date Posted: 10/21/2015 3:10 PM ET
Member Since: 1/23/2014
Posts: 855
Back To Top

Same problem, but with access to the site itself and trying to get to the "handwrite" the address page.

-- Jill

Date Posted: 10/21/2015 3:22 PM ET
Member Since: 5/7/2009
Posts: 793
Back To Top

My links aren't working, keep taking me to a page that says no connection available try again.  When I push the try again button nothing happens.  I then try the back button and it closes my whole browser.  I tried with both Mozilla and Chrome browsers.  No problem with other sites.



Last Edited on: 10/21/15 3:23 PM ET - Total times edited: 1
Date Posted: 10/21/2015 4:34 PM ET
Member Since: 2/26/2009
Posts: 36,028
Back To Top

ok, not just me  

the other night I was trying to post a game and kept getting a message that it was too large

Date Posted: 10/21/2015 4:48 PM ET
Member Since: 1/3/2010
Posts: 15,546
Back To Top

Today I keep getting kicked off the site.

Date Posted: 10/21/2015 10:08 PM ET
Member Since: 1/22/2013
Posts: 1,764
Back To Top

I've been having this problem the past 2 days as well and it's really frustrating! Currently, I'm getting the "Connection Reset" message after nearly every single page load and it takes several tries to get it to finally go through.

Hopefully they are working on a fix.

PBSTeam - PaperBackSwap Team
Date Posted: 10/22/2015 3:49 PM ET
Member Since: 7/17/2005
Posts: 335
Back To Top

We're sorry you folks have been having this trouble!  We had a server overload (thank you, social media indexing!) in the wee hours Tuesday morning, but we got things fixed by mid-morning that same day. If you are still seeing "Connection has been reset" messages or having trouble navigating or accessing the site, please do a "hard refresh" on that page to force your browser to load the updated code.

To do this:

(1) in Windows: hold down the CTRL button on the keyboard and click F5.  
(2) in Macintosh: hold down the Apple (Command) key and click Refresh on your browser.

If you continue to have problems, please let us know using the feedback option on the Contact Us page.

Alice J. (ASJ) - ,
Date Posted: 10/23/2015 9:30 AM ET
Member Since: 5/13/2009
Posts: 40,413
Back To Top

I am seeing this problem again today

Date Posted: 10/23/2015 10:32 AM ET
Member Since: 6/2/2014
Posts: 9,412
Back To Top

Me too and the hard refresh won't work on tablets or phone. 

Date Posted: 10/23/2015 11:01 AM ET
Member Since: 6/2/2014
Posts: 9,412
Back To Top

Also, I've done the hard refresh 2x and still getting this...

Date Posted: 10/23/2015 11:15 AM ET
Member Since: 3/25/2008
Posts: 2,527
Back To Top

Still having problems too. On my tablet, phone & pc.

Tom (tombr) -
Date Posted: 10/23/2015 12:49 PM ET
Member Since: 7/29/2007
Posts: 4,403
Back To Top

The problem continuues.  And its getting old quickly.  Remind me once again what the membership fee was for?

Date Posted: 10/23/2015 1:45 PM ET
Member Since: 7/19/2008
Posts: 15,448
Back To Top

Just tossed out again.

Date Posted: 10/23/2015 2:15 PM ET
Member Since: 7/2/2005
Posts: 3,444
Back To Top

Can't use firefox at all as I always get kicked out.  IE will let me see a few pages at a time before "The connection was reset"

It is not a hard refresh issue for me as I have had firefox cacheing off for development purposes.

Date Posted: 10/23/2015 4:51 PM ET
Member Since: 8/12/2010
Posts: 343
Back To Top

I'm using firefox and have had no problems.

Date Posted: 10/23/2015 6:32 PM ET
Member Since: 7/19/2008
Posts: 15,448
Back To Top

I have closed down my Live Help. I can't get on. Refresh does not work for me.

Please send all questions directly to PBS.

zeke68 -
Date Posted: 10/23/2015 8:43 PM ET
Member Since: 10/30/2008
Posts: 2,810
Back To Top

I've not had any problems with Chrome, but I can totally understand why everyone else is so upset.  We are paying for a service now, it shouldn't be this diffficult to get on the site.

Date Posted: 10/23/2015 9:13 PM ET
Member Since: 6/2/2014
Posts: 9,412
Back To Top

I am ising chrome and having trouble

Date Posted: 10/23/2015 11:51 PM ET
Member Since: 8/23/2009
Posts: 4,581
Back To Top

I'm using chrome and I've been having problems for the last 2 days.  Today I finally wondered into this thread, I tried the hard reset several times and I still keep periodically getting an error message.  I'm also having problems seeing some avatars, pictures in signatures, and pictures people post in threads when it finally lets me back on any suggestions? (The actual picture is gone and instead is a little clip of a camera and include words) 



Last Edited on: 10/23/15 11:53 PM ET - Total times edited: 1
Date Posted: 10/24/2015 9:29 AM ET
Member Since: 6/2/2014
Posts: 9,412
Back To Top

I have the same exact issue Bizzy is describing. .the hard refresh isn't working.

Date Posted: 10/24/2015 4:22 PM ET
Member Since: 10/5/2005
Posts: 465
Back To Top

This is really getting old and annoying.  Hard refresh doesn't work. Closing and reopening it doesn't work either.

 

 

Date Posted: 10/24/2015 5:22 PM ET
Member Since: 5/7/2009
Posts: 793
Back To Top

I just put my shelf on Vacation Hold until this is fixed.

Date Posted: 10/24/2015 10:10 PM ET
Member Since: 4/25/2007
Posts: 11,521
Back To Top

I had a couple of error messages a few days ago but that's been the only time lately.

I'm off and on PBS several times a day and haven't had an issue in the last couple of days at all.  I use Firefox.

Page: