Discussion Forums - Questions about PaperBackSwap Questions about PaperBackSwap

Topic: Custom DC Problems

Club rule - Please, if you cannot be courteous and respectful, do not post in this forum.
  Unlock Forum posting with Annual Membership.
Subject: Custom DC Problems
Date Posted: 1/14/2008 12:31 PM ET
Member Since: 12/17/2006
Posts: 9,906
Back To Top

Please tell me what I am missing!   I printed four custom DC labels on 1/11/07 and now I can't print any.

I enter the address; I click the box for the DC charge and I click print and nothing happens.  It stays on the same page. 

This has happened before and usually within a day I can print.  But not this time.  It is three days later and still the same problem.

Adobe is loaded and updated.  Pop-ups are NOT blocked.  What the heck???

Any help is greatly appreciated.

Thanks ~ Irene

Date Posted: 1/14/2008 1:10 PM ET
Member Since: 7/7/2007
Posts: 4,815
Back To Top

Do you have enough money in your PBS account to cover the costs of the DC?  Are there new windows that have opened and are maybe buried underneath your original window with the printing on it?  I have to use my husband's computer to print my labels from, and it always opens a bunch of windows to print.

If the above fails, try closing your browser, clearing your cache and rebooting your machine -- that'll fix nearly anything.

Cheers,

Catt

Date Posted: 1/14/2008 2:57 PM ET
Member Since: 8/16/2007
Posts: 15,187
Back To Top

This happened to me when the addy wasn't working. No error message, just stayed on the page. I had something in the C/O line and it wouldn't accept it, after I removed that, it went just fine. Try changing the address. Did you check it on-line to make sure it is the way USPS will want it?

Date Posted: 1/14/2008 9:01 PM ET
Member Since: 7/7/2007
Posts: 4,815
Back To Top

Melanie sez:

"This happened to me when the addy wasn't working."

I've only had this happen once, but I thought, when it did, the system gave some message like "DC cannot be used for this address"?  I think it was subtle, and above the "choose a wrapper style" section of the "print label" page?

Or, maybe the goats did it? :-)

Date Posted: 1/14/2008 9:01 PM ET
Member Since: 12/17/2006
Posts: 9,906
Back To Top

Melanie -  Your note made me play with the C/O line --I play the games and put the swap name in there.  I have now learned that DC does not like an  "&"  --- I took that out and the DC printed just fine!   Learn something new every day!

Thanks all!

Date Posted: 1/15/2008 11:04 AM ET
Member Since: 4/27/2007
Posts: 8,511
Back To Top

Thanks for starting this thread and solving my problem too, Irene!!!

I was also using an "&" sign in my CO line (for the Silver & Gold swap...LOL!) and I couldn't print the DC's for two days!!! I was about going out of my mind when I thought to check the other threads to see if someone else couldn't print custom DC's for some reason.

: )

Date Posted: 1/15/2008 3:52 PM ET
Member Since: 8/16/2007
Posts: 15,187
Back To Top

Glad you guys got them to work! I bet that was what my problem had been too, I had a business name in the c/o with & in it. I just deleted the whole thing out of there to get it to work. I sure somewhere there is some line somewhere telling us not to put symbols in there.

elizabeth - that's what I expected too! I even made my husband come look at the screen to see if he could find the message telling me what was wrong.

Date Posted: 1/15/2008 8:42 PM ET
Member Since: 12/17/2006
Posts: 9,906
Back To Top

Funny Lauri -- my problem was for the same swap!