Book Reviews of The Dark is Rising

The Dark is Rising
The Dark is Rising
Author: Susan Cooper
ISBN-13: 9781568652054
ISBN-10: 1568652054
Publication Date: 7/1996
Pages: 863
Rating:
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 3

3.2 stars, based on 3 ratings
Publisher: Doubleday Books
Book Type: Hardcover
Reviews: Amazon | Write a Review

23 Book Reviews submitted by our Members...sorted by voted most helpful

reviewed The Dark is Rising on + 86 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 4
This is the very first fantasy I read--some 25 years ago. As a teenager I thoroughly enjoyed it and it hooked me on fantasy. As an adult, I still pull out my old copy of this book on occasion. It is a classic story of good vs. evil with imagery, history and a british feel. Besides Tolkien's books, The Dark is Rising series is the best there is in fantasy. Check out http://www.thelostland.com/darkbook.htm
reviewed The Dark is Rising on + 106 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 2
One of my favorite books in 1981.
reviewed The Dark is Rising on + 40 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 2
This is the first book in an excellent fantasy series.
reviewed The Dark is Rising on + 8 more book reviews
Not very interesting to me, but might be good juvenile reading
reviewed The Dark is Rising on + 39 more book reviews
Second, not first, of Susan Cooper's wonderful "The Dark is Rising" series, dealing with the ancient magic of Britain. 1974 Newberry Honor Book. Recommended!
reviewed The Dark is Rising on
Great book!
reviewed The Dark is Rising on + 6 more book reviews
Cooper's young adult novels are fun, if a bit dated. A lot of it doesn't feel very exciting because the children involved are always kept extremely safe and rarely in any kind of immediate and really threatening danger - which is markedly different from today's Harry Potter or A Series of Unfortunate Events works. There are still a lot of interesting concepts and the story itself is timeless.
reviewed The Dark is Rising on + 8 more book reviews
STARTS OUT A LITTLE SLOW AND LACKS A LITTLE DETAIL TO THE WAY THINGS WORK BUT A REALLY GOOD QUICK READ, ESPECIALLY FOR A YOUNG PERSON.
reviewed The Dark is Rising on + 1106 more book reviews
A Newbery Honor book, and an entry in Susan Cooper's The Dark Is Rising series.
reviewed The Dark is Rising on + 146 more book reviews
Wonderful YA fantasy. Boy discovers on his 11th birthday he is the last of the Old Ones, immortals dedicated throught the ages to keeping the world from domination by the forces of Dark.
reviewed The Dark is Rising on + 3 more book reviews
One of the best fantasy books I've ever read. A brilliant start to a powerful sequence of five books. Highly recommended.
reviewed The Dark is Rising on + 1250 more book reviews
Great book and series. The story is suspenseful and moves along quickly. The characters are well developed and believable. Your kids will like it alot if they liked HP.
reviewed The Dark is Rising on + 345 more book reviews
I am done with this series. I did not like the first book that much, but this one was a bit more boring but it was more creative. Will finds out on his 11th birthday that his life is not like any normal child, but has a long drawn history. Merriman from the first book is also in this one. Can wull help save humanity from destruction of The Dark.
reviewed The Dark is Rising on + 5454 more book reviews
I thought this was a shameless ripoff of Harry Potter, then I realized it was written 20 years before HP.
reviewed The Dark is Rising on + 297 more book reviews
On the Midwinter Day that is his eleventh birthday, Will Stanton discovers a special gift - that he is the last of the Old Ones, immortals dedicated to keeping the world from domination by the forces of evil, the Dark. At once, he is plunged into a quest for the six magical Signs that will one day aid the Old Ones in the final battle between the Dark and the Light.

Others in the series: Over Sea, Under Stone; Greenwitch; The Grey King; Silver on the Tree
reviewed The Dark is Rising on + 2 more book reviews
Tantalizing page turner. Great read with suspense, interesting characters and a plot that twists and turns in engaging ways. Highly recommended.
reviewed The Dark is Rising on + 711 more book reviews
Newbery Honor Book 1974. On the Midwinter Day that is his eleventh birthday, Will Stanton discovers a special gift---that he is the last of the Old Ones, immortals dedicated throughout the ages to keeping the world from domination by the forces of evil, the Dark. He is plunged at once into a quest for the six magical Signs that will one day aid the Old Ones in the final battle between the Dark and the Light. Thereafter, for the twelve days of Christmas while the Dark is rising, life for Will, although outwardly normal, is strangely wonderful as he is drawn through terror and delight.
reviewed The Dark is Rising on + 302 more book reviews
A quest for six magical Signs.
reviewed The Dark is Rising on + 5454 more book reviews
boy, in all the books I've read for a while, something amazing happens to the main character when they are 11. Too bad I spent most of my time then memorizing baseball statistics and zip codes.
reviewed The Dark is Rising on + 9 more book reviews
Didn't even try to get into it.
reviewed The Dark is Rising on + 121 more book reviews
With these mysterious words, Will Stanton discovers on his 11th birthday that he is no mere boy. He is the Sign-Seeker, last of the immortal Old Ones, destined to battle the powers of evil that trouble the land. His task is monumental: he must find and guard the six great Signs of the Light, which, when joined, will create a force strong enough to match and perhaps overcome that of the Dark. Embarking on this endeavor is dangerous as well as deeply rewarding; Will must work within a continuum of time and space much broader than he ever imagined.
reviewed The Dark is Rising on + 33 more book reviews
On the Midwinter Day that is his eleventh birthday, Will Stanton discovers a special gift - that he is the last of the Old Ones, immortals dedicated throught the ages to keeping the world from domination byt he forces of evil, the Dark.
reviewed The Dark is Rising on + 28 more book reviews
(part of a series) On his eleventh birthday, Will Stanton discovers that he is the last of the Old Ones, dedicated throughout the ages to keping the world from domination by the Dark. "in the tradition of C.S. Lewis and Tolkein"