Book Reviews of Desire (Notorious, Bk 3)

Desire (Notorious, Bk 3)
Desire - Notorious, Bk 3
Author: Nicole Jordan
ISBN-13: 9780739419540
ISBN-10: 0739419544
Publication Date: 2001
Pages: 412
Rating:
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 7

3.3 stars, based on 7 ratings
Publisher: Ivy Books
Book Type: Hardcover
Reviews: Amazon | Write a Review

14 Book Reviews submitted by our Members...sorted by voted most helpful

reviewed Desire (Notorious, Bk 3) on + 17 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 3
Flame haired Brynn's family is cursed - if the women of her family fall in love, that man will die. She's managed to avoid any entanglements by hiding out at home and taking care of her little brother until Lucien, the Earl of Wycliff (and notorious rake, of course) sees her and immediately falls in lust with her. He's decided to settle down and set up a nursery and decides that she's just the woman to help him do it and forces her to marry him. Brynn tries not to fall in love with him but it's getting harder and harder, and things are complicated by the fact that Lucien suspects her of treason when it becomes apparent that her brother's involved in some shady, possibly treasonous, smuggling. Can love conquer all, including a powerful gypsy curse?!

*** Jordan writes an uneven if entertaining story - I love stories of rakes seducing unwilling heroines and Lucien is a rake of the first order, full of charm and hotness. The writing in general, including characterization, was a bit off but that's outweighed by the fact that you really want to find out what happens to them. My big problem plot wise was why, if you're family has been cursed down the generations so the women can never fall in love without their beloved dying... Why would you ever agree to have children???!! There's a 50% chance that you're going to have a daughter and continue the vicious cycle!!! Jordan explains it partly as Brynn hoping a child would help her feel less lonely but the selfishness of that reason just made me dislike her. It would have worked better if it was explored a bit more - even if Brynn did end up deciding to risk having a daughter it would have given her a more three dimensional character rather than simply assuming a priori, with absolutely no questioning or thought, that all women, even those with gypsy curses on their entire line, would have babies.

Conclusion: Despite some weak writing and iffy characterizations an entertaining read with some delicious sexual chemistry between the hero and heroine. Recommended for a light, throw-away read.
reviewed Desire (Notorious, Bk 3) on + 22 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 2
I really enjoyed this book. If you like Nicole Jordan, you will love this book.
reviewed Desire (Notorious, Bk 3) on + 65 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 1
Lucian and Brynn's story, read The Seduction and then The Passion first.
reviewed Desire (Notorious, Bk 3) on + 64 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 1
to be honest this was not my favorite book by this author. it was a little hard to get into and harded to follow, but the characters are well developed from the pervious two books in the series and there is some very sensual scenes that are sure to get you interested in at least a portion of the book. it is one i will have to try again because i love this author and maybe i was just not in the right mind set for this book
reviewed Desire (Notorious, Bk 3) on + 244 more book reviews
From Publishers Weekly
Following in the tradition of The Seduction and The Passion, the third installment in Jordan's Regency-era Notorious series is rife with sensual love scenes and the kind of misunderstandings and misadventures typical of the genre. When English spymaster Lucian Tremayne, the Earl of Wycliff, comes across Brynn Caldwell as she's emerging from the ocean after a swim, he finds himself irresistibly drawn to her and offers for her hand in marriage. Brynn refuses, informing him of her family's curse the women in her family are doomed to lure the men who love them to their death. Unafraid of a mere curse, Lucian convinces Brynn to marry him by offering to help her family out of debt. In a plot twist familiar to Regency fans, Brynn and Lucian each struggle to keep their emotions separate from their desire for one another but, inevitably, love blossoms between the two. This overused story line is enlivened by a subplot involving a gold smuggling operation that strikes close to Lucian's home and leads him to mistrust his beguiling wife. The sex scenes here are fewer and less explicit than in Jordan's earlier entries, but the novel's intricate plot and colorful characters more than compensate. This delightful tale will please fans and newcomers alike.
reviewed Desire (Notorious, Bk 3) on + 153 more book reviews
Cornwall 1813
This is one of those stories that starts off at a climatic spot then rewinds back to the beginning. In my opinion, when books do this, it just takes longer to get into the book and grab a hold of what you like about the characters.

It was a nice story. I have not read the preceeding 2 stories, so I think it can stand alone, but references were made to other couples who are happily married.

There was the typical heroine trying to keep from falling in love with the hero in order to save his life. The slightly egotistical hero is maddly in lust/love with her and can't break through the wall she has errected as he juggles his new marriage with this work as a spymaster.

Overall, a good book to pass the time, but don't move it up to the top of the TBR list
reviewed Desire (Notorious, Bk 3) on + 373 more book reviews
A legendary lover and spymaster, the darkly sensual Earl of Wycliff eludes matrimony until a brush with death makes him yearn for a son to carry on his name. The moment Lucian spies the alluring Brynn Caldwell on a Cornish beach, he knows he has found the woman he wants for his bride.

Brynn believes the notorious rake's fascination with her is driven by a centrueies-old curse that dooms the women of family to tempt men-only to lead those they love to their death. Compelled by dire circumstances to marry Lucian, Brynn surrenders her body to his caresses but dares not give him her heart.

Locked in a battle of wills with his bewitching wife, Lucian begins to suspect that Brynn is a traitor. Before long he finds himself lured into a wev of danger and betrayal, where the price of winning his bride's elusive heart may be his own life.
reviewed Desire (Notorious, Bk 3) on + 72 more book reviews
Another good sensual romance from a good author.
reviewed Desire (Notorious, Bk 3) on + 160 more book reviews
enjoyed book, but not my favorite of the series .. looking forward to book 4 that deals with Raven
reviewed Desire (Notorious, Bk 3) on + 1217 more book reviews
Following in the tradition of The Seduction and The Passion, the third installment in Jordan's Regency-era Notorious series is rife with sensual love scenes and the kind of misunderstandings and misadventures typical of the genre. When English spymaster Lucian Tremayne, the Earl of Wycliff, comes across Brynn Caldwell as she's emerging from the ocean after a swim, he finds himself irresistibly drawn to her and offers for her hand in marriage. Brynn refuses, informing him of her family's curse the women in her family are doomed to lure the men who love them to their death. Unafraid of a mere curse, Lucian convinces Brynn to marry him by offering to help her family out of debt. In a plot twist familiar to Regency fans, Brynn and Lucian each struggle to keep their emotions separate from their desire for one another but, inevitably, love blossoms between the two. This overused story line is enlivened by a subplot involving a gold smuggling operation that strikes close to Lucian's home and leads him to mistrust his beguiling wife. The sex scenes here are fewer and less explicit than in Jordan's earlier entries, but the novel's intricate plot and colorful characters more than compensate. This delightful tale will please fans and newcomers alike.
reviewed Desire (Notorious, Bk 3) on + 280 more book reviews
From the back over...

A legendary lover and spymaster, the darkly sensual Lucian, Earl of Wycliff, eludes matrimony until a brush with death makes him yearn for a son to carry on his name. The moment Lucian spies the alluring Brynn Caldwell on a Cornish beach, he knows he has found the woman he wants for his bride.

Brynn believes that the notorious rake's fascination with her is driven by a centuries-old curse that dooms the women of her family to tempt men-only to lead those they love to their death. Compelled by dire circumstances to marry Lucian, Brynn surrenders her body to his caresses but dares not give him her heart.

Locked in a battle of wills with his bewitching wife, Lucian begins to suspect the Brynn is a traitor. Before long he finds himself lured into a web of danger and betrayal, where the price of winning his bride's elusive heart may be his own life.
reviewed Desire (Notorious, Bk 3) on + 14 more book reviews
A legendary lover and spymaster, the darkly sensual Earl of Wycliff edules matrimony until a brush with death makes him yearn for a son to carry on his name. The moment Lucian spies the alluring Brynn Caldwell on a Cornish beach, he knows he has found the woman he wants for his bride.

Brynn believes the notorious rake's fascination with her is driven by a centuries-old curse that dooms the women of her family to tempt men-only to lead those they love to their death. Compelled by dire circumstances to marry Lucian, Brynn surrenders her body to his caresses but dares not give him her heart.

Locked in a battle of wills with his bewitching wife, Lucian begins to suspect that Brynn is a traitor. Before long he finds himself lured into a web of danger and betrayal, where the price of winning his bride's elusive heart may be his own life.
reviewed Desire (Notorious, Bk 3) on
I love this series. I really get into the story and feel like I there seeing and hearing it go on....
reviewed Desire (Notorious, Bk 3) on + 5 more book reviews
A legendary lover and spymaster, the darkly sensual Earl of Wycliff eludes matrimony until a brush with death makes him yearn for a son to carry on his name. The moment Lucian spies the alluring Brynn Caldwell on a Cornish beach, he knows he knows he found the woman he wants for his bride.