Discussion Forums - Paranormal

Topic: Devil at Midnight (+Angel at Dawn) by Emma Holly

Club rule - Please, if you cannot be courteous and respectful, do not post in this forum.
  Unlock Forum posting with Annual Membership.
Subject: Devil at Midnight (+Angel at Dawn) by Emma Holly
Date Posted: 12/4/2010 4:16 PM ET
Member Since: 8/22/2005
Posts: 1,103
Back To Top

02/14/11 note - added information about the sequel, Angel at Dawn.

I'm really hopeful others who have read this book will enter into a discussion, so this thread is likely to contain spoilers.

Devil at Midnight (Novel of the Upyr)

From Publishers Weekly

Launching a duology, Holly weaves together vampire lore, time travel, and uninhibited passion. 1950s teenager Grace Michaels is killed by her abusive father. She awakens in a place between life and death, from which a spirit guide sends her back in time to 1460. Mercenary Christian Durand is surprised by Grace's ghostly appearance, but that doesn't stop him from initiating unconventional sexual encounters with the generically innocent yet oddly worldly young woman. Her rival for Christian's attention is upyr (vampire) queen Nim Wei, who sexually manipulates Christian's band of warriors and makes a deal with Christian's cruel father in hopes of seducing Christian into being her undead companion forever. Explicit scenes of promiscuous sex and violence, sometimes in close proximity, will appeal to fans of Charlaine Harris and Laurell K. Hamilton, but may put off readers of more traditional romance.

Product Description

For years, mercenary captain Christian Durand has done everything he can to protect his men. When a beautiful ghost appears to offer comfort, he assumes the strain has finally pushed him over the edge. All he knows for certain is that this woman tugs at both his heart and desires. But now that a vampire queen has set her immortal sights on Christian, he must choose between his darker urges and a powerful love that spans centuries.



Last Edited on: 2/13/11 2:56 PM ET - Total times edited: 4
Date Posted: 12/4/2010 4:18 PM ET
Member Since: 8/22/2005
Posts: 1,103
Back To Top

Okay - so those of you who have read this..what did you think?

I was just totally floored, and not really in a good way.  The "twist" at the end seemed bizarre to me and made me think, "I just spent the two hours reading this story for THIS??"

Comments?



Last Edited on: 12/4/10 4:21 PM ET - Total times edited: 2
Date Posted: 12/10/2010 11:33 AM ET
Member Since: 4/29/2009
Posts: 7,893
Back To Top

Hi Jo, just ran across your post, and I have this book but haven't read it yet.  I will read this weekend and post again if you are still interested???

Date Posted: 12/14/2010 4:50 PM ET
Member Since: 8/22/2005
Posts: 1,103
Back To Top

Yes! I'm still very interested in any discussion on this. Thanks!

Date Posted: 12/14/2010 5:04 PM ET
Member Since: 4/29/2009
Posts: 7,893
Back To Top

I just read the book, and although I found it different from the rest of the series, I still liked it.  I think the twist at the end has to do with the upcoming book, so basically it was a cliff hanger.....  Anyway, you knew Christian had a difficult beginning to his life from the things that he did in the earlier books.  I'm curious to see how Ms Holly will make it all come together.  I'd LOVE to hear more of your thoughts!

Date Posted: 2/13/2011 2:42 PM ET
Member Since: 8/22/2005
Posts: 1,103
Back To Top

Angel at Dawn (Jan 4, 2011)

Just finished reading the sequel this weekend.  I have to admit I liked it.  In hindsight, it would have been fun to get both books and read them back to back in one weekend. 

No woman should forget her soulmate, yet Grace Gladwell remembers nothing of Christian Durand, the medieval soldier she captivated during a fractured moment in time—when she was just a specter, a heartbeat away from death. Then, Grace could have been Christian’s savior. Now, she’s a symbol of more betrayals than he can count. He knows he’d be better off not remembering . . . except for the scrap of his broken heart that still longs to believe in her.

Christian certainly shouldn’t get tangled up with his other nemesis, Nim Wei. Five hundred years haven’t made the vampire queen any more trustworthy. Now she wants to rule Hollywood as a film director, with Christian her next big star. Grace is her secret weapon in recruiting Christian to take the role. Hoping to direct herself, Grace has been playing unwitting student to Nim Wei’s seemingly kind mentor. One encounter with Christian’s smoldering bad-boy charisma convinces Grace her teacher is even smarter than she gave her credit for.

Too bad for all of them that fiction—and film—can be as strange as truth. Nothing and no one are what they seem in this seductive vampire movie, least of all the people who are trying to survive making it.

Subject: Ages/appearances threw me off a bit
Date Posted: 2/13/2011 2:53 PM ET
Member Since: 8/22/2005
Posts: 1,103
Back To Top

I do have some trouble getting into the ages/appearances of the main characters. In the first book I think Christian was about 20 and Grace 17 or 18.  But most of the plot was set in the 1400's where age spans were much less and people were long considered adults by the point.  Christian was an established mercenary and Grace was a girl on the brink of womanhood, still finding her way.

In the second book, Grace is 24, working as an assistant to a film director and moving into directing herself.  Christian, while centuries old, looks about 20 and is playing a teen-age vampire in B-movie.

I'm glad it was a book and not a movie, so I could supply my own visualizations as I couldn't get into the images of this 20-year old (looking) boy and 24-year girl as characters.

I like my characters to have some physical maturity as well as life experiences.  The vampire-turned-early so trapped in a teen (or barely out of teen) body for all eternity isn't one of my favorites. 

 



Last Edited on: 2/13/11 2:54 PM ET - Total times edited: 1