Search - List of Books by Elizabeth Hamilton

Elizabeth Hamilton (July 25, 1756?—1816) was a British essayist, poet, satirist and novelist. Born in Belfast to Charles Hamilton (d.1759), a Scottish merchant, and his wife Katherine Mackay (d.1767), she lived most of her life in Scotland, dying in Harrogate in England after a short illness.

Her first literary efforts were directed in supporting her brother Charles in his orientalist and linguistic studies. After his death in 1792 she continued to publish orientalist scholarship, as well as historical, educationalist and theoretical works. She wrote The Cottagers of Glenburnie (1808), a tale which had much popularity in its day, and perhaps had some effect in the improvement of certain aspects of humble domestic life in Scotland. She also wrote the satirical novel Memoirs of Modern Philosophers (1800), and the anti-Jacobin Letters of a Hindoo Rajah in 1796, a work in the tradition of Montesquieu and Goldsmith. Her most important pedagogical works are: Letters on Education, Essays on the Human Mind (1796), Letters on the Elementary Principles of Education (1801),Letters addressed to the Daughter of a Nobleman, on the Formation of Religious and Moral Principle (1806), and Hints addressed to the Patrons and Directors of Schools (1815).
This author page uses material from the Wikipedia article "Elizabeth Hamilton", which is released under the Creative Commons Attribution-Share-Alike License 3.0
Total Books: 110
Oscar Heyman The Jewelers Jeweler
2017 - Oscar Heyman the Jewelers Jeweler (Hardcover)
ISBN-13: 9780878468362
ISBN-10: 0878468366
Genre: Arts & Photography
  ?

Letters on the Elementary Principles of Education Vol 1 of 2
2016 - Letters on the Elementary Principles of Education Vol 1 of 2 [Classic Reprint] (Paperback)
ISBN-13: 9781331156550
ISBN-10: 1331156556
Genres: History, Self-Help, Education & Teaching
  ?

Quilting Crash Course - The Ultimate Beginner's Course to Learning How to Quilt In Under 12 Hours - Including Quick Projects  Detailed Images
Sewing Crash Course - The Ultimate Beginner's Course to Learning How to Sew In Under 12 Hours - Including Quick Projects  Detailed Images
Crochet Crash Course - The Ultimate Beginner's Course to Learning How to Crochet In Under 12 Hours - Including Quick Projects  Detailed Images
The Jewels of Trabert  Hoeffer-Mauboussin
2014 - The Jewels of Trabert Hoeffer-mauboussin (Hardcover)
ISBN-13: 9780878468119
ISBN-10: 0878468110
Genres: Arts & Photography, Crafts, Hobbies & Home
  ?

Bridgetina Ou Les Philosophes Modernes Volume 1
2011 - Bridgetina Ou Les Philosophes Modernes Volume 1 [French Edition] (Paperback)
ISBN-13: 9781271392209
ISBN-10: 1271392208
  ?

The Cottagers of Glenburnie And Other Educational Writings
2010 - The Cottagers of Glenburnie and Other Educational Writings [ASLS Annual Volumes] (Hardcover)Paperback
ISBN-13: 9780948877858
ISBN-10: 0948877855
  ?

Translation of the Letters of a Hindoo Rajah  to Which Is Prefixed a Dissertation On the History Religion and Manners of the Hindoos Volume 2
Memoirs of the Late Mrs Elizabeth Hamilton With a Selection from Her Correspondence and Other Unpublished Writings Volume 2
The Cottagers of Glenburnie
2010 - The Cottagers of Glenburnie (Paperback)Paperback, Hardcover
ISBN-13: 9781142489762
ISBN-10: 1142489760
  ?

Memoirs of Modern Philosophers
2010 - Memoirs of Modern Philosophers (Paperback)Paperback, Hardcover
ISBN-13: 9781142562373
ISBN-10: 1142562379
  ?

Letters On the Elementary Principles of Education Volume 2
2010 - Letters on the Elementary Principles of Education Volume 2 (Paperback)Paperback
ISBN-13: 9781142842383
ISBN-10: 114284238X
  ?

A Series of Popular Essays Illustrative of Principles Essentially Connected With the Improvement of the Understanding the Imagination and
Memoirs of the Life of Agrippina the Wife of Germanicus
2010 - Memoirs of the Life of Agrippina the Wife of Germanicus [Volume 1] (Paperback)
ISBN-13: 9781152412132
ISBN-10: 1152412132
  ?

1999 - Translations of the Letters of a Hindoo Rajah [Broadview Literary Texts] (Other)Paperback
1999 - Letters of a Hindoo Rajah [Broadview Literary Texts] (Paperback)
1956 - Caves [The First Book of Series] (Other)Hardcover
Conduct Literature for Women 1770-1830 [Contents: Letters on the Elementary Principles of Education by Elizabeth Hamilton, 3rd ed, 1803, Vol. II] (Hardcover)