Book Reviews of The Empty Copper Sea (Travis McGee, Bk 17)

The Empty Copper Sea (Travis McGee, Bk 17)
The Empty Copper Sea - Travis McGee, Bk 17
Author: John D. Macdonald
ISBN-13: 9780449133330
ISBN-10: 0449133338
Publication Date: 5/12/1987
Rating:
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 12

4.2 stars, based on 12 ratings
Publisher: Fawcett Gold Medal
Book Type: Paperback
Reviews: Amazon | Write a Review

6 Book Reviews submitted by our Members...sorted by voted most helpful

reviewed The Empty Copper Sea (Travis McGee, Bk 17) on + 813 more book reviews
An interesting book by another underrated, lost, and almost forgotten novelist. This one is murder mystery in the vein of Mary Roberts Rinehart, Dorothy L. Sayers, Dashiell Hammett, and Raymond Chandler. One of the Travis McGee novels all titled to include a hue from the color spectrum. McGee, something other than a professional detective, has the qualities of a Sam Spade, or Philip Marlowe, bedding down the best of the dames (although not all of themhe does pass on some), but always with a more polished prose. The author, always the sociological sexologist, is up to tune. Not a shabby read for a quiet evening or two.
reviewed The Empty Copper Sea (Travis McGee, Bk 17) on
(Travis McGee mystery)Travis sets out to clear the name of Van Harder who is thought to have murdered his boss. McGee ends up in Mexico looking for a man and not sure if he is dead or hiding out in his old hometown. The investigation soon becomes a fight for Travis to stay alive...as the hometown crowd is very nasty.
reviewed The Empty Copper Sea (Travis McGee, Bk 17) on + 82 more book reviews
This author is bar-none, one of the best out there! This is an exciting mystery, a true John MacDonald classic!
reviewed The Empty Copper Sea (Travis McGee, Bk 17) on + 2 more book reviews
A Travis McGee tale...
reviewed The Empty Copper Sea (Travis McGee, Bk 17) on + 70 more book reviews
The whole family loved the Travis McGee books back in the day. Travis is a strong protagonist with a lovable sidekick, both living on boats along the Florida coast. Travis always loves the ladies and gets into some heavy trouble every time. He's awesome!
reviewed The Empty Copper Sea (Travis McGee, Bk 17) on + 44 more book reviews
This is part of a series written mid-20th-Century and is therefore dated. It has interesting characters, dialog reminiscent of old 50s movies, and social mores that can drive a real feminist bonkers.

But hey.....once you get into a series.

Can't explain it otherwise. The stories are good, but Travis wears on ya after 4 or 5 of these novels. Makes you long for good old Kinsey Milhone!