Search - The Ex

The Ex
The Ex
Author: Alafair Burke
In this breakout standalone novel of suspense in the vein of Gone Girl and The Girl on a Train, a woman agrees to help an old boyfriend who has been framed for murder -- but begins to suspect that she is the one being manipulated. — Twenty years ago she ruined his life. Now she has the chance to save it....  more »
ISBN-13: 9780062390486
ISBN-10: 0062390481
Publication Date: 1/26/2016
Pages: 400
Rating:
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 15

3.4 stars, based on 15 ratings
Publisher: Harper
Book Type: Hardcover
Other Versions: Paperback, Audio CD
Members Wishing: 66
Reviews: Member | Amazon | Write a Review
Read All 3 Book Reviews of "The Ex"

Please Log in to Rate these Book Reviews

reviewed The Ex on + 1255 more book reviews
Jack Harris' wife was murdered several years ago and although he says he has moved on in his life, mainly because of his teenage daughter, Buckley, he clearly has not. His file cabinets are full of case files relating to the man who he feels was responsible. When that man is shot dead, along with two others, during Jack's attempt to meet a woman he met online, he is their prime suspect.

Olivia Randall used to date Jack back in the day. They were together several years until Olivia did something that has left a tarnish of guilt on her life ever since. When she sees that Jack has been arrested, she decides to represent him as his lawyer. She knows Jack is innocent. But the man she used to know, or thought she knew, may not be the same.

Filled with twists and turns, The Ex flashes back to Jack and Olivia's past to help authenticate their current relationship and provide contrast to the differences of how they have changed and grown over the years. While this is important to the story, it doesn't deflect from the current events of Olivia delving into the investigation to prove that Jack is innocent.

While I wasn't surprised by the ending, I was surprised with the repercussions of some character decisions on the facts of the case. Or in this case, the lack of...in some instances. I didn't connect with any characters, which really bothered me because I really didn't care who did it. But I had to know why, so I continued my journey with The Ex.

If you're looking for a standard murder mystery, then The Ex is worth a go. But if you're looking for the darker side of a thriller, you won't find that thrill here.


Genres: