Book Reviews of The Expected One (Magdalene Line, Bk 1)

The Expected One (Magdalene Line, Bk 1)
The Expected One - Magdalene Line, Bk 1
Author: Kathleen McGowan
ISBN-13: 9780743299428
ISBN-10: 0743299426
Publication Date: 7/25/2006
Pages: 464
Rating:
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 100

3.8 stars, based on 100 ratings
Publisher: Touchstone
Book Type: Hardcover
Reviews: Amazon | Write a Review

33 Book Reviews submitted by our Members...sorted by voted most helpful

reviewed The Expected One (Magdalene Line, Bk 1) on + 524 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 5
WOW!!! A must-read for fans of books like The DaVinci Code, Angels and Demons, and The Last Cato.

This book centers around the theory that Mary Magdalene was Jesus's wife and that they had children. An American journalist begins to investigate the theory and is soon swept up in a world once unknown to her. Soon, she comes to the conclusion that she is the Chosen One to unlock the secret hiding place of Mary's Gospel.

This book is the first in an upcoming series. I can't wait for the second one!
reviewed The Expected One (Magdalene Line, Bk 1) on + 99 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 4
This was an amazing book. I expected it to be among the likes of the DaVinci Code, and some parts were. But it was a very deep and moving novel, of an author who discovers the Magdalene Scrolls and explores the life of Mary Magdalene and her life with Jesus. It gave incredible insights as to what her life was like. The theories explained within were impressive, and I very much enjoyed how the author used her own experiences and her research to create a story of color and richness.
I never imagined there were so many societies, secret and not, theories, ideas and beliefs out there regarding Jesus Christ and his life, his family and his following.
It brought new insights to me, and I'll carry with me the most truthful quote I have read in a very, very long time. "History is not what happened. History is what was written down."
reviewed The Expected One (Magdalene Line, Bk 1) on + 384 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 3
this well written book about the secrets of Mary Magdalene and other secret societies talks of the Expected One.Maureen Pascal stumbles upon these things and you follow her thru this exciting journey to find the gospels of Mary Magdalene.
What makes the book even better is the Afterword. the author describes her 20 years of discovery and how it affected her life. very interesting.
reviewed The Expected One (Magdalene Line, Bk 1) on + 5 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 2
Awesome story of Mary Magdalene. I didn't know until I read the afterword that it's based on 2 decades of research by the author and that some of the events are from her own life. Very good reading... can't wait to read the 2nd in the trilogy.
reviewed The Expected One (Magdalene Line, Bk 1) on + 270 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 2
Wonderful book, very much like the DaVinci code. I stayed up until 3am the other night to finish it. Highly recommended!
reviewed The Expected One (Magdalene Line, Bk 1) on + 33 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 1
This book is fictional account of Mary Magdalene's long lost written gospel. There is mystery and adventure included with the fictional account of her life with Jesus and the apostles. Easy reading and another fascinating look into what some believe was the real story. History is what is written, not necessarily what happened. Excellent read
reviewed The Expected One (Magdalene Line, Bk 1) on + 114 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 1
A novel about what happened after Christ's cruxification; told not by an apostle but by Mary Magdalene as revealed to a modern-day feminist historian.
reviewed The Expected One (Magdalene Line, Bk 1) on + 250 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 1
Utter hogwash. I'm not uber-religious, and I enjoyed "DaVinci Code" as pure entertainment, but this was just riding on the coat-tails of Dan Brown.
Seriously poorly written. Does every character need to "sob"? Does every character's face have to be "bathed with tears"? Honestly. My creative writing students could do better than some of the schlock McGowan tries to force down our throats.
While a somewhat interesting alterna-view of Mary Magdalene, save your time and skip this, unless you like to giggle a lot while reading supposedly serious prose.
reviewed The Expected One (Magdalene Line, Bk 1) on + 52 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 1
This a thought provoking book for those who were intrigued and not offended by the premises put forth in The DiVinci Code, I think this is a must read!
reviewed The Expected One (Magdalene Line, Bk 1) on + 3 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 1
This book was one of the best I have read in some time!
reviewed The Expected One (Magdalene Line, Bk 1) on
Helpful Score: 1
Absolutely wonderful! After I read it my daughter read it in less than 24 hours. It's a real page turner and written with such conviction. Can't wait for the next one in the series.
reviewed The Expected One (Magdalene Line, Bk 1) on + 60 more book reviews
Fabulous,intriguing story. Listened to it on CD, and hated to leave the car!
reviewed The Expected One (Magdalene Line, Bk 1) on + 3 more book reviews
Good book, in the same line as the Dan Brown novels.
reviewed The Expected One (Magdalene Line, Bk 1) on
This is the first book I read that is religious in its own way. The way it grabs your attention is unlike any other. I can visualize her dreams almost like if I where the one having them. I recommend this to anyone who likes a little mystery.
reviewed The Expected One (Magdalene Line, Bk 1) on + 11 more book reviews
This starts a little slow but becomes thought provoking once the characters are established. I wouldn't call this a feminists' point of view, it is more of an alternative option. The narrator does an excellent job.
reviewed The Expected One (Magdalene Line, Bk 1) on + 5 more book reviews
I absolutely loved this book. I actually ordered the sequel. It is so interesting and thought provoking. It stretches the historical fiction a bit at the end but still gives great food for thought.
reviewed The Expected One (Magdalene Line, Bk 1) on + 281 more book reviews
This book, along with it's sister-book The Book of Love, are both beautifully written testaments to the author's belief. Though these ARE works of fiction, they both gave me food for thought and another viewpoint to consider. Neither of them have the heart-stopping suspense found in The DaVinci Code; but they certainly have more feeling and heart than found in other popular Mary/Wife fiction in the field today. Because of these two books, I can hardly wait to read the third of the series - The Poet Prince.
reviewed The Expected One (Magdalene Line, Bk 1) on + 3 more book reviews
Loved it! Found it difficult to put down. Similar in style and scope to "DaVinci Code" and equally wonderful. Having well researched work to explain and include a divine feminine perspective on Chrsitianity is a gift.
reviewed The Expected One (Magdalene Line, Bk 1) on + 6 more book reviews
This book was interesting and followed the ideology expressed in some other books I have read set in the Languedoc area of France. There was suspense and intrigue in the book. Quite a different take on the same theme of Mary Magdalene and Jesus. Worth a read for the open minded individual.
reviewed The Expected One (Magdalene Line, Bk 1) on + 9 more book reviews
Yes I loved this book! I've ordered the second in the trilogy. I was constantly looking historical items up on my iPad to see what really happened and thrilled to learn more about Mary Magdlene and the separation of practice between Jesus and John the Baptist. I am not a religious person and have for a long time believed that religion has been used to gain something other than any kind of spiritual awareness. This book affirmed my feelings.
reviewed The Expected One (Magdalene Line, Bk 1) on
A good read
reviewed The Expected One (Magdalene Line, Bk 1) on + 57 more book reviews
I loved this book. It was recommended by a friend. Very intriguing tale. Great history of biblical days, from a woman's point of view, and makes you wonder what stories are true and what is fiction.
reviewed The Expected One (Magdalene Line, Bk 1) on + 3 more book reviews
The story of Mary Magdalene told in an interwoven tale between the past & present. This book encompasses the beauty and the grace while leaving you on the edge of your seat. Try reading it on a long holiday weekend so that you can savor it to the fullest.
reviewed The Expected One (Magdalene Line, Bk 1) on + 74 more book reviews
Journalist Maureen Pascal begins researching a new book and finds herself immersed in the mystical cultures of southwest France and the legend of Mary Magdalene. She has had visions all of her life and now she begins to put the pieces together, she and many others are descendants of the marriage between Mary Magdalen and Jesus. There is a hostile sect that reveres John the Baptist as the true messiah and will do what ever it takes to disavow the Magdalene group and keep Maureen who has been anointed The Expected One from finding the gospels Mary wrote. The book is rather interesting with its discussions of symbols in great Renaissance paintings and dredges up stories that have been played out in other books of this sort. This is the first of a planned trilogy.

Fundamentalists and evangelicals among other may find the entire premise of the book sacrilegious.
reviewed The Expected One (Magdalene Line, Bk 1) on + 28 more book reviews
Great story, can't wait for the second book of this trilogy to come out!
reviewed The Expected One (Magdalene Line, Bk 1) on + 281 more book reviews
An ancient prophecy predicts the arrival of "The Expected One", a woman who is destined to bring Mary Magdalene's gospel to the world. When Maureen Pascal stumbles into a dangerous and secret world of people who will fight to the death to keep-or to destroy-one of the world's most powerful secrets, she also discovers that the ancient prophecy points directly to her.
reviewed The Expected One (Magdalene Line, Bk 1) on + 203 more book reviews
2000 years ago, Mary Magdalene hid a set of scrollsin the foothills of the French Pyrenees, a gospel that contained her own verson of the events and characters of the New Testament. This included the story of her marriage to Jesus of Nazareth. A good read. An interesting premise.
reviewed The Expected One (Magdalene Line, Bk 1) on + 12 more book reviews
one of my all time favorite books you must have an open mind for different perspective, on the relationship of Jesus and Mary. There are two stories in this book you will not be disappointed
reviewed The Expected One (Magdalene Line, Bk 1) on + 12 more book reviews
I, too, stayed up all night reading this one. Superbly written and much better than the DC.
reviewed The Expected One (Magdalene Line, Bk 1) on + 207 more book reviews
I liked this even more than the DaVinci Code!
reviewed The Expected One (Magdalene Line, Bk 1) on + 355 more book reviews
Another take on the Mary Magdalene bloodline theme. Good plot but somewhat schmaltzy.
reviewed The Expected One (Magdalene Line, Bk 1) on + 20 more book reviews
Very interesting concept.
reviewed The Expected One (Magdalene Line, Bk 1) on + 117 more book reviews
Very informative book. Keeps you interested.