Book Reviews of Fade Away (Myron Bolitar, Bk 3)

Fade Away (Myron Bolitar, Bk 3)
Fade Away - Myron Bolitar, Bk 3
Author: Harlan Coben
ISBN-13: 9780440222682
ISBN-10: 0440222680
Publication Date: 1998
Pages: 358
Rating:
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 273

4 stars, based on 273 ratings
Publisher: Dell
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
Reviews: Amazon | Write a Review

35 Book Reviews submitted by our Members...sorted by voted most helpful

reviewed Fade Away (Myron Bolitar, Bk 3) on + 26 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 4
If you've never read Harlan Coben, you're in for a real treat! He is definitely one of my favorites. Fast paced, with so many twists and turns it's always a surprise. You won't want to put this one down till you finish!
reviewed Fade Away (Myron Bolitar, Bk 3) on + 15 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 3
I found Harlan Coben just last year and have read every single book he has on the market. I love his writing and the way he builds his characters. It is an absolute pleasure to read his books in order and see their progression.

originally I thought the sports aspect would be a turn-off for me, but it has so little to do with the story that it didn't bother me at all.

If you're looking for a quick, good, fun read, this is the book for you.
reviewed Fade Away (Myron Bolitar, Bk 3) on + 257 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 2
Love me some Myron! The narrator of this series is so right on, makes me laugh and brings tears to my eyes. This one has a bittersweet twist with Myron going onto the NBA court and his peeps fearing for his tender heart.
reviewed Fade Away (Myron Bolitar, Bk 3) on + 207 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 1
Another good "who dunnit" book, with Sports Agent Myron Bolitar and his sidekick, Win. Myron manages to return to his first true love, basketball, in order to find why superstar and personal enemy Greg Downing has disappeared. As usual, there are many twists and surprises in the book. There's a body (not Greg's!) and some humor. I didn't figure it out until the last 20 pages just who the culprit was.

No author keeps me on the edge of my seat like Harlan Coben. I gave it 5 & 1/2 stars!
reviewed Fade Away (Myron Bolitar, Bk 3) on + 142 more book reviews
The best Bolitar so far. This one really hits home for Myron. Very much worth the read!
reviewed Fade Away (Myron Bolitar, Bk 3) on + 314 more book reviews
Another great Coben.
reviewed Fade Away (Myron Bolitar, Bk 3) on + 105 more book reviews
I am reading this series in order and haven't been disappointed yet. Coben hasn't let me down yet in this series or his stand alones.
reviewed Fade Away (Myron Bolitar, Bk 3) on + 143 more book reviews
The Edgar Award-winning Fade Away begins in a home that's top-notch New Jersey suburban. The living room is Martha Stewart. The basement is Legos..and blood. When professional basketball player Greg Downing disappears, the evidence doesn't bode well. Soon, Myron is returning to professional basketball with the New Jersey Dragons after being sidelined by an injury ten years ago...in order to search for Greg. Now, among the stars, the wannabes, the gamblers and groupies, Myron is unraveling the strange, violent life of a sports hero gone wrong, and coming face-to-face with a past he can't relive..and a present he may not survive.

In One False Move, Myron is asked to keep an eye on the star of the new women's basketball league who's been receiving threats on her life. Myron takes on the seemingly innocuous task, figuring he'll pick up the star as a new client. But soon her quiet strength has him falling for her terrible story..the mother who disappeared twenty years before and the father who was recently discovered murdered..as he plunges headlong into the case. The truth resides at the end of a twisting trail of lies, lust, and murder..and one false move will cost both of them their lives.
reviewed Fade Away (Myron Bolitar, Bk 3) on + 24 more book reviews
This is one of Cobens earlier books. I have read quite a few of his older books and I enjoyed them all. I especially enjoyed Fade Away and recommend reading it.
reviewed Fade Away (Myron Bolitar, Bk 3) on + 93 more book reviews
Not as good as most of his books.
reviewed Fade Away (Myron Bolitar, Bk 3) on + 9 more book reviews
My favorite so far.
If you have teenagers at home you need to read
this book. The plot get a little twisted but
easy enough to follow.
reviewed Fade Away (Myron Bolitar, Bk 3) on + 507 more book reviews
Book Description
In novels that crackle with wit and suspense, Harlan Coben has created one of the most fascinating heroes in suspense fiction: the wisecracking, tenderhearted sports agent Myron Bolitar. In this gripping third novel in the acclaimed series, Myron must confront a past that is dead and buried--and more dangerous than ever before.

The home is top-notch New Jersey suburban. The living room is Martha Stewart. The basement is Legos--and blood. The signs of a violent struggle. For Myron Bolitar, the disappearance of a man he once competed against is bringing back memories--of the sport he and Greg Downing had both played and the woman they both loved. Now, among the stars, the wannabes, the gamblers, and the groupies, Myron is embarking upon the strange ride of a sports hero gone wrong that just may lead to certain death. Namely, his own.

My Review
I thoroughly enjoyed this 3rd book in the Myron Bolitar series. Interesting characters and a exciting plot keeps the pages turning until the end. Coben also gives us some back history about Myron's college years and how his basketball career injury happened. The witty dialogue between Win and Myron adds much humor to the book. There's also that great twist at the end where the character you least suspect is the bad guy. I can't wait to read the next book in the series as Harlan Coben does not disappoint.
reviewed Fade Away (Myron Bolitar, Bk 3) on + 11 more book reviews
Another Fine piece of story telling by Mr. Coben, I love

Myron and Winston the 3rd.
reviewed Fade Away (Myron Bolitar, Bk 3) on + 1317 more book reviews
Sports Agent Myron Bolitar is asked to find missing Basketball player Greg Downing who disappeared without a word five days ago. The owner of the team as told everyone that Greg is in seclusion nursing an injury; but he has asked Myron to take Greg's place on the team while questioning teammates and groupies about the disappearance. This is Myron's chance to relive his NBA dreams while uncovering the secret's of Greg's life, including gambling, blackmail, and a dead body.

This was another great addition to Coben's Myron Bolitar series. It's an entertaining mystery with many suspects and lots of twists and turns. I kept trying to guess the villain and changed my mind a half-dozen times. This story had me stumped...and I loved it. My rating: 5 Stars.
reviewed Fade Away (Myron Bolitar, Bk 3) on + 23 more book reviews
Good book! Unable to figure out "who dunnit!"
reviewed Fade Away (Myron Bolitar, Bk 3) on + 2149 more book reviews
These are such great characters, one minute you're serious and the next minute you are laughing about the unlikely combination of these people.
reviewed Fade Away (Myron Bolitar, Bk 3) on + 99 more book reviews
Another great Harlan Coben book. Myron and WIn are great in this book. It is very hard to put down once you start reading as you just can't figure out what is going on. It also has some humor and romance as well as murder and mayham. A great book!
reviewed Fade Away (Myron Bolitar, Bk 3) on + 4 more book reviews
It was hard to put this one down - I'm hooked on the Myron Bolitar series!
reviewed Fade Away (Myron Bolitar, Bk 3) on + 105 more book reviews
Everything you love about the Bolitar series:
- an overarching sports theme
- rogue private investigation of a farfetched mystery
- big brother Win always looking out for Myron
- Esperanza (and now Cindi) around to provide sarcasm and comedy

Characters and familiarity makes it fun. The plot is secondary.

3.5 stars out of 5
reviewed Fade Away (Myron Bolitar, Bk 3) on + 227 more book reviews
Myron Bolitar, sports agent, has to look for clues to the disappearance of Basketball star Greg Downing. Fast paced, I couldn't put it down.
reviewed Fade Away (Myron Bolitar, Bk 3) on + 13 more book reviews
Quick to read, fun I recommend
reviewed Fade Away (Myron Bolitar, Bk 3) on + 69 more book reviews
Coben is a fine author
reviewed Fade Away (Myron Bolitar, Bk 3) on
If you are a Coben fan, you know what to expect! Great book! Fast action and snappy languaging. An enjoyable 'read'!
reviewed Fade Away (Myron Bolitar, Bk 3) on + 112 more book reviews
quick read! great ending! one of the best bolitar books so far.
reviewed Fade Away (Myron Bolitar, Bk 3) on + 17 more book reviews
Another great Myron Bolitar story...
reviewed Fade Away (Myron Bolitar, Bk 3) on + 51 more book reviews
Perfect for fans of Su Grafton
reviewed Fade Away (Myron Bolitar, Bk 3) on + 23 more book reviews
I hate letting go of my beloved early Harlan Coben's but if someone out there will enjoy them just as much....Myron Bolitar is quite a character.
reviewed Fade Away (Myron Bolitar, Bk 3) on + 111 more book reviews
Another Harlan Coben book that's is so hard to put down. He's one of the best!
reviewed Fade Away (Myron Bolitar, Bk 3) on + 10 more book reviews
You'll find yourself wanting more Myron.
reviewed Fade Away (Myron Bolitar, Bk 3) on + 16 more book reviews
I liked this a more than the first in the series, Deal Breaker. It had an entertaining plot with enough humor from Myron, insight into his relationship with Jessica, Esperanza, Win, and his parents, to satisfy. There were tell-tale characeristic plot double and triple twists toward the end, a tactic I recognize (and dislike) from Coben's standalones, but they work here.
reviewed Fade Away (Myron Bolitar, Bk 3) on + 52 more book reviews
The one with Greg Downing
reviewed Fade Away (Myron Bolitar, Bk 3) on + 71 more book reviews
This is a really good book. It is #3 in the Myron Bolitar series. Myron gets to play a bit of Pro-basketball and learns more about what happened back when he got the knee injury that ended his career.
reviewed Fade Away (Myron Bolitar, Bk 3) on + 8 more book reviews
An enjoyable read.
reviewed Fade Away (Myron Bolitar, Bk 3) on + 114 more book reviews
I really enjoy his books.
reviewed Fade Away (Myron Bolitar, Bk 3) on
The home was top-notch New Jersey suburban. The living room was Martha Stewart. The basement was Legosand blood. For sports agent Myron Bolitar, the disappearance of a man he'd once competed against was bringing back memoriesof the sport he and Greg Downing had both played and the woman they both loved. Now, among the stars, the wanna-bes, the gamblers and groupies, Myron is unraveling the strange, violent life of a sports hero gone wrong, and coming face-to-face with a past he can't relive, and a present he may not survive.
Another great Myron Bolitar book....don't miss it.