Discussion Forums - Love & Romance Love & Romance

Topic: Fans of Elizabeth Hoyt, Jo Beverly, etc.

Club rule - Please, if you cannot be courteous and respectful, do not post in this forum.
  Unlock Forum posting with Annual Membership.
Subject: Fans of Elizabeth Hoyt, Jo Beverly, etc.
Date Posted: 12/17/2007 10:06 PM ET
Member Since: 2/19/2007
Posts: 13
Back To Top

If you like smart, fun, not run-of-the-mill historical romances, you HAVE to try If His Kiss is Wicked by Jo Goodman!  I just finished it in record time, and it was so, so, SO good.  I just can't recommend it highly enough!

Date Posted: 12/18/2007 6:01 AM ET
Member Since: 6/24/2005
Posts: 356
Back To Top

Ditto, that, Alison, that's my top book of the year. 

Since you like that so much, you might try Untouched by Anna Campbell, which is just as good, though a different story, and is now another top read of the year for me.  The hero is also not an alpha, yet strong in other ways, kind and caring.  I often find myself liking those aggressive and/or tortured heros, yet these two appeal to me just as much.

Date Posted: 12/18/2007 12:59 PM ET
Member Since: 2/19/2007
Posts: 13
Back To Top

Thank you so much for the recommendation, Pam!  I will definitely check it out.  I love romances that feature characters that are not the typical stereotypes.  That's why these authors are on my must read list! 

Madeline Hunter is excellent also.  I think I've only come across one of hers that I would consider a dud.

 

Date Posted: 12/18/2007 4:32 PM ET
Member Since: 2/24/2006
Posts: 5,498
Back To Top

I just read about Untouched Pam and it sounds great!  Its now on my WL.

Sherri

Date Posted: 12/18/2007 4:57 PM ET
Member Since: 8/12/2006
Posts: 1,012
Back To Top

Can someone tell me about Jo Beverly?  I have never read her books.  I am a huge fan of Elizabeth Hoyt and can't wait for her next book.

The reason I am asking is that I went to Jo Beverly's website and found it to be confusing.  Are the books in a series and meant to be read in order?  I don't even know where to start with her books.

Date Posted: 12/18/2007 11:01 PM ET
Member Since: 6/9/2007
Posts: 745
Back To Top

Kimberly--I have read Jo Beverly's Company of Rogues series and her Malloren series and liked them (I liked the Rogues the best though). I don't think you have to read them in order--I'm pretty sure that I didn't--the first Rogues book I read was The Devil's Heiress.

The Company of Rogues series is : An Arranged Marriage, An Unwilling Bride, Christmas Angel, Forbidden, Dangerous Joy, Forbidden Magic, The Dragon's Bride, The Devil's Heiress, The Demon's Mistress (a novella in the book In Praise of Younger Men), Hazard, St. Raven, Skylark, The Rogue's Return, To Rescue a Rogue, Lady Beware. These are in order except I'm not sure where the novella comes in--I do know that it is about the same time as Dragon's Bride and Devil's Heiress.

The Malloren series is: My Lady Notorious, Tempting Fortune, Something Wicked, Secrets of the Night, Devilish, Winter Fire, A Most Unsuitable Man, A Lady's Secret (being released in June 2008).

Hope this helps!

Date Posted: 12/18/2007 11:23 PM ET
Member Since: 2/19/2007
Posts: 13
Back To Top

Kimberly, I didn't read any of Jo Beverly's books in order, and I still really enjoyed them.  Her characters remind me a lot of Elizabeth Hoyt's.  Both series are worth checking out!

Date Posted: 12/19/2007 12:56 AM ET
Member Since: 6/24/2005
Posts: 356
Back To Top

I try to read Jo's books in order, but have read some out of, and didn't find it a problem.  If you read her Rogue page, you'll see how she mentions she interweaves characters in prevoius books throughout, doing spinoffs.   You'll run across some here and there that might be good to read in order, but I don't think it will hurt either if you don't.. 

From recently reading, I would read first The Rogue's Return, then Lady Beware. I did read the Mallorens in order, Rothgar being the head of the family and the common thread throughout until his story in Devilish.

Madeline Hunter is an autobuy for me, love her medievals, especially the earlier ones.  The regency series after those weren't quite as good, some I like more than others, but I love her writing anyway.  Then she got back on spot with the series after that starting with Rules of Seduction.  If someone was new to her, I'd say don't start with that middle regency series, go with the medievals and/or Rules of Seduction first.  She gives a good rundown at her site of order.  For the medievals you don't really have to read them in order, except I would read first By Design then Stealing Heaven (hero is brother of heroine in BD, at a younger age). 

I haven't read Jo Goodman's older books yet and not sure if they would of the same caliber, but I became a fan with A Season to Be Sinful, another top read of that year for me, a bit darker.    The sequel, One Forbidden Evening, I think is the title, was good, but the first I thought much better.  On a reading group, some of us loved Season and If His Kiss is Wicked, others didn't seem to be as crazy about her prose, said they had a hard time following it unlike ofthers of us.  One thought there was too much  dialog in If His Kiss, yet I loved their witty, quick bantering back and forth,  and that it gave further insight into each.  I still highly recommend it, others will have to decide for themselves - Restell, the hero is now one of my alltime fave heros, right along with all those alphas on it, lol.

Alison, for a different type of hero and another very good romance - MaidenSong by Diana Groe - Vikings, but not what you usually get.  She gets the culture right historically, does a wonderful job showing their emotions and developing the relationship, very good romance.  A friend liked the second even better, which I sttil have to read, ErinSong.  Shame is she has another started, but can't get it sold... the supposed "historicals aren't popular" thing.

Date Posted: 12/19/2007 10:45 AM ET
Member Since: 8/12/2006
Posts: 1,012
Back To Top

Thanks for all of your comments.  I think I will check out Jo Beverly after all.

Date Posted: 12/19/2007 11:53 AM ET
Member Since: 5/3/2006
Posts: 6,436
Back To Top

I think I've seen MaidenSong at the USB - will have to pick it up if it's still there, because our tastes sound very similar! (Except I have never been able to get through _Stealing Heaven_.)

I've loved all Jo Goodman I've read, though some people find her earlier romances too "Old School."  The Compass Club was fun, kind of like reading about the Scoundrels grown up.

Date Posted: 12/19/2007 5:24 PM ET
Member Since: 2/19/2007
Posts: 13
Back To Top

Pam, you are full of good information!  Thanks again for another recommendation. 

I know I've read a couple of Jo Goodman's older ones, but I don't remember them being as good as "Kiss."  I looked up the older reviews on AAR and some of them got mediocre reviews, so I think I'll wait a bit before trying them. 

The only one of Madeline Hunter's that I didn't care for was Rules of Seduction.  I just couldn't finish it, and I'm not sure why.  I really hope the newest one is good - it's in my TBR pile.

Date Posted: 12/22/2007 2:49 AM ET
Member Since: 6/24/2005
Posts: 356
Back To Top

That's what an online friend told me about Goodman, she enjoyed but these newer ones, starting with  A Season to Be Sinful are much better and she recommends them around too.

We can all like one book, yet differ on others - I really liked Stealing Heaven and Rules of  Seduction, so I wonder what you will think about Lessons of Desire.  I liked it a lot and both characters, but some didn't care for the heroine as much (Phaedra)  Yet, she was known to be from her first appearance in Rules to have been quirky and brought up to be a feminist ahead of her time, so I don't know why that put people off.  It's a bit different considering that it is Phaedra, and took place mainly in Italy, and that may have also been part of it.  It wasn't a story taking place at regency parties, lol.  Hope you enjoy it.

 

 

Date Posted: 12/22/2007 3:11 PM ET
Member Since: 5/3/2006
Posts: 6,436
Back To Top

I loved _Rules of Seduction_, every time I read it, I want to reread it again. But I found _Lessons of Desire_ nothing special.

Date Posted: 12/22/2007 3:22 PM ET
Member Since: 12/7/2006
Posts: 1,099
Back To Top

Lessons of Desire didn't thrill me either - and I can't tell you why.  But I still want to read the next in the series.

Date Posted: 12/22/2007 5:55 PM ET
Member Since: 12/7/2006
Posts: 1,099
Back To Top

ok I just ordered that book (If his kiss was Wicked) based on the recommendations.  I get it on Thu from Amazon!



Last Edited on: 12/22/07 6:24 PM ET - Total times edited: 1
Date Posted: 12/22/2007 6:15 PM ET
Member Since: 5/3/2006
Posts: 6,436
Back To Top

The next in the series sounds good!  I'm looking forward to it.

Date Posted: 12/25/2007 8:49 PM ET
Member Since: 2/19/2007
Posts: 13
Back To Top

A lot of whether or not I enjoy a book depends on my mood, so I'm waiting for just the right mood for "Lessons."  I think part of the unique-ness of this particular series is that the heroines are very different from the usual regency woman, very opinionated and headstrong.  They remind me very much of the Girl Bachelor series by Laura Lee Guhrke, though from a different era.

Susan, I hope you enjoy "Kiss" as much as I did!