Discussion Forums - Questions about PaperBackSwap Questions about PaperBackSwap

Topic: Firefox Glitch???

Club rule - Please, if you cannot be courteous and respectful, do not post in this forum.
  Unlock Forum posting with Annual Membership.
Subject: Firefox Glitch???
Date Posted: 9/25/2008 12:47 PM ET
Member Since: 7/18/2005
Posts: 48
Back To Top

For the last couple of days Firefox doesn't have the proper tabs.  Today I received two books and I can't mark them received.  Is anyone else having this problem??  Had to switch to IE to post this message.

Date Posted: 9/25/2008 1:01 PM ET
Member Since: 5/10/2007
Posts: 5,526
Back To Top

I use firefox at home and haven't noticed any problems.  however I have to use IE at work

Date Posted: 9/25/2008 1:57 PM ET
Member Since: 8/13/2008
Posts: 13,147
Back To Top

I use Firefox and haven't had any problems at all.

Date Posted: 9/25/2008 2:27 PM ET
Member Since: 7/18/2005
Posts: 48
Back To Top

I've never had a problem either until the last few days.  IE is such a pain compaired to Firefox, but it looks like I'm doomed for awhile.

Date Posted: 9/25/2008 2:58 PM ET
Member Since: 5/3/2006
Posts: 6,436
Back To Top

I've been having a different problem with firefox - trouble writing messages - but just got a new update, so perhaps it'll be better. Have you updated lately?

Date Posted: 9/25/2008 4:41 PM ET
Member Since: 8/18/2005
Posts: 7,977
Back To Top

I've been having trouble loading Firefox, and finding all my bookmarks are missing. I've had to log out and log back in to Windows before they'll come back up. I'm wondering if I've already had an update that's acting wonky.

 

Date Posted: 9/25/2008 6:55 PM ET
Member Since: 1/25/2007
Posts: 6,567
Back To Top

So far I'm ok with Firefox. I'll keep my fingers crossed.

I have had one annoying problem for awhile though. I'll be typing a message here on Paperback Swap in the POST A REPLY box and all of a sudden it will go BACK to the page before. I'll try to go forward again and my message is gone.

That's been going on for a few months now on and off. Maybe like once or twice a week.

Date Posted: 9/25/2008 7:40 PM ET
Member Since: 7/18/2005
Posts: 48
Back To Top

I've checked Firefox updates and it is up to date.  Can't think of anything I've done or undone over the last few days that would cause it to not load the pages properly.  'Tis a conundrum.

Date Posted: 9/25/2008 8:07 PM ET
Member Since: 12/10/2005
Posts: 3,205
Back To Top

Ashley, if you accidently hit 'CTRL' while typing then the next you try to use 'Backspace' it takes you back a page insteading of deleting the last character.  I sometimes manage to hit 'CTRL' and then the next time I hit the apostophe, it brings up the Quick Find feature.  If you know you hit 'CTRL' or 'ALT', just tap it again and it will turn it off.

I've figured out that if I get an error message while in the forums ("Error loading http: //www .swapadvd.com/includes/fckeditor/editor/js/fckeditorcode_gecko.js" for example) that I will lose the text box for posting in the forums as well as the drop downs from the gray navigation bar at the top.  This applies to any of the Swap sites.  I don't really know when it started but I think it was around the time the last update installed.

I haven't yet been missing tabs.

Edited to add an example of the error message since it just happened on the DVD site.



Last Edited on: 9/27/08 1:45 AM ET - Total times edited: 2
Date Posted: 9/25/2008 8:40 PM ET
Member Since: 5/3/2006
Posts: 6,436
Back To Top

Those are exactly the problems I've been having. Thanks for the info.

 

Date Posted: 9/27/2008 11:47 AM ET
Member Since: 7/18/2005
Posts: 48
Back To Top
Problem is still here. I've unloaded Firefox, re-downloaded it, and the same thing is happening. Please, any help would be appreciated.
Date Posted: 9/27/2008 11:55 AM ET
Member Since: 8/18/2005
Posts: 7,977
Back To Top


Last Edited on: 3/27/09 11:09 AM ET - Total times edited: 1
Cathy A. (Cathy) - ,
Date Posted: 9/27/2008 12:03 PM ET
Member Since: 12/27/2005
Posts: 4,135
Back To Top

Sharon -- Let's see if we can figure this out. Here's a bunch of questions for you.

  1. Have you tried forcing a refresh of your My Account page? What happens if you hold down ctrl and press F5?
  2. Assuming that didn't solve the problem, does the gray menu bar at the top of the page work? I.e. when you hold your mouse over the buttons do you see the dropdown menus? Can you click on the items directly on the gray bar and also those on the dropdowns? Do they go to the right places? If the menus don't work correctly, go to Tools / Options / Content and make sure you have checked the box that says Enable Javascript, then refresh the page again.
  3. If it's still not working, then when you go to your My Account page, can you describe what you do see there? You said it doesn't have the proper tabs, but what does it have on it? On my My Account page, reading from top to bottom, I see:
  • the header area with the gray menu bar in it
  • a row of yellow and gray tabs that say My Account / Post Books / etc
  • a row of links starting with Transaction Archive
  • the table of Credits, Money, Books Posted
  • the blue message from the librarian
  • the row of yellow and gray tabs that show En Route to Me / Books I've Mailed / etc.
  • the page footer
which of these items do you have?

  

Date Posted: 9/27/2008 12:06 PM ET
Member Since: 7/18/2005
Posts: 48
Back To Top

When I re-downloaded Firefox and looked for updates(just in case) I received a message that part of it didn't load properly and sent me to the Mozilla site for a fix.  Downloaded the "fix" but it didn't help.  Possibly the problem is with the upgraded Firefox itself.  Maybe in a few days (or weeks) they'll get it right.

Date Posted: 9/27/2008 12:23 PM ET
Member Since: 7/18/2005
Posts: 48
Back To Top

Cathy -- The words are there, but no actual tabs or background colors.  I've already checked options and both Enable JavaScript and Java are checked.  I've also run every glitch remover I have and so far nothing has helped.  This had to have happened after I installed the latest Firefox upgrade.  But I'm on and off this site so much I couldn't tell you exactly when the problems started.

Date Posted: 9/27/2008 12:51 PM ET
Member Since: 7/18/2005
Posts: 48
Back To Top

Oh, joy!! Oh, bliss.  Found the problem after searching the Mozilla site forums.  How many of you have tried to do that?  Not easy, but I finally got lucky.  Tools - Options - Content - then (who looks here?) changed the colors to "allow pages to choose their own colors."  How that ever got changed I'll never know.

Thank you all for your help.  Now I can see all the beautiful PBS pages again!!!

Cathy A. (Cathy) - ,
Date Posted: 9/27/2008 1:19 PM ET
Member Since: 12/27/2005
Posts: 4,135
Back To Top

Great! Sorry for sending you on a wild goose chase. I never would have thought of that one!

Date Posted: 9/27/2008 1:54 PM ET
Member Since: 7/18/2005
Posts: 48
Back To Top

Cathy - No goose left unchased.  Thank you for all your trouble.

Date Posted: 9/27/2008 4:26 PM ET
Member Since: 7/13/2008
Posts: 42
Back To Top

I finally quit using Firefox here and switched over to IE for this site as of last week because it won't let me select to print a wrapper - it just bombs out and says page unavailable.  It was after the last upgrade.  It also won't let me go in the chatroom from Firefox.

Date Posted: 9/29/2008 12:36 AM ET
Member Since: 12/10/2005
Posts: 3,205
Back To Top

What's weird in all this is that the site is designed to run best in Firefox.  I wonder what's up with all the various 'glitches'.

Date Posted: 9/29/2008 11:43 AM ET
Member Since: 8/18/2005
Posts: 7,977
Back To Top


Last Edited on: 3/27/09 11:08 AM ET - Total times edited: 1