Book Reviews of The Gentle Rebel (House of Winslow, Bk 4)

The Gentle Rebel (House of Winslow, Bk 4)
The Gentle Rebel - House of Winslow, Bk 4
Author: Gilbert Morris
ISBN-13: 9781556610066
ISBN-10: 1556610068
Publication Date: 7/1988
Pages: 288
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.

4 stars, based on 28 ratings
Publisher: Bethany House Publishers
Book Type: Paperback
Reviews: Amazon | Write a Review

5 Book Reviews submitted by our Members...sorted by voted most helpful

reviewed The Gentle Rebel (House of Winslow, Bk 4) on + 206 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 3
The Gentle Rebel is book 4 of Gilbert Morris' Historical Fiction series, "House of Winslow", which follows one family's line down through America's history, starting with the first pilgrims. Each book can stand alone or be read as part of the series. Though the books are filled with rich, accurate historical detail, they are great recreational reading and have fun plots with a touch of wholesome romance. Check my list for more in this series.
reviewed The Gentle Rebel (House of Winslow, Bk 4) on + 9 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 2
This is a great series for those who are interested in exciting historical novels with a Christian message. The books follow one family "The Winslows" from their religious persecution in England, to the trip on the Mayflower to America. They continue following family members through the first winter in the new country, on to the Revolutionary War, the Civil war, the move west, etc.

The characters are exciting and each new book in the series has the children and grandchildren as the main characters, although the previous generation still has a part so they are easy to follow. There are many books in this series, and I just finished Book 6. Gilbert Morris is an excellent author and each book stands on its own but I'm glad I started at the beginning even though it may take me a year or more to finish them all. It's worth it!

Honorable Imposter Bk 1 Holy Warrior Bk 6
Captive Bride Bk 2 Reluctant Bridegroom Bk 7
Indentured Heart Bk 3 Last Confederate Bk 8
Gentle Rebel Bk 4 Dixie Widow Bk 9
Wounded Yankee Bk 10

Union Belle (bk 11) Gallant Outlaw Bk 15
Final Adversary (bk 12) Jeweled Spur Bk 16
Crossed Sabres (bk 13) Yukon Queen Bk 17
Valiant Gunman (bk 14)
reviewed The Gentle Rebel (House of Winslow, Bk 4) on + 426 more book reviews
This is just a wonderful Christian historical series, and I can't recommend it highly enough.

I think you will enjoy it more if you start at the beginning, but if there's a particular period of history that interests you most, this book covers the battle at Lexington and much of the early activity in Boston and Bunker Hill. George Washington, Paul Revere, Samuel Adams and others are featured in this story.
reviewed The Gentle Rebel (House of Winslow, Bk 4) on + 353 more book reviews
a great historical and Christian novels. This is 4 in the series. Each book can be read on its own. It follows a family from the mayflower and includes many historical mentions.
reviewed The Gentle Rebel (House of Winslow, Bk 4) on + 13 more book reviews
Loved this book! The whole series is worth a read. Every book has a salvation story and is always encouraging.