Discussion Forums - Questions about PaperBackSwap Questions about PaperBackSwap

Topic: Help! PBS not working half the time...

Club rule - Please, if you cannot be courteous and respectful, do not post in this forum.
  Unlock Forum posting with Annual Membership.
Subject: Help! PBS not working half the time...
Date Posted: 8/14/2009 5:39 PM ET
Member Since: 9/18/2006
Posts: 20
Back To Top

Half the time I access PBS it won't load. The other times it'll load but I can't get anywhere beyond my main screen. Then I can do most everything but when I got to post books or decline a wish listed book, it'll freeze up....

Is anyone else having any issues?? None of my online friends are.

 

 

Date Posted: 8/14/2009 5:40 PM ET
Member Since: 9/18/2006
Posts: 20
Back To Top

And it froze up when I went to post this....

Date Posted: 8/14/2009 5:47 PM ET
Member Since: 8/30/2008
Posts: 2,207
Back To Top

It freezes on me but only once in a while; I only have to log-out and sign back in and it's fine.

 

Date Posted: 8/14/2009 5:58 PM ET
Member Since: 12/9/2007
Posts: 9,601
Back To Top

I would bet that it has something to do with your browser and maybe your cookies and internet history.  You probably need to do some clean up of them.  I'm computer illiterate, but I've read that here before.

Ruth

Date Posted: 8/14/2009 6:27 PM ET
Member Since: 5/14/2009
Posts: 6,852
Back To Top

I switched to firefox and have not had any other issues.  Only issues I really had when I was trying to add to threads or updating book or cover data.  I am not a AOL user but I now there have been some complaints about that - just not sure if they are related - can't remember sorry. 

Date Posted: 8/15/2009 2:25 AM ET
Member Since: 11/14/2005
Posts: 6,421
Back To Top

The site has been really wonky lately, but I've been assured that if I would bow to their preference of FF or IE8 or Chrome, I wouldn't have anymore problems. But, alas, I'm such a rebel somedays :)  I'll move up one of these days, just not today hahaha

Date Posted: 8/15/2009 2:31 AM ET
Member Since: 4/21/2008
Posts: 13,339
Back To Top

I you have AOL or even if you don't you may want to check out the info in this post:

SERVER ERROR--unable to open my account
Created by: Sheila S. (Sheila-GA)

Also doing system restore to a date when it was working fine may also help :)

Date Posted: 8/15/2009 8:13 AM ET
Member Since: 5/14/2009
Posts: 6,852
Back To Top

Sherry - it is always good to be a rebel.   IE8 might work ok with this site - but it has caused havoc with Microsoft  web based products (OWA) which is an enterprise webmail product companies use internally for remote email access.    I also remote into computers assist users with issues and IE8 blocked a major CISCO based remote access product.  Not good. I had to use a backup remote access product and restore to IE7...everything started working again!   I heard Chrome is causing similar problems. 

I am running IE7 and Firefox.  I use firefox for a many sites, but I need to use IE7 for several sites that are incompatible with firefox (one being OWA/Webmail).  I have a couple of clients that have global offices and IE8 and Chrome are for the time banned from any company computer.   Once the bugs are worked out - we will allow users to install. 

So  the point of all of this is becareful of what you install because it may impact you negatively on ther sites.  The only browsers I would stand behind is IE7 and Firefox (just me and from experience)

Date Posted: 8/16/2009 11:48 PM ET
Member Since: 4/12/2007
Posts: 2,566
Back To Top

I have the same problem - had it with IE7 and now with IE8.  I can go a few pages, then all of a sudden, no matter what I click on, it wont' load any more pages.  If I close and re-open, it may or may not work.  Very discouraging.  I have not hosted any games lately because of this.

Date Posted: 8/17/2009 4:26 AM ET
Member Since: 4/25/2009
Posts: 337
Back To Top

I've used IE7 and Firefox and haven't had any problems with the site.  Maybe deleting cookies might help. 

Date Posted: 8/17/2009 7:08 AM ET
Member Since: 2/10/2008
Posts: 1,080
Back To Top

I am having problems getting a wrapper to print. It will not even load the page so I can handwrite the address. I tried last night a few times and gave up and it is doing the same thing now. I thought I was going to mail the book today but....

ETA - Must be I just had to mention it! I tried right after this post and it worked to click the link below (I can't get the wrapper to print!) Off the the post office.



Last Edited on: 8/17/09 7:16 AM ET - Total times edited: 1