Book Reviews of Homeboyz (Hoopster)

Homeboyz (Hoopster)
Homeboyz - Hoopster
Author: Alan Lawrence Sitomer
ISBN-13: 9781423100300
ISBN-10: 1423100301
Publication Date: 4/1/2007
Pages: 288
Reading Level: Young Adult
Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1

5 stars, based on 1 rating
Publisher: Jump At The Sun
Book Type: Hardcover
Reviews: Amazon | Write a Review

2 Book Reviews submitted by our Members...sorted by voted most helpful

reviewed Homeboyz (Hoopster) on + 7145 more book reviews
Reviewed by Sally Kruger, aka "Readingjunky" for TeensReadToo.com

Teddy Anderson is out for revenge. His little sister, Tina, was the victim of a drive-by, gang-related shooting. Her death is explained with the gang label RP, RT -- wrong place, wrong time.

Big brother Andre and older sister Tee-Ay are both away at college. Mr. and Mrs. Anderson are both grieving the death of their youngest child in their own separate ways. That leaves Teddy to deal with his emotions in the only way he knows how. He turns to the same violence that cut short his little sister's life.

Arrested for attempted murder, Teddy finds himself in the court system. Surprisingly, he is released to his parents, but the deal involves house arrest, wearing an ankle bracelet, and doing community service for some probation officer with a government-funded program to reform gang members. Teddy reports to Officer Diaz and meets Micah, a twelve-year-old gangsta' wannabe.

The arrangement is for Teddy to work with Micah -- help him with his homework, talk to him about his problems, and generally bond with him so he'll stay off the streets and out of trouble. Teddy is no slouch. He puts in his community service time, but also uses his considerable intelligence and computer skills to hack into the court system to further his plans for revenge.

HOMEBOYZ is the final book in the Anderson family trilogy by Alan Lawrence Sitomer. He brings the dangerous and deadly side of gang violence to life, and at the same time reveals the emotional and touching relationship that develops between Teddy and young Micah. Readers who enjoyed HOOPSTER and HIP-HOP HIGH SCHOOL will be pleased with this final book. It also works well as a stand-alone for those not familiar with Sitomer's other books.
reviewed Homeboyz (Hoopster) on + 7145 more book reviews
Reviewed by Sally Kruger, aka "Readingjunky" for TeensReadToo.com

Teddy Anderson is out for revenge. His little sister, Tina, was the victim of a drive-by, gang-related shooting. Her death is explained with the gang label RP, RT -- wrong place, wrong time.

Big brother Andre and older sister Tee-Ay are both away at college. Mr. and Mrs. Anderson are both grieving the death of their youngest child in their own separate ways. That leaves Teddy to deal with his emotions in the only way he knows how. He turns to the same violence that cut short his little sister's life.

Arrested for attempted murder, Teddy finds himself in the court system. Surprisingly, he is released to his parents, but the deal involves house arrest, wearing an ankle bracelet, and doing community service for some probation officer with a government-funded program to reform gang members. Teddy reports to Officer Diaz and meets Micah, a twelve-year-old gangsta' wannabe.

The arrangement is for Teddy to work with Micah -- help him with his homework, talk to him about his problems, and generally bond with him so he'll stay off the streets and out of trouble. Teddy is no slouch. He puts in his community service time, but also uses his considerable intelligence and computer skills to hack into the court system to further his plans for revenge.

HOMEBOYZ is the final book in the Anderson family trilogy by Alan Lawrence Sitomer. He brings the dangerous and deadly side of gang violence to life, and at the same time reveals the emotional and touching relationship that develops between Teddy and young Micah. Readers who enjoyed HOOPSTER and HIP-HOP HIGH SCHOOL will be pleased with this final book. It also works well as a stand-alone for those not familiar with Sitomer's other books.