Book Reviews of The House Next Door

The House Next Door
The House Next Door
Author: Richie Tankersley Cusick, Melody Cassen
The Market's bargain prices are even better for Paperbackswap club members!
Retail Price: $13.95
Buy New (Paperback): $11.69 (save 16%) or
Become a PBS member and pay $7.79+1 PBS book credit (save 44%)
ISBN-13: 9780743418386
ISBN-10: 0743418387
Publication Date: 1/1/2002
Pages: 272
Reading Level: Young Adult
Rating:
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 36

4.1 stars, based on 36 ratings
Publisher: Simon Pulse
Book Type: Paperback
Reviews: Amazon | Write a Review

10 Book Reviews submitted by our Members...sorted by voted most helpful

reviewed The House Next Door on + 39 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 1
At first, the writing was awful. The characters felt fake, and the writing was cluttered with clichéd phrases, especially during Emma/Daniel scenes. (Especially the first one. It almost made me chuck the book at the wall.)
Then, as the writing goes on, it gets better. I like Charlie and Emma's connection, even if it does seem a little odd and undeveloped in the beginning. It's worth reading, but not worth keeping.
reviewed The House Next Door on
Helpful Score: 1
Basic plot discription aside, this is exactly the kind of book I would have loved to have ran across as an eleven-or-twelve-year-old. Scary, but not terrifying ... tidy little romance, but not bodice-ripping racy. Long enough to let the plot ramble around a bit, but not lengthy enough to be overwhelming. Not award-winning literature by any stretch of the imagination, but there are worse ways to pass an afternoon ...
reviewed The House Next Door on + 40 more book reviews
If you love ghosts and mysteries you will love this book, I did. It is hard to put down once you start.
reviewed The House Next Door on + 63 more book reviews
haunted house with a love story twist and its very evilness. Very good read enjoyed it alot.
reviewed The House Next Door on + 56 more book reviews
Another fine piece of work by Cusick. It kept me guessing up until the end. I also enjoyed the intense emotion and love themes. Oh young love....
reviewed The House Next Door on + 9 more book reviews
Very good quick read. Ended a bit quickly, but otherwise it was very good.
reviewed The House Next Door on + 64 more book reviews
At first I thought this little book would not offer much, however, it turned out to be really good. It would be great for one afternoon with nothing to do.
reviewed The House Next Door on + 89 more book reviews
Cusick does a good job of building suspense in this supernatural thriller. To get her twin brother Charlie to take her friend Val to the winter dance, Emma Donovan accepts his challenge to spend a night in the creepy, empty house next door that is supposedly haunted. Soon, the 17-year-old finds herself caught in a century-old love affair with anything but a happy ending. She becomes deeply involved in the secrets of the house, and Charlie and Val struggle to save her before the romance plays out its tragic conclusion a second time.

Recommended for fans of Caroline Cooney, R. L. Stine, and/or Christopher Pike.
reviewed The House Next Door on + 79 more book reviews
HAUNTED HOUSE

On a whim,Emma Donovan bets her twin brother,Charlie that she
can spend the entire night alone at the spooky,abandoned house
next door.The place is seriously creepy,but she's determined to
overcome her fears and prove her brother wrong.Until she finds
herself reliving a horrific night from the house's past and a
passionate love with a handsome and strangely familiar young man.

When Charlie finds her,he's sure it was all "just a dream."
Yet Emma has persistent paranormal experiences involving the house
and the young man from the past.As her "dreams" intensify,Emma
becomes convinced that they are very real...and that she has a
dreadful part to play in the supernatural reenactment of a tragic love.
reviewed The House Next Door on + 47 more book reviews
Great condition.