Discussion Forums - Questions about PaperBackSwap Questions about PaperBackSwap

Topic: how to make link live in signature

Club rule - Please, if you cannot be courteous and respectful, do not post in this forum.
  Unlock Forum posting with Annual Membership.
Subject: how to make link live in signature
Date Posted: 11/5/2009 9:18 AM ET
Member Since: 10/22/2009
Posts: 1,891
Back To Top

as you can see I have a link in my signature. but it doesn't bring you to the site when you click on it. how do I make it "clickable"? thanks!

Date Posted: 11/5/2009 10:14 AM ET
Member Since: 8/16/2007
Posts: 15,186
Back To Top

When you are in the signature setup you will see a chain link towards the end of the function buttons. Type and highlight what you want the link to say, click that link button and paste in your URL.

Date Posted: 11/5/2009 8:28 PM ET
Member Since: 10/22/2009
Posts: 1,891
Back To Top

in "Forum Settings" there is a box for signature. under the box there is a button  that says update forum signature". I see nothing that indicated linking. is there some code I can throw in there to make it work? otherwise, am I in the wrong place? thanks for your help. 

Date Posted: 11/6/2009 4:48 PM ET
Member Since: 12/9/2007
Posts: 9,601
Back To Top

It'sno longer a "chain"-now it's that turtle looking thing in blue at the end of the first row.  All theother info is the same.

Ruth

Date Posted: 11/6/2009 6:08 PM ET
Member Since: 10/22/2009
Posts: 1,891
Back To Top

thanks anyway, Melanie and Ruth but I see no such things. 

Date Posted: 11/6/2009 7:16 PM ET
Member Since: 8/28/2008
Posts: 3,291
Back To Top

Lori,

To post a link:

Go to your settings.

Highlight the title Lori Mendenhall

When you post on the line of the formating task bar right side you will see a little earth with a silver link in front of it, click on that, it is the fourth button from the right.  You will see two arrows (facing different directions) and the link buttons.  There are two one is broken (on the right) and the one you want is unbroken (on the left).

In the box that pops up put the web address of the link www.members.cox.net/lorimendenhall 

Click ok

Your name should now linked



Last Edited on: 11/9/09 10:05 AM ET - Total times edited: 1
Date Posted: 11/7/2009 1:15 AM ET
Member Since: 2/12/2008
Posts: 4,470
Back To Top

Alternately, you can just copy and paste the live link that Arica made for you in her post above. Make sure you click on "Update Forum Signature" when you are done.

Date Posted: 11/7/2009 9:08 AM ET
Member Since: 12/9/2007
Posts: 9,601
Back To Top

For any of the functions in a post you should be able to "hover" your cursor or mouse over each symbol for a second and it will show a word that tells you what it does.

Ruth

Date Posted: 11/8/2009 11:19 PM ET
Member Since: 10/22/2009
Posts: 1,891
Back To Top

you guys are really nice to try and help me but I think because I am using Safari I'm not seeing these extra function buttons. I know most people use Firefox or IE. I see no buttons or anything else. 

I so appreciate you trying to help me. it's not that big a deal, I'll live! thank you.

Date Posted: 11/12/2009 8:16 PM ET
Member Since: 10/22/2009
Posts: 1,891
Back To Top

hey, did someone do this for me???? my link works - but I don't think I did it. maybe all the things I tried something worked? if you fixed my link for me - THANK YOU!!!!!!!