Discussion Forums - Questions about PaperBackSwap Questions about PaperBackSwap

Topic: How to post a Link to a book in a forum reply?

Club rule - Please, if you cannot be courteous and respectful, do not post in this forum.
  Unlock Forum posting with Annual Membership.
Subject: How to post a Link to a book in a forum reply?
Date Posted: 10/4/2009 11:48 AM ET
Member Since: 2/19/2009
Posts: 23
Back To Top

I'd like to post in the "Only Copy in the System" forum, but I want to include links to the books instead of just typing the name & title.  I can clearly see a "link" icon in the text box of the reply space (there it is right now, mocking me) but I can't figure out how to use it.  I tried your basic copy & paste but that doesn't turn out the way that I see other links posted.

Can anyone help?  I'd appreciate it. 

Date Posted: 10/4/2009 12:05 PM ET
Member Since: 8/16/2007
Posts: 15,201
Back To Top

What I do is go to my list that I have it on, highlight the title, Ctrl-C, then Ctrl-V it into my post. Any title that shows as a link on PBS can be copied and pasted as a link in the Forum.

Some browsers don't like that method so you can also use the linking option. What I do for that is open 2 browser windows, one with the post and one with the book details page. Then type the book title in the post, highlight it,  and hit the link button, that will open a window that has a URL field. Then go to the window with the book details, copy the URL, go back to the post window and paste it into the URL field.



Last Edited on: 10/4/09 12:06 PM ET - Total times edited: 1
Date Posted: 10/4/2009 12:23 PM ET
Member Since: 4/21/2008
Posts: 13,339
Back To Top

I use links to my books all the time, but be careful if you use IE, since PBS put up the new toolbar it won't accept the right click paste into the URL link without taking http: out first.

Now I just open the two windows. Copy the description of the book from the top window, type in the name/author on the post, blue highlight (drag right to left over it), click on the link button, and when the URL box appears hit CTRL +v on your keyboard :)

Subject: Thanks very much!
Date Posted: 10/4/2009 4:58 PM ET
Member Since: 2/19/2009
Posts: 23
Back To Top

I'll be trying both of these, thank you very much.

Date Posted: 10/4/2009 6:32 PM ET
Member Since: 6/26/2006
Posts: 6,633
Back To Top

Debbie, I didn't know that was an IE problem.  I sent feedback about that problem (two http:// in the hyperlink) to TPTB, and they said they could only tell the folks who wrote the code for the text box and couldn't do anything else.  I also mentioned that the old method of copying an url into the textbox and getting a hyperlink with the words link didn't work anymore and I was told that the feature worked in IE (well, kind of.  The link becomes a hyperlink with the url still visible) but not Firefox.  I use a Mac so IE isn't really an option. 

Interesting that the text box doesn't work ideally in Firefox OR Internet Explorer...



Last Edited on: 10/4/09 6:32 PM ET - Total times edited: 1
Subject: Ok Im going to try too...
Date Posted: 10/5/2009 12:23 PM ET
Member Since: 9/29/2009
Posts: 1,260
Back To Top

Just practicing...Unbroken

Subject: Ok I just tried the...
Date Posted: 10/5/2009 12:28 PM ET
Member Since: 9/29/2009
Posts: 1,260
Back To Top

the cntrl C and the cntrl V and that didnt work .... next

UNBROKEN

Subject: Thanks...
Date Posted: 10/5/2009 12:31 PM ET
Member Since: 9/29/2009
Posts: 1,260
Back To Top

Thanks for the heads up about IE. When I took the http out and tried the two window method it worked. Appreciate the help.

Date Posted: 10/8/2009 8:00 PM ET
Member Since: 6/19/2008
Posts: 5,721
Back To Top

Is that why it dont work for me any more ? because of the new toolbar they put in?

It hasent been that long since I learned to do links and I havent played games since they switched the toolbar and ( in games you need to do a link) I am in some games and when it was my turn to reveal , I could not get a link to work.. So I have to learn a different way?

some advice please?