Discussion Forums - Questions about PaperBackSwap Questions about PaperBackSwap

Topic: How-to question on putting a line through a typed word

Club rule - Please, if you cannot be courteous and respectful, do not post in this forum.
  Unlock Forum posting with Annual Membership.
Subject: How-to question on putting a line through a typed word
Date Posted: 8/2/2012 12:13 PM ET
Member Since: 2/2/2009
Posts: 3,789
Back To Top

Dumb question of the day:  How do you put a line through a typed word or sentence?  I see it all the time on the RAOK forum and Book Bazaar, when a request is met/book is no longer available, and instead of erasing, a line runs atop the typed word(s), so you can still read what was offered . I'm assuming the dash key is used, but how do you get it to go over of the letters?  

Date Posted: 8/2/2012 1:13 PM ET
Member Since: 8/26/2006
Posts: 9,327
Back To Top

For most browsers, when you are typing (or editing your remarks) in the Post a Reply box, look up at the bar with all the little symbols on it at the top of the box.  Next to Bold, Italic and Underline is the cross-out font.  Highlight the sentence you want to cross out, then press the "abc" key.



Last Edited on: 8/2/12 1:16 PM ET - Total times edited: 2
Date Posted: 8/2/2012 1:15 PM ET
Member Since: 6/30/2007
Posts: 2,407
Back To Top
If you are using a standard browser, one of the font choices is the line through. You just select the text you want to strike and touch that button, just like you would for changing the size, font or color. If you are using safari or chrome there is no text editing section and you would need to use HTML, or hypertext language. I'm sure someone has explained it somewhere in these forums,; you can just do a search for it. I'm on my iPad (safari) or I would do a screen shot for you with a link, and it's just too hard to do it. If no one's done it by later today, I'll try to come back on my desktop and show you.
Date Posted: 8/2/2012 1:20 PM ET
Member Since: 12/28/2006
Posts: 14,171
Back To Top

I use Patty's method.  It's an option in the control bar of the text box.  Just highlight the section/word, and click on the strike through box (next to bold, italic, and underline).

Date Posted: 8/2/2012 1:20 PM ET
Member Since: 2/2/2009
Posts: 3,789
Back To Top

 

Dumb question of the day:  How do you put a line through a typed word or sentence?

Got it! Thanks much ladies!