Discussion Forums - Questions about PaperBackSwap Questions about PaperBackSwap

Topic: How can I get my text in a discussion to be in a list and not a paragraph??

Club rule - Please, if you cannot be courteous and respectful, do not post in this forum.
  Unlock Forum posting with Annual Membership.
Subject: How can I get my text in a discussion to be in a list and not a paragraph??
Date Posted: 9/5/2008 5:07 AM ET
Member Since: 8/19/2008
Posts: 127
Back To Top
Everytime I post in the discussion board and I try to show a list of books once I submit it it turns into a paragraph form? I know no one wants to read it like that because it is harder. Please help me...thanks!
Date Posted: 9/5/2008 6:01 AM ET
Member Since: 11/14/2005
Posts: 1,442
Back To Top

When I've had that problem, I noticed that holding down the SHIFT key when you press ENTER at the end of each line sometimes helps.

Date Posted: 9/5/2008 6:31 AM ET
Member Since: 8/19/2008
Posts: 127
Back To Top
thanks i'll try that
Date Posted: 9/5/2008 6:36 AM ET
Member Since: 8/19/2008
Posts: 127
Back To Top
well that didn't work...any other suggestions?
Date Posted: 9/5/2008 7:04 AM ET
Member Since: 6/8/2007
Posts: 802
Back To Top

What browser are you using?  I had that problem with Safari, but when I changed to Firefox I didn't have that problem any longer.

Date Posted: 9/5/2008 7:12 AM ET
Member Since: 8/19/2008
Posts: 127
Back To Top
I'm using Safari on my mac computer...what's Firefox? How do I get that
Date Posted: 9/5/2008 8:46 AM ET
Member Since: 10/23/2005
Posts: 7,719
Back To Top

Hayley,

There is a lot of great information on this issue in the Help Center. If you put "Macintosh/Safari" in the search field in the Help Center, there are several Help Docs that address this.

Date Posted: 9/5/2008 5:27 PM ET
Member Since: 6/8/2007
Posts: 802
Back To Top

Firefox is another browser, like Safari, that seems to work better on many websites than Safari does.  You can download it for free at
www.mozilla.com/firefox

Date Posted: 9/5/2008 10:44 PM ET
Member Since: 11/14/2005
Posts: 6,421
Back To Top

The other solution is to highlight the text you want to be a list, then click the numbered or unnumbered list button. The numbered list button has a 123 on it, the unnumbered has 3 little dots/boxes. Sometimes it will only number or bullet the first line, and you then have to add a return for each of the subsequent lines and then when you hit submit update, they should all be on their separate lines. Let me know if this doesn't work for Safari, I don't know if I've ever told anyone using it to try it before, so I'd like to know if it's successful for that browser.

Date Posted: 9/5/2008 11:35 PM ET
Member Since: 4/3/2008
Posts: 541
Back To Top

Firefox:

http://www.mozilla.com/en-US/firefox/

 

Or, type in the HTML code at each point where you want a new line.   Type < br > without the spaces.

Date Posted: 9/6/2008 1:43 AM ET
Member Since: 8/19/2008
Posts: 127
Back To Top
thanks everyone i'm going to try all these out!
Date Posted: 9/6/2008 7:21 AM ET
Member Since: 6/8/2007
Posts: 802
Back To Top

Sherry, I can tell you from personal experience that with Safari the toolbar with the options for text (including the numbered list option) does not show up at all. I had that problems when I first joined up and solved it by switching to Firefox.

Date Posted: 9/6/2008 12:03 PM ET
Member Since: 11/14/2005
Posts: 6,421
Back To Top

Ok, that's what I needed to know, Robin, so there wasn't even an option to make it show? I know there is a close button on it, and wonder if it starts out closed on Safari? It would then remove all the buttons, and just have a very small down arrow at the beginning. If you still have Safari, could you check that for me?

Date Posted: 9/6/2008 4:39 PM ET
Member Since: 6/8/2007
Posts: 802
Back To Top

Before I sent the other post, I DID go back on Safari and check to see if that little arrow was there, and it was not. As far as I have been able to determine, the option to format the text of your post in any way is not an option with Safari.

Date Posted: 9/6/2008 6:37 PM ET
Member Since: 11/14/2005
Posts: 6,421
Back To Top

Thank you so much, Robin, so I will now first ask if the persn is using Safari, and save them the headache of trying to figure out what I'm talking about!!!

Great help! I appreciate it!