Discussion Forums - Questions about PaperBackSwap Questions about PaperBackSwap

Topic: Invalid DC numbers on PBS printed wrapper-resolved

Club rule - Please, if you cannot be courteous and respectful, do not post in this forum.
  Unlock Forum posting with Annual Membership.
hrooster - ,
Subject: Invalid DC numbers on PBS printed wrapper-resolved
Date Posted: 3/4/2011 1:24 PM ET
Member Since: 1/19/2010
Posts: 389
Back To Top

I have found that a large percentage of my media mail goes lost, so I decided to add PBS DC to any MM package.

Wrappers printed fine, so there is no problem with the address, but at the PO, the bar code won't scan, and when the clerk entered the number, it comes up as invalid.

So: is there something else I need to be doing...

and, she also pointed out that DC would be 80cents, no 19 (since I didn't buy PBS postage, just dc)

.....and do I need to take all books off my shelf that weigh more than 13 oz.....?



Last Edited on: 3/4/11 2:35 PM ET - Total times edited: 1
Date Posted: 3/4/2011 1:43 PM ET
Member Since: 8/16/2007
Posts: 15,185
Back To Top

She is WRONG that it would be 80cents, that is for retail DC and you are buying electronic DC. Once she properly inputs the numbers/scans it the price recognizes the number as being an eDC and adjusts to 0.19 automatically. The only way she could charge you 80 cents is to not scan it because the numbers are different for eDC and their machines will charge accordingly.

DC doesn't make a difference for books over 13oz unless you are also buying postage in order to mail from somewhere other that the retail counter. If you are meaning any books with Media Mail (over 7 oz) then I would say you are just going to want to get your post office straightened out. There are some helpful Help Center documents that you can print out and take to them that explains eDC. Search for Delivery Confirmation.

As for the number not being valid and not scanning, there has been some glitches in the system before so you may want to send in feedback to let them know. Next time you take a package in, make sure that the DC label is free of any tape and printed very clear in black to ensure the best reading by the scanner. 

hrooster - ,
Date Posted: 3/4/2011 1:48 PM ET
Member Since: 1/19/2010
Posts: 389
Back To Top

The label IS free of tape, and was printed on the darkest setting. It would not scan, and when she manually entered the number (3 times) it came up invalid. She did suggest that it is perhaps because she is not on the "pos" system, but has the old "irt" system.

Either way, the number is invalid, and how can I correct this?

Date Posted: 3/4/2011 1:49 PM ET
Member Since: 1/17/2009
Posts: 9,677
Back To Top

Yes, your clerk is wrong. When she scans the DC number, it should come up as 19 cents on her machine for her to charge you.

I take my packages to the PO to mail ... but I use the APC machine to apply the postage (usually). If you use the menu options to mail a package you will not see "Media Mail" as an option, BUT you can use the scale on the machine to weigh your packages, and then go back and use the "Buy a Stamp of a Different Value" to just buy either the postage cost or the postage plus 19 cents for DC cost. (I have a little chart of postage prices that I tucked into my wallet so I know how much postage should be based on the weight).

If you do it that way, yes, your DC does not get scanned right away at the counter, BUT, you don't have to deal with clerks who don't know what they are doing, either.

I have not had this issue with invalid numbers ... so I can't offer advice on that one. I have been using DC more than usual because I have been offering a BB deal, and all my PBS printed DC has been able to be scanned.



Last Edited on: 3/4/11 1:51 PM ET - Total times edited: 1
Date Posted: 3/4/2011 2:12 PM ET
Member Since: 8/25/2009
Posts: 691
Back To Top

The clerk at that office needs to scan your barcode with her IMD (handheld) scanner, not her POS scanner.  Makes a difference.

hrooster - ,
Date Posted: 3/4/2011 2:36 PM ET
Member Since: 1/19/2010
Posts: 389
Back To Top

I took it back to her, pointed out it is eDC, and she reentered it, no problem..

Thanks for all your help!

Date Posted: 3/4/2011 4:07 PM ET
Member Since: 9/13/2010
Posts: 47
Back To Top

Glad it worked out for you. I was going to add that I have run into the problem of postal workers wanting to charge me .80 cents. I have to walk them through the process. Take the handheld scanner and scan it. They are always shocked when it comes up 19 cents. :) You will probably have to explain it each time you get a new counter person.

Date Posted: 3/4/2011 4:22 PM ET
Member Since: 12/28/2006
Posts: 14,167
Back To Top

Excellent news hrooster!  I've also had to re-assure unfamiliar clerks...if they will just walk through the procedure and scan in the eDC barcode when prompted by their own computer, the correct charge will appear (19 cents) allong with correct postage.

Date Posted: 3/4/2011 4:58 PM ET
Member Since: 8/16/2007
Posts: 15,185
Back To Top

Great news! She must have an unusual system that needs to know it is eDC before trying to scan. I am always happy when postal workers are willing to listen and learn.yes

Date Posted: 3/5/2011 8:31 PM ET
Member Since: 8/26/2006
Posts: 9,322
Back To Top

Very nice outcome!  Thanks for updating!