Discussion Forums - eBook readers eBook readers

Topic: Kindle Keyboard chat

Club rule - Please, if you cannot be courteous and respectful, do not post in this forum.
Page:   Unlock Forum posting with Annual Membership.
Subject: Kindle Keyboard chat
Date Posted: 8/31/2012 6:57 PM ET
Member Since: 5/23/2008
Posts: 12,776
Back To Top

If you want to chat about the 3rd gen Kindle (or the earlier models, if you still use one), feel free to do it here!

I have my first Kindle, a K3 wifi, on my Prime account. I also have a K3-3G with special offers, on a second account. I had to open a second account, as it was rebooting every time I turned on the wifi. As I do that more than once a day, it was very annoying. Amazon replaced one but the replacement did the same thing. Once I took it off my Prime account (which has over 5000 Amazon books in the archive), no more rebooting. I use that Kindle constantly, for news, blogs, and even books lol

My wifi Kindle I seldom use. Mainly just for the kindle owner's lending library. So today I decided to hack it! I did the jailbreak hack, then the screen saver hack. No more ugly dead authors! I may have to do one more hack, to get my screen savers to rotate, so far, I see the same picture every time. Then I played around with the Kindle Collections plugin for Calibre. It works, though my issue is that I have 7 Calibre libraries, so if I make a change to one, I have to remember to make it to all.

I tried the jailbreak hack on the 3G and it didn't take. Then I did some reading up on removing the ads and replacing the screen savers, and decided no. Way too complicated. At least they aren't ugly dead authors!

Oh as I was typing this a second screen saver appeared on my hacked Kindle. Nice!!!! I may just start using it more now!

Date Posted: 9/1/2012 9:02 PM ET
Member Since: 2/1/2008
Posts: 3,472
Back To Top

Anne,

Where can I find the Kindle Collections plug in?  Remember, I'm a total dunce when it comes to tech, so I need something with step by step, simplistic directions.  I only have one Calibre library, and I know I'm not doing everything I could with it.  I basically just use it as a back up for my Kindle books and a way to side load from other sites.  I'm on a K3-3G with special offers.  I don't have wi-fi at home, or easy access to it.

Date Posted: 9/2/2012 7:31 AM ET
Member Since: 5/23/2008
Posts: 12,776
Back To Top

Heather, if you already have collections that you like, and don't mind making them manually, that plugin is really not all that helpful. But you can get it by opening Calibre, Preferences, Plugins, Get New Plugins. Then you can find it in the list and click it. You may have to restart Calibre. Also the thing only shows up, for me, when the Kindle is plugged in.

Date Posted: 9/2/2012 3:07 PM ET
Member Since: 2/1/2008
Posts: 3,472
Back To Top

Thanks Anne, I already have 8 pages of collections on my K3, so I'll probably just skip it.  I recently had to reboot and restore it due to some corrupted files messing with the software, (at least that's what the support staff at Amazon said happened).  I was extremely glad I had everything backed up on Calibre since it made it so much easier to restore all of my side loaded stuff.  But I did have to manually restore all of my collections and put all the books back in it (took me about 8 hours straight  to redo everything--yes I have that many books on it)  Was hoping that the plug-in was an easier way to restore everything if I had to do that again.

But the good thing is I got the chance to weed through a lot of "free trash" that didn't need to be on the K3 anymore.  You know, all those freebie books you download when you first get started because they are free.  Then you don't read them because they suck, so you just forget about them.  They didn't make it back on my Kindle, but are still floating around in the cloud somewhere.  Mostly because I haven't found a way to delete things off the cloud and have them stay off. They seem to come back.

Date Posted: 9/2/2012 3:47 PM ET
Member Since: 5/23/2008
Posts: 12,776
Back To Top

Heather there is a way that you can use the kindle4pc app on your pc to set up collections so that they will be the same on your kindle, and import one to the other. I think. I haven't really played with the k4pc. And you may be able to use the plugin to import your collections to Calibre, so they will be backed up that way.  You could play around and see, if you want to, or just keep in mind if you ever lose your collections again.

Date Posted: 9/11/2012 5:07 PM ET
Member Since: 5/23/2008
Posts: 12,776
Back To Top

New update for the Kindle Keyboard! I have put it on both of mine, and set the parental control feature to turn the archives off. The kindles are faster now! Even if a person doesn't want to turn the archives off, they will run better from the update, as the device archive will no longer "see" more than 4500 items. This does not affect the archive at amazon.com. This is awesome!

We will be delivering this update over wireless connections in the coming weeks. Customers who prefer to receive the update immediately can manually download and install the software update from: http://www.amazon.com/kindlesoftwareupdates

Date Posted: 9/11/2012 9:46 PM ET
Member Since: 10/7/2007
Posts: 7,751
Back To Top

Thanks Anne!  Just did the Update! 

Date Posted: 9/12/2012 7:45 PM ET
Member Since: 2/1/2008
Posts: 3,472
Back To Top

Thanks Anne! That was really helpful.  I have a ton of stuff in my Archive now that I cleared off my K3 when I did the factory restore.  Now I don't have to deal with them always hanging around, lol.

Date Posted: 9/13/2012 8:19 AM ET
Member Since: 5/23/2008
Posts: 12,776
Back To Top

I'm so pleased that Amazon did this, with the device being 2 years old. My keyboards are working better than ever! Not nearly as slow.

After removing the "archive" collection from one of them, I was suprised to see a prc book show up. I had tried to find that book and it never showed up, though I knew it was there. This time it showed up and I was able to delete it!

Date Posted: 9/16/2012 2:34 AM ET
Member Since: 1/19/2008
Posts: 14,791
Back To Top

my Kindle Keyboard is great, and i've had it for nearly 2 years now.  lately it seems like the battery is running down faster, and i'm wondering if anyone else is seeing that problem?  i haven't tried keeping track, it just seems like i just charged it and it's on the low side again already after only a couple of books (and this isn't the first time.)

Date Posted: 9/16/2012 3:03 PM ET
Member Since: 10/7/2007
Posts: 7,751
Back To Top

30 hrs of battery is not much when you read a lot like I do!   Tip:  Let it go totally DEAD and then FULLY charge!  Do this a couple times & it revamps the Battery!   IF it still doent hold the charge contact Amazon I know some one that did & she sent to Kindle back Amazon installed a New Battery for FREE!

Date Posted: 9/16/2012 10:26 PM ET
Member Since: 10/7/2007
Posts: 7,751
Back To Top

I have a Question.....  How do you get the Audio books off the Kindle...  Total Off!  I now have 4 pages of audiobook Titles in my Archives...ugh   

Date Posted: 9/17/2012 6:26 AM ET
Member Since: 5/23/2008
Posts: 12,776
Back To Top

To get them out of the archives, you would have to go to the Manage Your Kindle page on the Amazon account, and delete them from  your account.

Date Posted: 9/17/2012 10:42 AM ET
Member Since: 10/7/2007
Posts: 7,751
Back To Top

It doesnt give me that option.  Just say Del to Kindle.   And the Freebes I dont want any more I cant remove from my other account.  

Date Posted: 9/17/2012 11:02 AM ET
Member Since: 8/18/2005
Posts: 7,977
Back To Top

It doesnt give me that option.  Just say Del to Kindle.

You'll have to test it for audio books, but should be the same process. You have to be on your computer, and in your "Manage Your Kindle".

To the right of each title you'll see and [Action] button. When you click on it, you should see several options.

[Delete from Library]

is the permanent delete choice. Just make sure that if you chose this, you read carefully the title of the book before hitting the delete button. The buttons can be close together at times, and it can be easy to hit the wrong one. Once done, I don't think it can be undone.

 

Date Posted: 9/18/2012 11:10 AM ET
Member Since: 10/7/2007
Posts: 7,751
Back To Top

From Audible....

 

Permanently delete a title(s) from My Library (Online Library)

Answer ID 4122 | Published 04/24/2012 04:20 PM | Updated 08/16/2012 01:02 PM

At this time the option to permanently delete a title(s) from your online library is not available on our site. We do apologize for any inconvenience this caused you. We are continuously evaluating opportunities to improve your experience and our site.

If you would like to permanently delete a title(s) from My Library please contact Customer Care. If you permanently delete a title(s), this will remove it from your account. You will no longer have access to listen to this title(s) unless you re-purchase it. 

Manage my kindle Only says Del to Kindle.    There are No audios on kindle BUT titles are Stuck in the Archives folder.  

Date Posted: 9/21/2012 7:51 AM ET
Member Since: 5/23/2008
Posts: 12,776
Back To Top

11 days til my new Paperwhite is in hand....

Date Posted: 9/21/2012 8:43 PM ET
Member Since: 2/1/2008
Posts: 3,472
Back To Top

Let me know how you like it.  I'm debating whether to save up for my birthday to get one.  (In February)

Date Posted: 9/22/2012 7:52 PM ET
Member Since: 9/20/2005
Posts: 14,915
Back To Top

I'm excited about getting the new Paperwhite too.  I like my Kindle Fire, but the screen gives me headaches sometimes when i read it at night.  I am excited that the new Paperwhite will have a built in light!

Date Posted: 9/22/2012 8:37 PM ET
Member Since: 10/7/2007
Posts: 7,751
Back To Top

I have questions about paperwhite so let me know when you 2 recieve yours!  Thanks!

Date Posted: 9/22/2012 9:23 PM ET
Member Since: 10/13/2007
Posts: 36,445
Back To Top

Just wondering, if something happens to my Kindle touch, are they going to just refund it or send me the paperwhite??

Date Posted: 9/23/2012 11:55 PM ET
Member Since: 10/7/2007
Posts: 7,751
Back To Top

When my son broke my K3 wifi  I asked for the K3 3G & I would pay the difference for the upgrade.  Answer NO!  They sent me the K3 wifi! 

Date Posted: 9/24/2012 6:12 AM ET
Member Since: 5/23/2008
Posts: 12,776
Back To Top

Xen, I'm sure they have Touches like yours in reserve for that circumstance.

Date Posted: 9/24/2012 11:30 AM ET
Member Since: 10/13/2007
Posts: 36,445
Back To Top

Anne- I sure hope so.

Date Posted: 9/24/2012 9:55 PM ET
Member Since: 10/7/2007
Posts: 7,751
Back To Top

Yes they do X.  One of the reasons I was thinking of the upgrade when my K3 broke they just discontinued the K3 WiFi.  I just missed the sales too  grrr     But was told they keep extras till most warrenties expire.  She also told me that give it about a yr & they be selling thru Amazon the K3 wifi reduced again!  Just to keep the stock down!  But again they keep some for  replacements.  



Last Edited on: 9/25/12 9:15 AM ET - Total times edited: 1
Page: