Discussion Forums - Questions about PaperBackSwap Questions about PaperBackSwap

Topic: Label with postage ??

Club rule - Please, if you cannot be courteous and respectful, do not post in this forum.
  Unlock Forum posting with Annual Membership.
Subject: Label with postage ??
Date Posted: 9/13/2007 1:22 PM ET
Member Since: 1/17/2006
Posts: 5,489
Back To Top

I just printed out my first label with the postage on it, and I'm a bit nervous.  It looks kinda funny!  It's got the usual addresses, DC barcode, but there is a big solid black square at the top, then the postage price, US Media Mail, date, zip and another black & white box with a number below it.  Is this all it's supposed to have? 

Thanks

Lisa P.

Date Posted: 9/13/2007 1:36 PM ET
Member Since: 9/2/2006
Posts: 4,110
Back To Top

Yup.  It's good to go tape it well to the package, not over the Barcode though and pop it in the mailbox.

Date Posted: 9/13/2007 1:59 PM ET
Member Since: 1/17/2006
Posts: 5,489
Back To Top

 

Ok, thanks for the info! 

Lisa P.

Date Posted: 9/13/2007 2:00 PM ET
Member Since: 11/14/2005
Posts: 6,421
Back To Top

What you have printed is a proper, by the USPS rules, label that indicates the type of postage, which we've not had before. So, it just looks different to you, but it is all within the USPS guidelines.

Date Posted: 10/23/2007 10:41 PM ET
Member Since: 9/18/2005
Posts: 6,948
Back To Top

Reviving this post with a question:  the OP said this:  but there is a big solid black square at the top,  but no one explained it....I've been wondering the same thing....what is that black square for?  It eats up ALOT of ink and I was just wondering if it's REALLY necessary?

Date Posted: 10/24/2007 1:04 AM ET
Member Since: 11/18/2005
Posts: 5,408
Back To Top

That is where there woul be a big FC if the book is small enough to go First Class. It does use a bit a ink, but that is how they made it.  Why not just leave it blank if it is going media mail?

Date Posted: 10/24/2007 1:05 AM ET
Member Since: 8/23/2007
Posts: 26,510
Back To Top

I tape over the barcode and have never had a problem.  I believe it says you can tape over the bar code.  It says not to tape over stamps.

What is the black box next to the postage square on the wrapper?  Can I choose NOT to print that?

  • The black box indicates non-First Class Mail rate, and is also required by USPS.  There is no option not to print it on the wrapper if you are sending a package by Media Mail rate.
  • If you are concerned about the amount of ink the black box uses, you should print your wrappers with Draft Quality, which uses less ink.
  • First-Class wrappers will print without the black box.
Can I tape over the printed postage?  How about over the DC barcode?
  • Yes, you can apply tape over the printed postage square.  Obviously it should be clear (transparent) tape.
  • The DC barcode will be scannable with a single layer of transparent tape over it.  Wrinkles in the wrapper much more commonly interfere with the barcode scannability--tape is not usually a problem.


Last Edited on: 10/24/07 1:10 AM ET - Total times edited: 1
Date Posted: 10/24/2007 12:22 PM ET
Member Since: 9/18/2005
Posts: 6,948
Back To Top

Thanks Mary...somehow I coudln't find that in the HC and I'm normally pretty good at finding that stuff, being a TG and all! LOL

Date Posted: 10/24/2007 2:57 PM ET
Member Since: 8/15/2005
Posts: 4,469
Back To Top

Yeah, that sounds right.  Don't worry, they really work.

Date Posted: 10/24/2007 8:35 PM ET
Member Since: 12/21/2006
Posts: 315
Back To Top

The only thing I wish is, I wish the address were bigger and more human-readable. I understand that the machines at the USPS can read it, but it's still unsightly and ick for anyone reading it on the other end! The old label was so wonderfully legible.

Is the small type mandated by the USPS?

Date Posted: 10/24/2007 10:42 PM ET
Member Since: 11/18/2005
Posts: 5,408
Back To Top

Yes, it has to be that size...it is a USPS rule.