Discussion Forums - Hidden Gems Hidden Gems

Topic: Lee Child's "Jack Reacher" withdrawl Please help!

Club rule - Please, if you cannot be courteous and respectful, do not post in this forum.
  Unlock Forum posting with Annual Membership.
Subject: Lee Child's "Jack Reacher" withdrawl Please help!
Date Posted: 9/12/2008 3:20 PM ET
Member Since: 6/29/2007
Posts: 67
Back To Top

Hey Guys and Gals,

I'm only about 80 pages from finishing the 12th and latest Jack Reacher novel by Lee Child.  Mr. Child is working on the 13th now, but it won't be out until 2009. 

I have REALLY enjoyed this series.  Jack Reacher is the "thinking mans" hero!    I was wondering if any of ya'll could recomend another series simular to the Jack Reacher books?  

Thanks a ton, and have a great weekend!

 

Scott in Savannah

 

Date Posted: 9/12/2008 3:42 PM ET
Member Since: 8/20/2006
Posts: 1,930
Back To Top

I've read a few of the Jack Reacher novels. Maybe try Michael Connelly's Harry Bosch series or James Lee Burke's David Robichaux series. My husband likes Clive Cussler's Dirk Pitt series and I'm partial to the Thomas Lynley/Barbara Havers series by Elizabeth George.

Harlan Coben has a popular series but I haven't read any of them yet.

Date Posted: 9/12/2008 6:55 PM ET
Member Since: 5/9/2006
Posts: 1,756
Back To Top

I love Jack Reacher and would suggest the Prey series by John Sandford with Lucas Davenport. There is no one like Jack though.

Subject: Jack Reacher
Date Posted: 9/13/2008 2:33 PM ET
Member Since: 6/10/2007
Posts: 31
Back To Top

 

 

I too love Jack -- just finished posting "Bad Luck and Trouble"  -- very good.    The best one so far for me has been "The Persuader:"

I would also recommend John Sanford's "The Prey series" -- Lucas Davenport is almost as gritty as Jack.  Also Michael Connolly with Harry Bosch.  

Diane H.

Date Posted: 9/13/2008 4:48 PM ET
Member Since: 8/6/2005
Posts: 705
Back To Top

Maybe the Alex McNight series by Steve Hamilton?  He ain't no Jack but he ain't too bad :)

Date Posted: 9/14/2008 11:36 AM ET
Member Since: 10/26/2007
Posts: 1,140
Back To Top

How about Philip Mercer by Jack DuBrul?  The first one is Vulcan's Forge.  Here's a link to his website: http://www.jackdubrulbooks.com/

Date Posted: 9/14/2008 11:02 PM ET
Member Since: 6/27/2008
Posts: 23,541
Back To Top

I LOVE the Reacher books!!!  Totally agree with Michael Connelly and John Sandford.  Another series I really enjoy - although it does have a "supernatural" bent to it is the Repairman Jack series by F. Paul Wilson.

Subject: Thanks!!
Date Posted: 9/15/2008 10:49 AM ET
Member Since: 6/29/2007
Posts: 67
Back To Top

Thanks fo everyone that took the time to respond.  Some of the authors I had heard of ( I love the Bosch books by Connolly) but some new suggestions I will follow up on.  

I really like the fact that Jack is a loner, but he knows the people he can trust and those he cant.  Also I love the fack that Jack is really on the move, motel to motel... as you begin a J. Reacher/Lee child book one never knows where Jack might be.  Digging swimming pools by hand down in Key West, Fl or drinking coffee in Manhattan or bewteen Hope and Despair, Colorado.  

anyway... I am straying from my message!   Thanks everyone!   I appreciate all the imput.

 

Happy page turning!!

Scott in Savannah

Date Posted: 9/19/2008 2:29 PM ET
Member Since: 7/23/2008
Posts: 279
Back To Top

Do these need to be read in order?  I have 2 on my TBR list - DIE TRYING and BAD LUCK AND TROUBLE.  I don't think either is the first.

Diane

 

Date Posted: 9/19/2008 2:39 PM ET
Member Since: 7/31/2006
Posts: 14,634
Back To Top

I'd like to know if they need to be read in a certain order too! and could kick myself for not picking up the ones i saw for a dollar a month or two ago...

Date Posted: 9/19/2008 2:53 PM ET
Member Since: 2/25/2007
Posts: 13,991
Back To Top

I read them all and enjoy them, but I often think he is mopre of a cartoon "superhero" that a realistic person....But I second the Davenport "Prey" series and all James Lee Burke. I read the Prey books out of order with no trouble, but I think Burke's books are better read in order.

Date Posted: 9/19/2008 3:25 PM ET
Member Since: 5/4/2008
Posts: 1,518
Back To Top

Go to fantasticfiction.co.uk/ and look up the authors name and it will show you all of the books and the order to read them in.

Date Posted: 9/19/2008 11:55 PM ET
Member Since: 6/8/2008
Posts: 68
Back To Top

The Lee Child website has a recommended reading order listed on the Jack Reacher FAQ page...

 

http://www.leechild.com/faqcontact.php

Date Posted: 9/20/2008 10:07 AM ET
Member Since: 7/31/2006
Posts: 14,634
Back To Top

thanks!

Date Posted: 9/20/2008 2:42 PM ET
Member Since: 7/23/2008
Posts: 279
Back To Top

Thanks Max, I'll check it out too.

Date Posted: 9/26/2008 11:43 PM ET
Member Since: 9/2/2008
Posts: 76
Back To Top

I read Keith Ablows fiction series and I love them! I havent read any Lee Child although I have them all TOO read. But Keith Ablow is just one of those I picked up at the airport out of boredom and I am hooked he doesnt write very fast and I dont even know if he is writing any more on the serious but check it out ..something new anyways!

Date Posted: 9/29/2008 8:00 AM ET
Member Since: 10/13/2005
Posts: 2,168
Back To Top

Glad I could help you out with the Prey books Scott. I had no idea this thread was here since I don't get off of CMT too often.

How about Robert Crais's Elvis Cole series? Elvis isn't milatary, but his sidekick Joe Pike is hard core. Start with The Monkey's Raincoat...

PS: Just finished the 2nd Jack Reacher book and waiting for the third!



Last Edited on: 9/29/08 8:01 AM ET - Total times edited: 1
Date Posted: 9/29/2008 2:13 PM ET
Member Since: 5/30/2006
Posts: 146
Back To Top

I am a big fan of the Jack Reacher books and have just started the Prey books.  The Elvis Cole series is outstanding and I like Steve Hamilton's Alex McNight series (start with A Cold Day in Paradise.)

Date Posted: 9/30/2008 11:51 AM ET
Member Since: 8/16/2005
Posts: 1,563
Back To Top

In addition to the excellent suggestions already offered (especially the Elvis Cole & Joe Pike series), I'd add:

 

  • Charlie Parker series by John Connolly
  • Carson Ryder series by Jack Kerley
  • Max Freeman series by Jonathon King
  • Jonathan Quinn series by Brett Battles (only 2 so far, but off to a good start)

PS - I definitely think the Jack Reacher books should be read in order.

Date Posted: 10/5/2008 11:42 AM ET
Member Since: 6/8/2008
Posts: 68
Back To Top

For fans of Reacher, I would also suggest some of David Morrell's books - they tend to be of more an action/espionage bent, but his lead characters often have a flavor that I recognized  when I started reading the Reacher books. 

Recommended Morell books: The Fifth Profession,  The Protector, Assumed Identity, Burnt Sienna...

Also The Brotherhood of the Rose, The Fraternity of the Stone, The League of Night and Fog (there's threads and characters connecting these 3 books - they make up a trilogy of sorts, with the first two not directly linked but the third featuring a pairing fo the heroes of the first two and acting as a direct sequel to both).

His writing is incredibly authentic and compelling.  Here's a relevant piece from his biography.

Morrell is the co-president of the International Thriller Writers organization (www.internationalthrillerwriters.com). Noted for his research, he is a graduate of the National Outdoor Leadership School for wilderness survival as well as the G. Gordon Liddy Academy of Corporate Security. He is also an honorary lifetime member of the Special Operations Association and the Association of Former Intelligence Officers. He has been trained in firearms, hostage negotiation, assuming identities, executive protection, and anti-terrorist driving, among numerous other action skills that he describes in his novels. With eighteen million copies in print, his work has been translated into twenty-six languages.

See more at his website: http://www.davidmorrell.net/

Date Posted: 10/5/2008 12:32 PM ET
Member Since: 7/14/2007
Posts: 8,942
Back To Top

The main character in Henry Porter's A Spy's Life reminds me a lot of Reacher.   More in attitude than anything else.

Subject: I am enjoying......
Date Posted: 10/10/2008 12:41 AM ET
Member Since: 4/16/2008
Posts: 16
Back To Top

Robert Ludlum's Covert One Series with Jon Smith

1. The Hades Factor

2. The Cassandra Compact

3.  The Paris Option

4. The Altman Code

5. The Lazarus Vendetta

6.  The Moscow Vector

7.  The Arctic Event

Date Posted: 10/10/2008 6:25 AM ET
Member Since: 5/3/2008
Posts: 19
Back To Top

I too am a fan of Jack Reacher. I have been reading them in order, and I just recently finished The Persuader...one of the best in the series! I still think the very first one, Killing Floor, is by far the best. It had the most intricate mystery, and the most exciting, memorable climax. I am still waiting for another Reacher book to be as good. Persuader certainly came closest to that level so far and Echo Burning was also excellent.  I was not really impressed with Running Blind or Without Fail, those were average at best.

I don't think it's really necessary to read them in order, I just do because I'm anal about reading books in order :-)

About David Morrell, I have to say, with all due respect to Max,  that he is a god awful writer, at least judging by the loathsome Creepers. That book had a cliched "B" horror movie set up, where a bunch of people get thrust together in a creepy setting and get picked off one by one. The character development was nil and the book featured some of the clunkiest, most ham fisted dialogue I've ever read, that no person would actually utter. I usually will stick with a book, especially a short one, but that was just too awful to finish. No more Morrell for me thanks!

 

Date Posted: 10/12/2008 10:34 AM ET
Member Since: 6/8/2008
Posts: 68
Back To Top

usualee, I haven't read Creepers, but after your comments, I will avoid it.  Morrell seems to like to genre-hop over the past few years, trying his hand at genres much different from what the first part of his career was built on.  I am guessing that this outing, at least, was a failure in that experiment.

If you can stand trying another, I would still recommend the ones I noted above... though I certainly understand a single book turning you completely off an author!  It's certainly happened to me!