Book Reviews of Leven Thumps and the Gateway to Foo (Leven Thumps, Bk 1)

Leven Thumps and the Gateway to Foo (Leven Thumps, Bk 1)
Leven Thumps and the Gateway to Foo - Leven Thumps, Bk 1
Author: Obert Skye
The Market's bargain prices are even better for Paperbackswap club members!
Retail Price: $8.99
Buy New (Paperback): $9.19 (save -2%) or
Become a PBS member and pay $5.29+1 PBS book credit (save 41%)
ISBN-13: 9781416928065
ISBN-10: 1416928065
Publication Date: 7/11/2006
Pages: 400
Reading Level: Ages 9-12
Rating:
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 67

3.8 stars, based on 67 ratings
Publisher: Aladdin
Book Type: Paperback
Reviews: Amazon | Write a Review

9 Book Reviews submitted by our Members...sorted by voted most helpful

reviewed Leven Thumps and the Gateway to Foo (Leven Thumps, Bk 1) on + 6 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 4
Definitely a great read! Lots of twists and turns and humorously a little bit weird.
reviewed Leven Thumps and the Gateway to Foo (Leven Thumps, Bk 1) on + 11 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 3
My 13 year old enjoyed it.
reviewed Leven Thumps and the Gateway to Foo (Leven Thumps, Bk 1) on + 141 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 1
Reviewed by Bibliophile's Bestiary Blog at bibliophile-bestiary.blogspot.com

After the much success of Harry Potter, more authors are making boy heroes. This book was an amazing read. Leven lives an awful life with his mothers half-sister who refuses to be called his aunt. She and her husband treat Leven horribly. Fate finally catches up to Leven when he meets Clover, a guide of sorts from Foo, and Winter, a girl who has had just as bad a life as Leven did. The adventure they go on is extreme and kept me on the edge of my seat! I am very anxious to continue reading this series and see where Leven and Winter end up next. Fans of Harry Potter and Percy Jackson will love this series! 5 out 5 stars!
reviewed Leven Thumps and the Gateway to Foo (Leven Thumps, Bk 1) on + 141 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 1
Reviewed by Bibliophile's Bestiary Blog at bibliophile-bestiary.blogspot.com

After the much success of Harry Potter, more authors are making boy heroes. This book was an amazing read. Leven lives an awful life with his mothers half-sister who refuses to be called his aunt. She and her husband treat Leven horribly. Fate finally catches up to Leven when he meets Clover, a guide of sorts from Foo, and Winter, a girl who has had just as bad a life as Leven did. The adventure they go on is extreme and kept me on the edge of my seat! I am very anxious to continue reading this series and see where Leven and Winter end up next. Fans of Harry Potter and Percy Jackson will love this series! 5 out 5 stars!
reviewed Leven Thumps and the Gateway to Foo (Leven Thumps, Bk 1) on + 3 more book reviews
This book is awesome as is the whole series.
reviewed Leven Thumps and the Gateway to Foo (Leven Thumps, Bk 1) on + 309 more book reviews
I enjoyed reading this book. It had lovable characters, good plot and an easy read. I got a little irritated at Leven at first for always giving up. I understand it was because of the shadows but enough was enough. I also felt so sorry for the toothpick when it was getting "beat up" in the diner. Over all it was a good book and look forward to reading the next one.
reviewed Leven Thumps and the Gateway to Foo (Leven Thumps, Bk 1) on + 250 more book reviews
An insipid book basically re-telling book one of Harry Potter. I should've read "Sorcerer's Stone" again rather than this drivel.
Lonely orphan? Check. Living with horrible relatives? Check. Finds out his true destiny, and it's magical? Check. Interacts with quirky characters? Check. tries to escape a villain with growing powers? Check. YAAAAAAAAAWN. Even those who are yearning for another Harry Potter book should skip this. It's poorly written, derivative, and laughable in places. I'm only giving it half of one star because it won't let me give zero.
reviewed Leven Thumps and the Gateway to Foo (Leven Thumps, Bk 1) on + 9 more book reviews
Fourteen year old Leven Thumps lives a wretched life in Burnt Culvert, Oklahoma. But everything is about to change as he learns about a secret gateway that bridges two worlds--the real world anf Foo, a place created at the beginning of time that makes it possible for humans to dream and hope, aspire and imagine. Foo is in chaos and three transplants form that dramworld have been sent to retrieve Leven who alone has the power to save Foo.
reviewed Leven Thumps and the Gateway to Foo (Leven Thumps, Bk 1) on
This book is autographed by the author when he came to our school for a presentation.