Search - Light My Fire (Aisling Grey, Guardian, Bk 3)

Light My Fire (Aisling Grey, Guardian, Bk 3)
Light My Fire - Aisling Grey, Guardian, Bk 3
Author: Katie MacAlister
I'm Aisling Grey, and multitasking is my middle name... — It's not easy being a demon lord, a Guardian, and a wyvern's mate all at once. Luckily, I just moved to London to study all things Guardian with my mentor. A new start is exactly what I need after being betrayed (again!) by Drake, wyvern of the green dragons. Though I'm sup...  more »
PBS Market Price: $7.59 or $3.69+1 credit
ISBN-13: 9780451219824
ISBN-10: 0451219821
Publication Date: 11/7/2006
Pages: 352
Rating:
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 584

4.1 stars, based on 584 ratings
Publisher: Signet
Book Type: Paperback
Other Versions: Hardcover, Audio CD
Reviews: Member | Amazon | Write a Review

Top Member Book Reviews

reviewed Light My Fire (Aisling Grey, Guardian, Bk 3) on + 310 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 8
Book #3 in the Aisling Grey, Guardian novels. Now Aisling is in London about to start her training as a Guardian with her mentor Nora. But things are never easy and her recent past catches up with her - her mate Drake is in town, and war has started between the green and red septs. Also someone is trying to kill Aisling and people keep trying to get her to agree to support them as either Venediger or Prince of Abbaddon. This felt like a snack - not really a full meal, very easy and fast to consume, light on substance. If you were expecting something fulfilling, this will leave you unsatisfied, but if you were expecting something light and fun, this may be the book for you. As usual Aisling Grey manages to get herself into trouble, often because she doesn't know many of the rules of demons, dragons and Guardians. I found myself somewhat frustrated by a) how much trouble she could get into (to quote Aisling herself "these constant "out of the frying pan, into the fire, into a worse fire, into a worse fire than the worse fire before it" situations that had been riddling my life of late were beginning to wear me down".), and b) why doesn't any other character tell her the rules, and how many times do they have to assume she already knows or won't tell her because she didn't ask?! Lastly c) plot inconsistancies (things happening that didn't really get explained or not explained very well, then swept under the carpet - my disbelief is not suspended). That plot device is wearing thin, and I think I would have enjoyed it more if Aisling doesn't spend 100% of the book completely clueless running from one disaster to another. Getting frustrated by that. If you aspect of these novels doesn't bother you, then the book will be enjoyable.
reviewed Light My Fire (Aisling Grey, Guardian, Bk 3) on + 313 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 5
Book #3 in the Aisling Grey, Guardian series.

MacAlister's third paranormal Aisling Grey novel takes her heroine and her pet demon, Jim (who looks like a Newfoundland dog), to London, where she is apprenticing to Nora to learn the Guardian trade. She is soon on the hot seat when Jim eats the Imp king, but that may be the least of her problems since the Green and Red dragon clans are now at war, and someone wants her dead. The imps do torch Nora's house so Aisling, Nora, and Jim move into the London mansion of Drake Vireo, green-eyed wyvern, and sparks fly. Then, kidnapped while wearing only a towel, Aisling is pitched from the frying pan into the fire when she is then stolen from her kidnappers and required to draw on her dark powers to vanquish a Demon Lord. MacAlister's crazy paranormal high jinks, delightful characters, and simmering romance between Aisling and Drake will appeal to fans of MaryJanice Davidson's Betsy Taylor, Queen of the Vampires, series.
reviewed Light My Fire (Aisling Grey, Guardian, Bk 3) on + 14 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 5
If you love this series by Katie McAlister, then you should read this book, as funny as the prevoius ones, yet this book moves the romance between Aisling and Drake along nicely.. they are actually friendly to each other and accept the fact that they both are in LOVE.. great series, great book
reviewed Light My Fire (Aisling Grey, Guardian, Bk 3) on + 2527 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 3
This is the third book in the Aisling Grey Guardian series by Katie MacAlister. I thought that this book was much better than the second book and much more on par with the first book.

Aisling is moving to London to start her Guardian training with Nora. Once again right from the beginning things start going wrong. She finds out Nora is being called in for questioning which could lead to Nora losing her rights to mentor Aisling. Then on her first outing with Nora; Jim eats the imp king. Now the imps are out for Aisling's blood. As if this wasn't enough Aisling finds out Drake is in town, the Red Dragons have declared war on Green Dragon sept, the London community wants Aisling to take over as Venediger (sp?), and everyone keeps telling Aisling she is pregnant (which she just can't believe).

This book was much better than the last book. I felt like the plot made a lot more sense. Many of the problems Aisling ran into were wrapped up nicely. Aisling and Drake actually start to have a decent relationship with each other. The problems Aisling gets into with the demon princes and with the dragons were interesting. I thoroughly enjoyed this book.

As with the other books this is a light, humorous read, that shouldn't be taken too seriously. Aisling gets too whiny at some points, and suffers a bit from being a damsel in distress more often than not. Drake is irritating with his need to control her; but in this book that is tempered some and we see Drake gaining some humanity. This is a quick, easy, and amusing read. There are a lot of sex scenes but they are creative and tastefully done. I am actually very excited to read the next book (which is something I couldn't say after the second book).

If you liked the first two books, this book shouldn't disappoint.
reviewed Light My Fire (Aisling Grey, Guardian, Bk 3) on + 37 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 2
Good book. I love this series. It is very original and Aisling keeps getting herself in more and more trouble.
Read All 36 Book Reviews of "Light My Fire Aisling Grey Guardian Bk 3"

Please Log in to Rate these Book Reviews

reviewed Light My Fire (Aisling Grey, Guardian, Bk 3) on + 8 more book reviews
Great Series! Fun,silly,action packed,and racy! Has a great creative Mythos. Fun Light summer or lazy day reading! Want to find out what happens to these characters!
reviewed Light My Fire (Aisling Grey, Guardian, Bk 3) on + 4 more book reviews
Love this whole series! Always laugh-out-loud funny!
reviewed Light My Fire (Aisling Grey, Guardian, Bk 3) on + 18 more book reviews
Fun and Sassy supernatural romantic comedy

Book Wiki

Series

Genres: