Discussion Forums - Book Bazaar Book Bazaar

Topic: A Little off Book Topic -Question

Club rule - Please, if you cannot be courteous and respectful, do not post in this forum.
  Unlock Forum posting with Annual Membership.
Subject: A Little off Book Topic -Question
Date Posted: 4/24/2008 9:58 AM ET
Member Since: 2/10/2008
Posts: 240
Back To Top

I know that this has nothing to do with Books but I need help.

Does anyone know how I can get internet service for desktop computer without having a land line telephone service.  I use my cell most of the time and I hate paying for a landline phone just to have internet service.

Thanks Cindy

Date Posted: 4/24/2008 10:02 AM ET
Member Since: 3/18/2007
Posts: 782
Back To Top

I have BellSouth DSL Direct, which does not require me to have landline phone service. Plans start at $19.99 and there are no contracts or term committments. I don't know if it is available where you live, but BellSouth was bought by AT&T recently so something similar may be available in your area. Good luck!

Date Posted: 4/24/2008 10:05 AM ET
Member Since: 2/10/2008
Posts: 240
Back To Top

Thank you Jennifer---I have AT&T phone service--did not know they offered this.  I will check it out.

Subject: internet service
Date Posted: 4/24/2008 10:11 AM ET
Member Since: 11/27/2007
Posts: 44
Back To Top

We had our land line taken out and use just our cell phones. What we did was go to Cox cable high speed internet service (29.00 a month). They used an old existing cable hookup  for the internet service only as we have Dish TV.   Good Luck,  Mary

 

Subject: Qwest
Date Posted: 4/24/2008 10:20 AM ET
Member Since: 4/5/2008
Posts: 2,783
Back To Top

I do not have a landline phone and use Qwest broadband.  You could check to see if that is in your area.

Date Posted: 4/24/2008 10:46 AM ET
Member Since: 2/10/2008
Posts: 240
Back To Top

Thanks Mary and Natalie  I checked online and neither Cox or Qwest are available in my area...

Date Posted: 4/24/2008 12:42 PM ET
Member Since: 3/12/2007
Posts: 472
Back To Top

I got rid of my landline too I have internet through Comcast as part of my cable package.

Date Posted: 4/24/2008 5:25 PM ET
Member Since: 4/26/2006
Posts: 274
Back To Top

Hughes.net is available everywhere however it is expensive, does not require a landline, it is what i use.

Date Posted: 4/24/2008 7:41 PM ET
Member Since: 7/1/2007
Posts: 62
Back To Top

We use Verison FIOS without a normal land line.  (I did add in thier VOIP phone service later)

Date Posted: 4/24/2008 11:34 PM ET
Member Since: 2/10/2008
Posts: 240
Back To Top

thanks to everyone---got some ideas now

Date Posted: 4/25/2008 12:33 AM ET
Member Since: 6/11/2006
Posts: 49
Back To Top

I just signed on with Clearwire.  They sent me a card I pop into my computer (laptop) and I can go anywhere in my state.  They are based in Las Vegas Nevada but have stores in my state.  I don't know where you live, but you might check  it out.  It is $10 less than what I was paying for DSL through my cable modem.  Good luck!