Discussion Forums - Biographies & Memoirs

Topic: Looking for similar memior/bio - Running with Scissors

Club rule - Please, if you cannot be courteous and respectful, do not post in this forum.
  Unlock Forum posting with Annual Membership.
Subject: Looking for similar memior/bio - Running with Scissors
Date Posted: 10/18/2010 8:09 PM ET
Member Since: 11/24/2009
Posts: 5
Back To Top

I just read Running with Scissors by Augusten Burroughs and I LOVED it! I didn't want it to ever end. I already ordered two other of his books Dry  and I don't remember the other one. But if you know of any others books similar to this one (doesn't have to be by Augusten Burroughs) I would appreciate it. I only like non-fiction.

Date Posted: 10/18/2010 9:59 PM ET
Member Since: 5/16/2008
Posts: 2,156
Back To Top

Try David Sedaris.

Date Posted: 10/19/2010 7:31 PM ET
Member Since: 11/24/2009
Posts: 5
Back To Top

I will look into him. Thanks so much.

Date Posted: 10/23/2010 10:19 AM ET
Member Since: 2/16/2009
Posts: 483
Back To Top

You probably already know this, but Look Me in the Eye, by John Elder Robison is written by Burroughs' brother.  I just received it yesterday and stayed up til 1:30 am reading it!  It is sooo good.

Date Posted: 11/19/2010 12:44 PM ET
Member Since: 11/24/2009
Posts: 5
Back To Top

I had no idea he had a brother. I don't remember him being mentioned??? Maybe I read too fast because I always wanted to know what was gonna happen next.

Date Posted: 2/5/2011 6:28 PM ET
Member Since: 5/16/2010
Posts: 6,292
Back To Top

I was going to say the Look Me In the Eye book too. I have not read any of the Augusten Burroughs but I have read the Robison book and it was good.

If I come up with any I'll come back and post , I have a feeling there is a book or two on my mind but I'm not coming up with any titles now.

Date Posted: 2/5/2011 11:04 PM ET
Member Since: 1/30/2010
Posts: 8,389
Back To Top

Thanks.  Added Look Me in the Eye to my WL.  I loved Running With Scissors and had no idea his brother had written anything.  Anyone see the movie?  I have a book called America's Boy by Wade Rouse that states it's "in the tradition of Running With Scissors and A Girl Named Zippy."  I haven't read it yet, but I ordered it for a friend who also loved Running With Scissors.  Someone else started a thread about books similar to Her Last Death, they sound similar to Running With Scissors as well.



Last Edited on: 2/5/11 11:11 PM ET - Total times edited: 1
Date Posted: 2/16/2011 4:44 PM ET
Member Since: 1/30/2010
Posts: 8,389
Back To Top

Ugh.  I got Me Talk Pretty One Day by David Sedaris at the library.  I just don't find him funny at all.  The only thing I find in common between Augusten Burroughs and him is that they're both homosexual.  I used to work with a lady that loved all the old time comedians from the days before TV.  She would roll with laughter, and I would roll my eyes.  David Sedaris reminds me of those old-timers.  I have no idea how old he is or if he is one of those old-timers, but his humor just isn't funny to me at all.  I'm listening to the audio book, and it's become a real chore for me.  Anyone besides Heather find him similar to Augusten Burroughs?  Maybe it's me, but I just don't see it.

Barb S. (okbye) - ,
Date Posted: 6/21/2011 7:29 PM ET
Member Since: 3/14/2011
Posts: 5,767
Back To Top

I'm not a big Sedaris fan either even though I know quite a few people who think he's hilarious. I loved Augusten's books, what an out there life. Just finshed John Elder's book too, loved it.

Their mom has a new book. I haven't gotten it yet but I can't wait to read her side of it! I just hope she's sane enough at the moment to get it straight.

http://www.amazon.com/Long-Journey-Home-Memoir/dp/140006869X/ref=tmm_hrd_title_0

Too bad dad's gone, they could have their own section.

Date Posted: 7/2/2011 1:12 PM ET
Member Since: 5/30/2008
Posts: 146
Back To Top

I read somewhere that Augusten Burrough's mother has put out a book telling her side of the story but i dont remember her name or the name of the book. Does anyone know?

Barb S. (okbye) - ,
Date Posted: 7/5/2011 7:20 PM ET
Member Since: 3/14/2011
Posts: 5,767
Back To Top

Look up^

Barb S. (okbye) - ,
Date Posted: 7/23/2011 10:26 PM ET
Member Since: 3/14/2011
Posts: 5,767
Back To Top

Where's My Wand?

This is good, although lighter on the drama. They have a nuts mom but there's not nearly the abuse. He's a witty, snarky gay man though. I thought it was funnier than Burrough's stuff but could just be because there's not as much horror.



Last Edited on: 7/23/11 10:27 PM ET - Total times edited: 1
Date Posted: 8/10/2011 2:27 PM ET
Member Since: 9/27/2007
Posts: 236
Back To Top

Openly Bob and Way to Go Smith by Bob Smith are similar to Burroughs and Sedaris; stories about growing up. Smith writes about his childhood in Buffalo, NY.  The books are mostly lighthearted nothing like the abuses Augusten Burroughs experienced.

Date Posted: 1/10/2012 5:15 PM ET
Member Since: 2/22/2008
Posts: 426
Back To Top

Hi

I remember watching The Howdy Doody Show with Buffalo Bob.

I grew up in Batavia and am now in Attica, NY  About an hour drive from Buffalo.

Sounds like it would be interesting.  Will add it to my list.

Thanks

Sherry -
Date Posted: 6/10/2012 1:13 PM ET
Member Since: 9/19/2005
Posts: 559
Back To Top

I'm reading Perishable right now - and finding it just as good (if not better) than Running with Scissors.  

It's one of those that you sit down to read, and just have to keep reading - really keeps your interest.

 

 

 

spacer.gif
Perishable A Memoir
Author: 
Dirk Jamison
 
Fascinatingly disturbing, this memoir chronicles seven years in the life of a distinctly unordinary American family. In 1973, Dirk Jamison's father started having a midlife crisis that never ended, and after purposefully losing his construction job, he moved his family to a ski resort and started feeding them from dumpsters in an effort to reject money and all its trappings. They were never homeless, never desperately poor, but they lived on garbage. While Jamison struggled with adolescence, he faced a father who valued freedom more than anything, an overweight Mormon mother, and a cruel sister who delighted in physical abuse. Hilarious and horrifying, this heartbreaking account tells the strange story of the anti-American dream

 



Last Edited on: 6/10/12 1:15 PM ET - Total times edited: 1
Subject: Temple Grandin
Date Posted: 9/12/2012 12:38 AM ET
Member Since: 9/11/2012
Posts: 3
Back To Top
I also enjoy memoirs of individuals with unique perspectives, often resulting from a disability or brain difference. Templr Grandin's book 'Thinking in Pictures' was a good read. I also liked 'The Memory Keeper's Daughter', which is fiction and is about raising a retarded girl at a time when Down Syndrome kids were institutionalized.