Discussion Forums - Questions about PaperBackSwap Questions about PaperBackSwap

Topic: Missing tracking bars?

Club rule - Please, if you cannot be courteous and respectful, do not post in this forum.
  Unlock Forum posting with Annual Membership.
Subject: Missing tracking bars?
Date Posted: 7/10/2012 12:19 AM ET
Member Since: 9/4/2009
Posts: 291
Back To Top

I just printed two mailing labels with tracking added, and noticed the tracking space looked totally odd.  There was a large X over the space where I am used to seeing those Bars that are scanned by the postal deliverer.  I know the heat has been intense, and life has been dotted with storms and hail..but....did I miss a change that was to take place?  The tracking numbers are still there, but the bars are gone.  What has happened?

Jackie

Date Posted: 7/10/2012 1:04 AM ET
Member Since: 2/15/2007
Posts: 5,377
Back To Top

I just had the same thing happen.

Date Posted: 7/10/2012 1:16 AM ET
Member Since: 12/28/2006
Posts: 14,171
Back To Top

Maybe the barcode generator software has a glitch?  May want to report that to PBS so they can get right on it (the they are not already).  Try again tomorrow and see if the print correctly.

I do some volunteer work at a high school library.  If we have the font/script incorrect in the barcode program, they come out all funky too.

Date Posted: 7/10/2012 2:03 AM ET
Member Since: 7/19/2008
Posts: 15,400
Back To Top

The postage system is down.  It has been reported.  PBS expects it to be back up in the morning. 

Date Posted: 7/10/2012 8:53 AM ET
Member Since: 1/27/2009
Posts: 46
Back To Top

It just happened to me and I came over here to see if anyone else is experiencing it. This is my only day to print, do you think anything bad will happen if I have to print without the bar codes? I use the Quick Credit/Printed Postage option.

Date Posted: 7/10/2012 8:59 AM ET
Member Since: 11/20/2005
Posts: 2,279
Back To Top

I've got the same problem.  I printed and noticed the bar code looks a little funky.  Does anyone know if it can be mailed this way? 

Date Posted: 7/10/2012 10:47 AM ET
Member Since: 6/29/2007
Posts: 17,092
Back To Top

The bar codes are necessary for scanning so without them, you are unlikely to get credit until your book is delivered (if you use DC-only).  We have not yet been given an update from the Team, but I know they are working on correcting the problem.

Date Posted: 7/10/2012 1:56 PM ET
Member Since: 7/19/2008
Posts: 15,400
Back To Top

Please note that we are able to re-download and print the labels without charge IF we do not change any of the selections. 

If this problem last beyond the dated postage, I'm sure the Team will let us know how they want us to handle it.  Right now we are waiting to hear.

Date Posted: 7/10/2012 4:26 PM ET
Member Since: 5/1/2007
Posts: 6,559
Back To Top

The bar code seems to be working on new labels.  I just printed one and the bar code is on it.

However, I went back and tried to re-print a label I printed earlier today that shows an X where the bar code should be and it still shows an X.



Last Edited on: 7/10/12 4:33 PM ET - Total times edited: 2
Date Posted: 7/10/2012 5:57 PM ET
Member Since: 7/19/2008
Posts: 15,400
Back To Top

Did you re-download the label?  Or try and reprint the old PDF?  Please let us know if downloading the label fixes this.  The eDCs will not get outdated, but the printed postage will.  The clerk at a PO counter can print an .00 meter label to update the postage, but it would be really nice to avoid that.

Changing the date will cause a new charge.

Date Posted: 7/10/2012 7:41 PM ET
Member Since: 5/29/2012
Posts: 3
Back To Top

I have tried to re-download a label from last night and am also still just getting the X. Even when I change the label configuration I am still just getting the X on the label.

I will have to mail it tomorrow with the X if I cannot re-print before morning. I'm unable to take it to a post office due to my work schedule tomorrow, so it will just have to get dropped in the outgoing mail as-is.

Hopefully the re-printing issue can be solved by tomorrow though!

(I have not tried a new label so I'm not sure how well those are working or not.)

Date Posted: 7/10/2012 8:20 PM ET
Member Since: 2/15/2007
Posts: 5,377
Back To Top

I am still getting the X as well, but since I purchased postage (not just DC), I'm just going to mail it.

Date Posted: 7/10/2012 9:32 PM ET
Member Since: 9/4/2009
Posts: 291
Back To Top

I am still getting the x as well...Is there any forward movement on reprinting with the bars showing?  What happens if we cannot get the bars to show up before the mail date is passed?

Date Posted: 7/10/2012 9:34 PM ET
Member Since: 6/29/2007
Posts: 17,092
Back To Top

It is my understanding that the problem has been fixed.  Make sure you've cleared your browser's cache and use the re-print wrapper option.  Do not pull up the old label and reprint.  You cannot change any settings from when you originally printed the label. 

If you are still having problems after that, PBS will handle each case specifically so you'll need to send in feedback using the contact us link at the bottom of the page.



Last Edited on: 7/10/12 9:35 PM ET - Total times edited: 1
Date Posted: 7/11/2012 7:02 AM ET
Member Since: 5/1/2007
Posts: 6,559
Back To Top

When I tried reprinting the label yesterday, I re-downloaded it.  I just tried re-downloading it again (after clearing my cache) and it still shows the X. 

Date Posted: 7/11/2012 7:11 AM ET
Member Since: 11/30/2007
Posts: 4,962
Back To Top

Jean, have you tried contacting the PBS team about the label that is still showing the X? They should be able to help you. Good luck.

Date Posted: 7/11/2012 9:48 AM ET
Member Since: 3/20/2006
Posts: 229
Back To Top

Has anyone contacted the PBS team yet and received a response about this?  I am still getting an X for a labvel I originally generated yesterday.  I used that label and put it in outgoing mail (since the mailing date is yesterday), but had second thoughts and pulled it back out and contacted the PBS team.  But that says it will take 24-48 hours for a response (and if a lot of members are having issues, won't the wait be even longer than usual?), so the mailing date will be that much further off by then. 



Last Edited on: 7/11/12 9:54 AM ET - Total times edited: 1
Date Posted: 7/11/2012 9:53 AM ET
Member Since: 1/27/2010
Posts: 350
Back To Top

I contacted the team yesterday about a wrapper I was trying to print with postage, asked them about the date and let them know I would not be able to get to the post office today. They refunded my postage and told me that I should be able to print new postage and get a barcode (which I was able to do this morning) and told me to discard the postage I printed without a barcode.

So I would imagine they are doing this for anyone that contacts them and explains the situation.



Last Edited on: 7/11/12 9:54 AM ET - Total times edited: 1
Date Posted: 7/11/2012 9:54 AM ET
Member Since: 3/20/2006
Posts: 229
Back To Top

I actually got a response pretty quickly.  Unfortuantely, nothing can be done for me now because I marked the book mailed, but if I had contacted them before, they would have refunded the original postage so I could regenerate a new label.  I just wish PBS had been a but more transparent with this glitch and given us better, proactive instructions (like a post from the PBS team here in the forums) instead of making us go out and seek help from tour guides and one another about this problem.