Book Reviews of The Mote in God's Eye (Moties, Bk 1)

The Mote in God's Eye  (Moties, Bk 1)
The Mote in God's Eye - Moties, Bk 1
Author: Jerry Pournelle, Larry Niven
ISBN-13: 9780671491758
ISBN-10: 067149175X
Publication Date: 1983
Pages: 560
Rating:
  • Currently 4.7/5 Stars.
 19

4.7 stars, based on 19 ratings
Publisher: Pocket
Book Type: Paperback
Reviews: Amazon | Write a Review

15 Book Reviews submitted by our Members...sorted by voted most helpful

reviewed The Mote in God's Eye (Moties, Bk 1) on + 6 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 1
Riveting, a little scary to think how easily things could go this way.
reviewed The Mote in God's Eye (Moties, Bk 1) on + 5 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 1
This is a classic, must-read sci-fi novel. First contact does not get any better than this, and i have been reading science fiction for 40 years! the moties and the people who encounter them are interesting, the pace of the writing is excellent, and keeps you interested all the way til the end. Set in the somewhat distant future the story is plausible, to me at least. I first read it when it was new, and re-read it recently, and still does not disappoint.
reviewed The Mote in God's Eye (Moties, Bk 1) on + 25 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 1
This is *the* novel of humanity's first contact with another civilization. It's a classic and it's reputation is well deserved.
reviewed The Mote in God's Eye (Moties, Bk 1) on + 35 more book reviews
Great book about first contact set in the far future.
reviewed The Mote in God's Eye (Moties, Bk 1) on
Inventive and fast paced. Believeable plot and characters. WEll written, and a fast read. You will want to read the sequel.
reviewed The Mote in God's Eye (Moties, Bk 1) on + 6 more book reviews
Where do I begin? This book had real potential...alas, it falls utterly flat. Lack of any character development WHATSOEVER along with a truly dated feel (the "pocket computers" that everyone carries around with them use circuit boards...this is a thousand years in the future, everyone should be walking around with quantum computers implanted in their teeth or something). My favorite character (Renner) is supposed to come off as some pompous arse, but is instead interpreted to be a knowledgeable patriot. Dr. Horvath is totally unrealistic...a scientist that is totally unwilling to change his beliefs even in the face of overwhelming evidence to the contrary. And the big Motie secret? BORING.
I felt obligated rather than compelled to read this book, it was almost a chore.
reviewed The Mote in God's Eye (Moties, Bk 1) on + 1217 more book reviews
In the year 3016, the Second Empire of Man spans hundreds of star systems, thanks to the faster-than-light Alderson Drive. No other intelligent beings have ever been encountered, not until a light sail probe enters a human system carrying a dead alien. The probe is traced to the Mote, an isolated star in a thick dust cloud, and an expedition is dispatched.

In the Mote the humans find an ancient civilization--at least one million years old--that has always been bottled up in their cloistered solar system for lack of a star drive. The Moties are welcoming and kind, yet rather evasive about certain aspects of their society. It seems the Moties have a dark problem, one they've been unable to solve in over a million years.

This is the first collaboration between Niven and Pournelle, two masters of hard science fiction, and it combines Pournelle's interest in the military and sociology with Niven's talent for creating interesting, believable aliens. The novel meticulously examines every aspect of First Contact, from the Moties' biology, society, and art, to the effects of the meeting on humanity's economics, politics, and religions. And all the while suspense builds as we watch the humans struggle toward the truth.
reviewed The Mote in God's Eye (Moties, Bk 1) on + 12 more book reviews
Simply put, this was one of the best First Contact books I've read that presents a believable alien species and the difficulties of cultures understanding one another. Some of the characterizations are dated but most of the characters are complex enough to hold the interest of the reader. However, the alien Moties are the most interesting aspect of this novel. Their complex society is unraveled piece by piece as the novel progresses and the authors do an excellent job of creating both tension and mystery at each step. The reader will find that they have more questions as others are answered. I won't give away anything relating to the ending but will say that it left me satisfied.

It also has to be stated that the novel is also both a quick read and a rip roaring adventure of the space opera variety albeit with a great deal of depth. Fans of Niven or Pournelle will not be disappointed with this book as both deliver at the top of their game. Highly recommended for fans of space opera who want to read one of the classics of that (and the larger SF) genre.
reviewed The Mote in God's Eye (Moties, Bk 1) on + 495 more book reviews
A classic.
reviewed The Mote in God's Eye (Moties, Bk 1) on + 11 more book reviews
From Amazon.com
In the year 3016, the Second Empire of Man spans hundreds of star systems, thanks to the faster-than-light Alderson Drive. No other intelligent beings have ever been encountered, not until a light sail probe enters a human system carrying a dead alien. The probe is traced to the Mote, an isolated star in a thick dust cloud, and an expedition is dispatched.

In the Mote the humans find an ancient civilization--at least one million years old--that has always been bottled up in their cloistered solar system for lack of a star drive. The Moties are welcoming and kind, yet rather evasive about certain aspects of their society. It seems the Moties have a dark problem, one they've been unable to solve in over a million years.

This is the first collaboration between Niven and Pournelle, two masters of hard science fiction, and it combines Pournelle's interest in the military and sociology with Niven's talent for creating interesting, believable aliens. The novel meticulously examines every aspect of First Contact, from the Moties' biology, society, and art, to the effects of the meeting on humanity's economics, politics, and religions. And all the while suspense builds as we watch the humans struggle toward the truth. --Brooks Peck

SAY:
Robert Heinlein
Possibly the finest science fiction novel I have ever read.

San Francisco Chronicle
As science fiction, one of the most important novels ever published.

Columbus Dispatch
A superlatively fine novel...no writer has ever come up with a more appealing, intriguing, and workable concept of aliens.

Frank Herbert
A spellbinder, a swashbuckler...And, best of all, it has a brilliant new approach to that fascinating problem -- first contact with aliens.

Theodore Sturgeon
One of the most engrossing tales I've read in years...fascinating.

Minneapolis Tribune
Intriguing and suspenseful...the scenes in which the humans and aliens examine one another are unforgettable.
reviewed The Mote in God's Eye (Moties, Bk 1) on + 3 more book reviews
I very much enjoyed this read. good character development. plot was progressive. narration was on-the-mark. a very enjoyable read. story line was very intriguing. I am a sci-fi aficionado and recommend this as a good read. Curtis
reviewed The Mote in God's Eye (Moties, Bk 1) on + 1522 more book reviews
Writing separately, Larry Niven and Jerry Pournelle are responsible for a number of science fiction classics, such as the Hugo and Nebula Award-winning RINGWORLD, DEBT OF HONOR, and THE INTEGRAL TREES. Together they have written the critically acclaimed bestsellers INFERNO, FOOTFALL, and THE LEGACY OF HEOROT, among others. Then there was LUCIFER'S HAMMER. But THE MOTE IN GOD'S EYE tops them all!
"A black hole in space. And piercing through, a beam of ruby light brighter than a hundred moons. Was it the eye on the face of God, or the blood-red sun of our first intergalactic visitors?"
reviewed The Mote in God's Eye (Moties, Bk 1) on + 175 more book reviews
GREAT SCIFI CLASSIC
reviewed The Mote in God's Eye (Moties, Bk 1) on + 8 more book reviews
This was the first science fiction book I ever read. It was a fun read, a good story line and interesting characters.
reviewed The Mote in God's Eye (Moties, Bk 1) on + 31 more book reviews
This is a great book! A must read for any hard science fiction fan.